Tuesday, December 31, 2019

Book Review: Crank: Fallout

                                                                 Fallout Review
Fallout is the third book in the Crank trilogy and this book follows the story of Kristina's three oldest children who are now teenagers. Hunter is a college student who was raised by Kristina's mother and step-father he's mostly well adjusted but resents that Kristina couldn't get it together enough to raise any of her kids. Autumn lives her grandfather but doesn't even know that Kristina is her mom and she OCD and is overall very anxious. Summer is in the foster care system but sees Kristina the most out of the three siblings but that still doesn't mean that they have a good relationship.

This book basically deals with Hunter, Autumn and Summer's relationships with their romantic partners and their parents and how those two relationships can affect one another. Despite both the characters romantic relationship and parental being more or less developed than each other all of the main characters are affected by both relationships through out the book. The book ends with all three of the siblings romantic relationships in different places but in somewhat similar places with Kristina with them all seeming to give up any hope of her being a mom to them.

Overall this was a good book with interesting characters that were compelling to read about. The writing is this book was beautiful with the way it was written in verse like Ellen Hopkins other novels. Please tell me your thoughts about this book or the Crank series as a whole in the comment section below.

Book Review: The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo

                                    The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo Review
The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo is about how an inexperience journalist, Monique Grant, is specifically requested to interview Evelyn Hugo a legendary Hollywood actress who hasn't given anyone an interview in the decades since she's retired from acting. The magazine that Monique works for reluctantly asks her to do the interview with Evelyn since she refuses to do any interview with anyone else but it turns out that Evelyn isn't interested in giving an interview but rather she wants Monique to write her life story.

The majority of this book is Evelyn telling her life story to Monique and through out this story we learn about how Evelyn grew up in poverty and dreamed of becoming an actress since it was her mother's dream before she when Evelyn was still young. Evelyn learned shortly after going through puberty that men where very attractive to her which at first she saw as a burden but soon learned to use men's lust for as a tool to get what she wants. The book follows Evelyn's life story by dividing into sections which cover her seven different marriages. Evelyn first marriage is one where she uses her first husband in order to get to Hollywood and the marriage ends once she starts to get real success as an actress. Evelyn second marriage is one that actually started off based in love but soon turned sour when her husband reveals a cruel side and they both end up falling out of love with each other by the time their marriage ends. The next several marriages Evelyn has are more about her wanting the public to believe a certain narrative that she weaving for them then about love for any of her husbands. Another aspect of the book is about the love of Evelyn's life that she never got to married by their relationship with each other spanned longer than any of Evelyn's marriages.

Overall this book was fantastic and Evelyn was a fantastic and complicated character that you weren't always sure if you liked her or not but you always respected her none the less. Please tell me your thoughts about this book in the comment section below.

Book Review: The Luxe

                                                              The Luxe Review
The Luxe is set in the late 1800s and is about the young elite of Manhatten's social scene and all the scandals and problems they have. The main characters we follow are Elizabeth Holland who comes from old money and is a proper young lady which makes most of the other main characters hate her because they think she's dull, fake or snobby. Elizabeth is willing to do whatever she has to keep her family stable but she is also in love with a servant named Will. Diana Holland is Elizabeth's younger sister who is a free spirit and cares not for the conventions of upper class society and she is full of life which is something that attracts Elizabeth's betrothed Henry to her since he is something of a kindred spirit to her. Henry Schoonmaker is a bit wild he likes very much to party and fool around with quite a few ladies this is something that has gotten him written about in quite a few gossip articles in the papers which is something that displeases his father who hopes to run for mayor. Henry is forced into an engagement with proper and boring Elizabeth in order to keep getting money from his father which he needs because he doesn't have a career of his own. Penelope Hayes is from new money and she's a friend of sorts with Elizabeth and she had been dating Henry before he got engaged to Elizabeth. Penelope is someone who is into social climbing and believes in keeping her enemies closer than her friends so she is one to watch out for. The final main character we follow is Lina Broud who is Elizabeth's personal maid and former friend she dislikes Elizabeth, is in love with Will and wishes to rise to a higher social class.

This book is one that deals mostly with interconnected relationships that go on between the main characters that we follow through out the book as well as having them have to find ways to work within the guidelines of how society thinks that they should behave. I felt I like this book was a bit of a slow start but as time went on I found myself more invested and interested in the characters relationships with each other. Overall I thought that this book was pretty good and I find myself wanting to read the next book in the series which is always a good thing. Please tell me your thoughts on the this book in the comment section below.

Book Review: The Trials of Apollo: The Hidden Oracle

                                                    The Hidden Oracle Review
The Hidden Oracle is about how Apollo wakes up in a dumpster in New York City months after the war with Gaea to discover that Zeus has turned him into a mortal because Zeus has decided that Apollo is at fault for the war with Gaea and this is his punishment for that which is something that has happened multiple times to Apollo in the past. Apollo ends up having to serve a young demi-god named Meg who is a daughter of Demeter and has yet to go to Camp Half-blood, as part of his punishment. Once they get to the camp they discover that the prophecies still aren't working and that campers have been going missing Chiron wants Apollo's help on this matter but Apollo would rather they focus on his issues both because he's self centered and because he doesn't even know how to help without his godly powers. Apollo may not want to help the camp but Meg seems to think he should so since she's in charge of him she can order him to help out whether he likes it or not.

While at camp Apollo ends up spending time with his children who he know looks the same age as which is a bit weird for all of them but they are supportive of him which is something that causes Apollo to bond with them a bit more than he has in the past. It soon becomes clear to Apollo that the campers going missing and the Oracles not working any longer are connected to each other and once two of Apollo's children that he bonded with earlier in the book go missing Apollo decides to go on the quest to find the one oracle that couldn't be taken or controlled by the villains. Apollo and Meg go on the quest to save the missing campers and find the last oracle that they can possible use together.

Overall I really liked this book it was a bit strange to have a god as the main character of the book even if he isn't a god at the moment but he's a pretty entertaining narrator who gives an interesting perspective on the series. I really liked what we saw of Apollo's character arc so far with him learning to care about others, being able to see his own flaws and him becoming willing to actually work on improving himself by the end of the book. I enjoyed Apollo and Meg's relationship as well and I liked getting to know characters better that were mentioned in previous books but were never really focused on before. Please tell me your thoughts on this book in the comment section below.

Thursday, December 26, 2019

TV Review: Legacies: I'll Never Give Up Hope(2.01)

                                       Legacies: I'll Never Give Up Hope(2.01)Review

  • I was a bit surprised that Landon was the one that got the voiceover at the beginning of the episode but I liked how he explained both how what the end of the school years like for himself and the other students which is that most of them got home but he doesn't have a home to return. I like that Landon is feeling the loss of Hope even if he's doesn't remember her but I'm sad that it's making him realize that not being able to stay dead means that he'll end up alone.
  • I like that it's established that Lizzie is spending the summer with Caroline and I like that her and Josie are trying to find out more about the merge. Also there right about Caroline being cagey about the ascendant since I know how it's used in the merge and she hasn't even admitted that the merge can't happen without it.
  • I'm glad that Lizzie is in therapy right now since she has been struggle with her mental since before the series began.
  • I think it's concerning that Lizzie finds the idea of being literally unable to communicate with a guy to be a turn on and I'm glad that Josie points out to her that she should work on communicating with the people she's interested in.
  • While I think it's nice of Josie to try and be there for her dad when he's going through a hard time I think that Lizzie is right to point out that Josie should focus more on making herself happy and worry less about others especially when there really isn't much she can do for them.
  • I'm curious if the reason Lizzie asks Josie about Landon is because they got closer between seasons or just because he's one of the only other students staying at school during the summer.
  • I feel a bit bad for Alaric that he's feeling betrayed by Dorian for voting him out but honestly he asked for the vote so he only really has himself to blame for his situation.
  • I like that Landon is still making it a point to spend time with Raf even though he's stuck in wolf form and that he's looking for a way to get him out of it.
  • I like that Kaleb invited MG to spend the summer with his family because he thinks of MG as his family now since MG was rejected by his own family. I also like that MG says that he still misses his family even if they suck because it's hard give up on the people you love.
  • I like that MG mentioned that he likes Lizzie since his interested in Lizzie hasn't been brought up since like episode six of last season and well that's a relationship I'm interested in seeing develop.
  • I thought it was sad how Landon was having a one sided conversation with Raf but I like that he tells him that he knows he's still in there and that he'll find away to help him and things will be good again.
  • I feel bad for Hope that even though she sacrifice herself she's still stuck in the empty void that is malivore rather than being able to find peace on the afterlife.
  • I was surprised when Clarke showed up and saved Hope from being sucked into some kind of whirlpool that suddenly developed.
  • I felt really bad for Hope when Clarke pointed out that her sacrifice failed to fully destroy malivore and that not only is she now stuck in it none of her friends even remember that she existed in the first place.
  • I'm glad that Clarke told Hope that her being there has changed how malivore works since before no two creatures were able to interact before which means there now may be a way to escape it.
  • I like that Hope refused to work with Clarke because she doesn't trust him and she never will because she can't see that ever change. I like how Hope used the mimic spell on Clarke to get him away from her but I wonder if she'll regret it later if she can't find a way out or someone else to work with.
  • I like that Alaric is look into how malivore could have been destroyed and who other than Landon was there at the time since forensics shows that two other people were there but no one can figure out who, I'm not surprised that he hasn't made any progress.
  • I feel bad for Josie that Alaric won't tell her anything about the ascendant but I actually just remembered that the ascendant has to do with the prison worlds not the merge so I guess I take back my earlier statement about it.
  • I felt bad for Landon when Alaric and Josie started to have their argument with him awkwardly stuck in the middle of it.
  • I like that Hope does break her spell on Clarke so that he can save her from the portal again. I think malivore might be more dangerous know that all the creatures can interact with each other as we can see now with the dragon that is after Hope and Clarke.
  • I think it's concerning that Landon seems to be killing himself regularly even if he does know that he'll come back to life. I think it's probably important that Landon can remember Hope right before he dies.
  • I think that Josie is right to be concerned about Landon because he is hurting himself regardless off if the damage lasts or not and he doesn't know how many times he will come back or not.
  • I liked how when Landon calls Josie out for focusing on dealing with other people's problems rather than her own and she tries to lie about it that Landon tells her he can tell she's lying and when she asks how he knows he says it's because he knows because of how much of time he spent lying in the past.
  • I like that Josie suggest that maybe the way her and Landon should be coping with their problems should be by focusing more on living their lives rather than dying.
  • I find the subplot about Kaleb wanting him and MG to win over his uncle in his family's BBQ contest to be pretty amusing.
  • I thought that MG and Kim to be pretty cute in there scene together but her being Kaleb's sister might prevent anything from happening between them for awhile.
  • While the montage of Landon and Josie growing closer together is very cute it doesn't say great things about their relationship long term since if the show really valued there relationship they would spend more time on it.
  • I like that Josie tells Lizzie that her relationship with Landon is something that is fun and that she seems genuinely happy.
  • I like how Clarke tells Hope that he isn't a villain but rather a boy that is terrified of his father and he has been trying to find a way to get away from him his whole life. I like that after hearing this Hope creates a comfort spell for him since she's now since a more human side of him.
  • I felt made for Landon when he was freaking out since Raf hasn't turned up for dinner three days in a row while he previously had everyday for months and I like that Josie called him down and told him that she would do a locator spell to find him.
  • I like how Hope uses a truth spell on Clarke and it's revealed that malivore has been trying to expel her rather than kill her but Clarke grabbing is what keeps her there because malivore wants to punish him by keeping him there. I'm glad that Hope figured this all out that she has escape malivore.
  • I like how Landon told Josie about the visions he has before he dies and that he thinks that they might be the answer to everything and I like that Josie tells him that no answer is worth accidently going over his phoenix quota and not coming back.
  • I like that Landon asks Josie if she's happy because he's been pretty happy since they started hanging out and she says she feels the same way.
  • I'm glad that Alaric told Josie about how the ascendant is the key to a prison world that has their lunatic uncle in there who is the only other member living member of Josie and Lizzie's coven and that they will only contact him as a last resort.
  • I like that Lizzie tells Josie that she has been going to therapy for three hours a day and that she's working hard on getting better, really better.
  • I'm not surprised that Raf just no longer wants to spend time with Landon because he hasn't been human for so long but I still do feel bad for Landon.
  • I thought that Landon and Josie's kiss was sweet but I was sad for Hope who saw it since she's still very much in love with him and he's moved on since he can't remember her.
  • The scene between Hope and crystal hologram version of Landon was both very sweet and very sad. I like how the hologram Landon tells Hope that there isn't a world where he would want her to leave town without telling him about what happened to her. I'm sad that Hope doesn't want to say anything because she believes that Landon and everyone else are happier without her.
  • I like that Kaleb says that he will help MG get with Lizzie since he forbid MG from talking to his sister over the summer.
  • I'm worried about the creature that seemed to also escape malivore that Hope sees at the end of the episode but I'm happy that it will prevent her from leaving town.
  • I'm disappointed but not surprised that Clarke is planning to earn his freedom by destroying Hope for malivore's sake.
Please tell me your thoughts on this episode.

Top Songs that Hit the Billboard Hot 100 in July of 2019

1. Blow-Ed Sheeran Feat. Chris Stapleton and Bruno Mars: This song is a rock style one about sex that just sounds really great and different from most everything else that charts. All three singers sound great on this song despite rock not being their primary genre that they preform in.
2. The Archer-Taylor Swift: This song is about Taylor allowing herself to be vulnerable with her partner even though the thought of doing so terrifies because of the way all of her other relationships have ended. I really love the lyrics for this song which really allows you to feel where Taylor's coming from and shows how much opening up to someone and having them see her true self scares her, I also like the hunter and prey metaphors she uses in the song as well. This song is a bit slower moving but it also sounds really beautiful and dreamlike because of this.
3. Antisocial-Ed Sheeran Feat. Travis Scott: This song is about being anti social while out and about with not wanting to really talk to anyone and wanting everyone to keep their distance from you. This song is one that also has pretty interesting production that I think fits the song really well with how it kind of puts everything at a distance.
4.Higher Love-Kygo and Whitney Houston: This song is basically just a Whitney Houston cover of Higher Love with a dance remix production provide by Kygo but since Whitney Houston was a fantastic singer this song really works and the production does a good job complimenting her vocals.
5. South of the Border-Ed Sheeran Feat. Camila Cabello and Cardi B: This song is a Latin style one about seeing someone that you are instantly attracted to and wanting to hook up with him. This song is one that I think just sounds really good which makes it a good listen despite a few awkward lyrics.
6. Girl-Maren Morris: This song seems to be about girl dealing with insecurities and being told that everything will be alright in the end. This song is a country when which I think suits Maren Morris' voice really well and I like the strings in the song as well.
7. Southbound-Carrie Underwood: This song seems to mostly be about southern stereotypes but I Still really like it because Carrie Underwood as a fantastic voice and the production is fun.
8. Talk-Khalid: This song is about the singer just wanting to talk to his partner about where their relationship is heading because he's more in love than he's ever been before. I like the production of this song and I like that Khalid spends the song in his higher voice which I personally like more than his lower voice.
9. Press-Cardi B: This is a song that deals with Cardi B's relationship with the press and I found it be interesting although I like it less and less as time goes on which is why it's so low on the list.
10. Cool-The Jonas Brothers: This song is one that I like just because I like the way that it sounds even though I'm not quite sure what it's about.

Book Review: People Like Us

                                                     People Like Us Review
People Like Us is about Kay Donovan a poor girl at a rich girls boarding school who as some dark secrets in her past and when she discovers the body of one of her classmates on the night of the Halloween dance she fears the police will suspect her despite her not knowing the student's body that she found. Shortly after finding the body Kay begins to be blackmail by a website that was set up by the dead girl before she dies and she is being blackmailed to hurt her close friends who are all considered mean girls therefore the dead girl had a reason to have a grudge against them. Kay following the instructions for the website ends up making her look suspicious and it ends up turning the whole school against her and having her become one the police's prime suspects.

Kay after becoming a suspect decides that it's up to her to clear her own name by finding out who the actual killer is and it turns out that the two most likely suspects are the dead girls ex-boyfriend Greg and her own ex-boyfriend Spencer who cheated on her with the dead girl a fact that Kay didn't learn until after she dead but no one seems to believe her on that fact. Kay ends up working with Nola a girl that she previously wrote off as weird but is good at hacking to help her with the investigation and since she is the only one that knows the truth about what is going on she also becomes Kay's only friend for a time. Through out the story we also learn of Kay's dark past that involves her best friend and brother's death.

Another important element in this story is that Kay is in love with her best friend Brie who already has a girlfriend and who is far too willing to believe the worst of Kay at the drop of hat for me to believe that they have that good of a friendship. While the book and Kay values her relationship with Brie more I have to say that I was more intrigued by Kay's relationship with Spencer who she was more honest with and never believed that she was capable of murder and honestly was just a lot more interesting.

Overall I thought that this was a good book but I felt like Kay made a lot of dumb choices in the beginning of the book that she didn't have to make which ended up with everyone hating her which is something I thought could've been avoid if she just went about things a little smarter. Please tell me your thoughts about this book in the comment section below.

Monday, October 21, 2019

TV Review: The 100: Die All, Die Merrily(4.10)

                                           The 100: Die All, Die Merrily(4.10)Review
  • I like that Bellamy tells Octavia that she doesn't have to be the one to fight and that they could find someone else because I love how much Bellamy still cares for Octavia even though things have been bad between them for quite sometime. I'm not at all surprised that Octavia really wants to be the one to fight.
  • I like that Clarke tells Octavia that she's got this before she goes off to fight and I like that Bellamy asks Clarke if she really believes this and Clarke says it's for the best if Octavia believes this because being realistic about the odds isn't going to make her fight any better.
  • The whole Conclave deciding who gets to live or die based solely off who is the best fighter still feels wrong to me especially since more people would be able to survive if they just divided the bunker.
  • I'm not really surprised that Luna is fighting because she doesn't believe that humanity really deserves to survive after all the things she's seen people do in order to survive but I'm also not thrilled about it.
  • I like that Indra still gives Octavia advice even though Octavia isn't fighting for her because she's her as one of her people regardless and wants her to survive.
  • I like that Jaha thinks that the whole idea of a conclave is wrong and they shouldn't be deciding the fate of their people based on a blood sport and I like that he worries that even if Octavia is the winner that the grounders might not accept their victory because their track record with the grounders in making deals with the grounders in the past don't usually work out in their favor.
  • I'm not surprised that Clarke is thinking about finding a way to cheat since she doesn't believe that Octavia will be able to beat Luna but I like that Kane points out that if they cheat and get caught it will mean that their people will die anyway.
  • I felt sad for Bellamy when he suggested that Clarke should be one of the ones to go see Octavia rather than him because he believes that he would just say the wrong thing and somehow make things worse. I like that Clarke tells Bellamy that him not being there for his sister would be worse than him not being able to find the right thing to say.
  • I'm not surprised that Clarke tried to make another alliance with Roan in order to insure that Luna won't be the one to win but I'm not sure of how good of an idea it was to even mention anything to him in the first place.
  • I really don't understand Roan's and the rest grounders philosophy about bloodshed deciding everything in their lives but I'm not surprised he doesn't care if humanity doesn't survive if his people isn't the part of it that does.
  • I like that Kane had found out all of the warriors weaknesses beforehand and that he was telling them all to Octavia so that she could know the best way to fight them.
  • I like that Bellamy tells Octavia that she doesn't need to fight everyone because one it's true she doesn't need to fight everyone to win and two he just doesn't want Octavia to put herself in more danger than she has to be in.
  • I like that even though Octavia was mad at Bellamy suggest to avoid fighting at first she was able to see it as the smart move to make she did spend the first half her life hiding so she knows how to do that well and she realizes she actually only has to kill the last warrior in order to win.
  • I'm going to assume that the reason Bellamy didn't hug Octavia before she went off to the conclave is because if he did it would feel too much like saying goodbye for the last time.
  • I like that Octavia is sneaking around and using avoidance as the tactic for her fighting because it really is the smartest call at this point in the conclave.
  • I like that when Bellamy tells Kane that he couldn't tell Octavia that he loved her before she left that Kane tells him that she knows that he does.
  • I think that both Luna and Octavia had points in their argument with Octavia being right about Lincoln would want at least part of humanity to survive and that fighting for that is actually a worthy battle but I think that Luna was right that Lincoln would be ashamed of a lot of the things that Octavia has done because Octavia has done and enjoyed far more violence then what was necessary in the past view seasons.
  • I like that Illyan wanted to make an alliance with Octavia, I was unsurprised when Octavia rejected it even knowing that the sky crew would be willing to share the bunker with others if they were the ones to win.
  • I like that Bellamy figured out that Echo went out in the field to give the Ice Nation a better chance at winning and how he wanted to go out there and stop her before she got Octavia killed. I like that Kane convinced Bellamy to wait until nightfall to try and stop Echo since there would be a smaller chance of him getting caught then there would be during the day.
  • I like that Illyan helped Octavia out when she was surrounded by four other warriors and that they defeated them together.
  • I was sad when Illyan was shot by one of Echo's arrows(although I did like that they confirmed that Bellamy was right about her being out there before he snuck out)but I was glad that Octavia ended up mercy killing Illyan rather than having to battle him until the death and that she was sad about having to do that.
  • I like that when Roan found out that Echo cheating on behalf of their people that he didn't approve of it and that he banished her from their people.
  • I like that Roan decide to both spare Bellamy's life and not reveal that he was on the battlefield probably because Bellamy wasn't actually trying to cheat on behalf of his people but to stop Echo's cheating.
  • I like that Roan tells Bellamy that he will tell Octavia before he kills her that she was lucky to have Bellamy as a brother and I like that Bellamy says how about instead when she's just about to kill you, you tell her that he was the lucky one. I also like that Octavia witness this exchange and was touched by it.
  • I like that Roan purposes a temporary alliance with Octavia so that they can defeat Luna and humanity can survive through one of there people.
  • I like that Octavia was smart enough to know that she couldn't continue fighting out in the black rain even if Luna can keep on fighting.
  • I like how Luna talked about how she thought before that people were mostly good but their situation is what made them bad but after interacting more again with the other clans she started to understand both hers and people in generals inner darkness that never really ends up going away no matter how far away from it you go.
  • I was glad that Octavia won and I think it's fitting that she won by stabbing Luna in the back because that was the only way she could really beat her.
  • It kind of makes the whole conclave pointless now that Octavia announces that she wants everyone to share the bunker equally which had been suggested in the past but I'm okay with this decision.
  • I'm not really surprised that Clarke came up with the plan for their people to take the bunker before the conclave was over since she'd do anything to make sure her people were safe and I'm also not surprised that she would have Bellamy kidnapped so that he would be inside before they locked everyone else out because she wouldn't want to survive without him.
Please tell me your thoughts on this episode.

Top 10 Songs that Hit the Billboard Hot 100 in June 2019

1. Summer Days-Martin Garrix Feat. Macklemore and Patrick Stump: This song seems to be about a hook up that happened during the summer and the lyrics somehow manage not sound demeaning which seems pretty rare in a song about this subject. I think that Patrick Stump's singing sounds excellent and I enjoyed Macklemore's rapping as well and I think that production that Martin Garrix made was a great fit for this song which is a fun summer song.
2. Mother's Daughter-Miley Cyrus: This song seems to be about Miley proclaiming herself to be the villain and her saying that is due to her mother's influence that she is the way that she is the way she is. I really like how this song's lyrics have a lot about freedom and power sung about in it's lyrics, I especially like how she calls herself a witch at one point. This song's production is one that has a dark edge to it and I think Miley sells that in the rest of the song as well.
3. Senorita-Camila Cabello and Shawn Mendes: This song seems to be about a pair of almost lovers who seem to be in a friends with benefits relationship in this Latin flavor song. Both the singers sound great on this song and the two of them have a good amount of chemistry on this song which is something that greatly benefits this song.
4. Never Really Over-Katy Perry: This song seems to be about an on again off again relationship that never really ends up ending. This song is one that just sounds really good Katy Perry sounds fantastic on this song and I think the production on this song sounds pretty fun as well.
5. Trampoline-SHAED: This song is one I'm a bit unclear what it's about other then the singers been having dreams and her singing about how they make her feel. This song is one that has this sleepy dream like feel to it that really makes it an experience to listen to and I especially like the way whistles are added into the song towards the end of the song it just adds something extra to an already good song.
6. You Need to Calm Down-Taylor Swift: This song feels like it's two different songs that were put together with one half the song being about people spreading hate on social media and the second half is about supporting gay rights neither of this topics are bad things to write songs about it doesn't feel like the two ideas belong in the same song together. Despite this songs flaws I still enjoy because it's so catchy and it gets stuck in my head all the time, the song has fun production and Taylor sounds great on it.
7. Truth Hurts-Lizzo: This song is about Lizzo telling a guy that she's doing so much better now that she's no longer in a relationship with him and has moved on to better things. I think that Lizzo attitude really sells this song with her confidence shining through the whole song. Lizzo and her production sounds great on this song which is something that really makes this song so fun to listen to.
8. Only Human-The Jonas Brothers: This song is about going out for a night on the town and going home with someone. This song is mostly just a fun song that one can dance to which is something that works well enough for me.
9. Easier-5 Seconds of Summer: This song seems to be about contemplating whether it would be easier to stay in this relationship or stay in the relationship when it's clear that neither side is willing to change. I think that song sounds pretty good even though it's nowhere near as good as Youngblood by the same band.
10. Call You Mine-The Chainsmokers Feat. Bebe Rexha: This song is about some kind of romantic relationship that develops in this song. This song is one that I don't think has particularly interesting production but since I really like Bebe Rexha's voice I still ended up putting it on my list despite nothing else about the song really standing out.

Sunday, September 8, 2019

Top 10 Songs That Hit the Billboard Hot 100 in May 2019

1. Juice-Lizzo: This song is about loving yourself and being completely unapologetic about this fact and there seems to be a side thread about rejecting lame guys. This song is a ton of fun and makes you want to both sing along and dance to it every time that you hear it. Lizzo is brimming with charisma and self confidence throughout which really adds a lot to this already excellent song.
2. What If I Never Get Over You-Lady Antebellum: This song is a duet about two people who have recently gotten out of a relationship with each other and are wondering if they made the right choice because they're worried that they might never get over each other even if they do move on. This song is one that feels like a powerful and heartbreaking song that is fantastically sung and backed up with great instrumentation as well. I especially love the part towards the end of the song when they both start singing what if questions until they're both singing at the same time which I think brings the song to a whole other emotional level.
3.If I Can't Have You-Shawn Mendes: This song is a sweet love song about how nothing matters without the one you love and the song is one that just sounds so happy throughout which makes the song fun to listen to. I like how the song tells a story of Shawn and the girl that means the world to him even though he seems to be trying to get over the girl. Shawn sounds great on this song and the production works perfectly on this song.
4. Youngblood-5 Seconds of Summer: This song seems to be about a couple that has broken up and how both sides seem to be having trouble letting go of each other and the singer seems to be mad at his ex for not fully letting him go even though his equally as guilty to this to the ex. I like how the verses have a sparse production with the singer sadly recalling his break up and the aftermath of it while the choruses have an angrier rock edge where singer calls out his ex for their unclear behavior. I really love the song especially the chorus which really pumps you up.
5. Nightmare-Halsey: This song seems to be about how Halsey has been through bad things and also how she caused a fair bit of it and she's framing both her experience and herself as a nightmare. I really like how she puts nightmare imagery in her lyrics. I like how the verses her singing and the production is soft and quiet while during the chorus both her singing and production is loud and harsh with a rock edge which different from most of her songs and songs that make it on the hot 100 these days which is something I really liked about the songs.
6. Power is Power-SZA, The Weekend and Travis Scott: This song is one that was written for Game of Thrones and I think this song does a good job of covering the themes about the power struggles that are a core part of what made the series great at least the early seasons which is all I have seen so far. The song also has a lot of violent imagery in it lyrics which fits very well for a song about the power struggles in Game of Thrones which often ended in someone's death. All three artists do a great job on this song and the dark production works really well for this song.
7. Wish Wish-DJ Khaled Feat. Cardi B and 21 Savage: First off DJ Khaled is the worst part of the song with him just saying random annoying things at the beginning and end of the song so it makes me mad that he's credited as the lead artist on this song. 21 Savage is fine on this song but the one who owns this song is Cardi B. This song is about Cardi B addressing her haters who it sounds like her judging her more for her sex life than by her music which makes her brutal dissing of them in this song pretty satisfying to hear.
8. All To Myself- Dan+ Shay: This is a simple love song about wanting to keep the one that you love all to yourself and feeling like the two of you don't need anyone else because of how much you love each other. The singing and instruments sound really good on this song and overall the song is just really nice to listen to.
9. Big Ole Freak-Megan Thee Stallion: This song is about Megan thee Stallion is in complete control with a relationship with this guy who might not be able to really handle her but surely wants her. This song is primarily on the list because the hook which is sung just always gets stuck in my head and I really love it.
10. Homicide-Logic Feat. Eminem: This song is one where I'm not exactly sure what it is about but I think it's about calling out the current rap scene and showing how they are both more talent than pretty much all the current popular rappers. This song is mostly on the list because I'm really impressed by both Logic and Eminem's flows.

Book Review: P.S. I Still Love You

                                               P.S. I Still Love You Review
P.S. I Still Love You is the second book in The To All the Boys I've Loved series and in this book Lara Jean and Peter get back together fairly quickly and they have to get use to what it's like for them to be a real couple now. The first part of the book also deals with Lara Jean dealing with people treating her differently after seeing the video of her and Peter making out in a hot tub. Lara Jean knows that Peter's ex Genevieve is the person who posted the video but Peter thinks that she wouldn't have done that which causes a wedge in their relationship as does Peter continuing to be friends with her after the break up although Lara Jean doesn't tell Peter that she feels this way.

Lara Jean finds out that another boy that she wrote a letter to has recently received it and he writes her a letter back, the boy is named John Ambrose and through out the book he is presented as a better love interest for Lara Jean than Peter is. John Ambrose is the only boy that we learned had a crush on Lara Jean at the same time that she was crushing on him which makes them not going out in eighth grade seem like a missed chance and him being someone that makes Lara Jean happy and relaxed makes him seem like a great match for Lara Jean through out the book. Lara Jean also volunteers at an old folks home through out the book and she develops a friendship with one lady that turns out to be John Ambrose's grandmother which leads to the two of them being set up by her.

Overall I felt a bit frustrated with this book because I knew that Lara Jean and Peter are going to end up together in the end so I don't see the point of this book basically listing all the ways that Peter is wrong for Lara Jean while also listing all the ways that John Ambrose is right for Lara Jean and way better than Peter only for Lara Jean to end up back with Peter in the end anyway. I don't like how this book wanted me to root against it's main ship for the entire book just because its the middle book of a romance series and we need to separate the main couple. I really hope that the movie ends up being better than the book was because this book was no where near as fun to read as the first book was. Please tell me your thoughts on this book in the comment section below.

Monday, July 8, 2019

TV Review: Come and Hug Me

                                                           Come and Hug Me Review
Come and Hug Me is about how Gil Nak Won and Yoon Na Moo are connected to each other both do a friendship and mutual childhood crushes that they have on each other and because Na Moo's father was the serial killer that murder Nak Won's parents and he ended up saving her from that same fate. Nak Won and Na Moo are still living with the trauma of what happened when they were young as adults and both of them now go by different names to try and get a fresh start although this doesn't seem to help much since reports end up looking into them and reveal what their new identities are to the public. Nak Won as gone on to follow in her mother's footsteps and become an actress like her mother was before her death, this is something to keeps her in the public eye of course which one of the reasons reporters seem unwilling to let her move on with her life. Na Moo was become a police officer because wants to try and make up for the damage that his father has done by saving more people's lives than his father has killed. Na Moo ends up facing quite a bit of backlash from the victims families and the public in general because they feel like he should be punished for his father's sins despite the fact that he is a big part of the reason that his father was caught in the first place and he is nothing like his father with how he wants to protect people rather than kill them. Throughout the series there is a question posed whether or not being a psychopath is genetic and whether Na Moo is like his father which he isn't but his father likes to think they're the same so other people who don't know Na Moo well questioned this.

Nak Won and Na Moo are separate for twelve years but end up meeting again as adults and it's clear right away that they still have feelings for each other but they don't get together right away because of the fear of public backlash which would accuse Nak Won of betraying her parents memory by loving the son of the man that killed them and for Na Moo they would think that he's shameless because not only is he daring to be happy after what his father did but he is with the daughter of one of his victims. At first Nak Won and Na Moo keep their distance Na Moo more so than Nak Won but then there seems to be someone who is copying Na Moo's father and is threatening Nak Won which leads to Na Moo being assigned her case and protecting her which leads them closer together and after awhile they decide to forget about everyone else and just try to be happy with each other.

This series also has sub plots about Na Moo's brother Yoon Hyun Moo who strangely idolizes his father at the start of the series and wants nothing more than for him to be proud of him which leads him down a dark path. Hyun Moo eventually starts to see that Na Moo as well as their step Mother and step sister truly care for him in the way a family should which makes him realize that he's wrong to put his faith in his father and instead wants to protect the rest of his family from his father. There's also subplot about Nak Won's adopted brother who is dealing with his own inter darkness while fearing  that Na Moo has it as well and wanting him to stay away from his sister.

Overall this was a fantastic series it was extremely written, acted and directed. This series was one that was really sad especially in the first half but in the end this series was about finding away to heal from your trauma and move on to live a better life in spite of it. Please tell me your about thoughts about this series in the comment section below.

Top 10 Songs that hit the Billboard Hot 100 in April 2019

1. Me!-Taylor Swift feat. Brendon Urie: This song is a bubblegum pop song by two of my favorite artists that I just love to listen to because it's just really fun to listen to. This song is a love song that is more about self love than any romantic relationship. This song is one that I find cheesy in a fun way rather than an embarrassing way even though it comes close couple of times with lyrics like Spelling is fun or You can't spell awesome without me but I feel like Taylor and Brendon deliver them with just the right attitude that is comes off kind of charming and silly rather than embarrassing.
2. Bad Guy- Billie Eilish: This song in which declares herself to be the bad guy is quite fun and different than most pop songs. This song is more playful with just a little edge of darkness unlike some of Billie's other songs such as Bury a Friend. The song takes a darker turn towards the end of the song which I think just adds a little more to the song.
3. You Should See Me in a Crown- Billie Eilish: This song has a very dark forbidding mood to it and I feel like the production for this song works really well with what sounds like a blade being scrapped against stone on the verses and the drop that happens during the chorus which makes Billie sound like someone who is powerful and dangerous. The whole song being about Billie telling us how we should see her in a crown works really well with her sounding like a threat during the verses and downright dangerous during the chorus all without really raising her voice is something I found really impressive and enjoyable.
4. Kill This Love- BLACKPINK: This song is about ending love once it because unhealthy and makes you miserable. This song unsurprisingly has amazing production which is something that is to be expected for K-pop songs, the production is one that goes through both anger and soft phases but it always full of life and is great to dance to. The girls do an excellent job singing and rapping on this song as well.
5. Ocean Eyes-Billie Eilish: This song is a really pretty song that sounds a lot lighter and sweeter than most of Billie's newer songs but she sounds just as good in this style as in her darker songs. This song is a love song about her falling for a guy because his ocean eyes that she can't get out of her head although there is a bitter edge to the song with how she sings about how the guy really knows how to make her cry.
6. Hey Look Ma, I Made It-Panic! at the Disco: This song is basically the cynical, sarcastic and lyrically interesting version of High Hopes and it also has better production in my opinion. The production in this song goes to the background during the verses allowing Brendon's voice to shine and during the chorus when the horns come in it sounds like a sarcastic celebration which works perfectly with what the song is about. Lyrics like Cause I'm a hooker selling songs/and my pimp's a record label and Friends are happy for me/Or they're honey-suckle phonies/Then they celebrate my medals/Or they wanna take my trophies are ones that stick in your head and make the song more interesting to listen to.
7. All Good Girls Go to Hell-Billie Eilish: I'm not entirely sure what this song is about but I find it to be really interesting lyrically with how she sings about how all good girls go to Hell because everyone has enemies, I also feel like there is something there about embracing your dark side because of this but I'm not entirely sure if that was intended or just the vibe that I was getting from the song personally. I also really like the production on the song and the way that Billie was singing it gave off a dark cynical side which really suited the song.
8. My Strange Addiction-Billie Eilish: I feel like this song works much better than it has any right to, it has audio clips from The Office that somehow end up fitting in with the song. The song is about how Billie finds her art(her music) to be her strange addiction that she is unsure of if anyone else will understand. The production that feels like it's always building to something works really well on this song as well.
9. Boy With Luv- BTS feat. Halsey: This song is just really nice sounding pop song about love that is done really well. The production is great as it always is for K-pop songs and the boys sound great singing on the song and Halsey sounds good on the song as well even though it's clear that she's only on this song so that it does better international it still works for the song itself.
10. Xanny-Billie Eilish: This song is a sad one that is about how the people around Billie are intoxicated on either drugs or alcohol which keeps them from caring about things or do things but none of them seem to care while Billie is refusing to take a xanny to feel better. This song is one that feels personal and what is really sad about this song is that Billie herself seems to feel sad and distant from the people around her because she can't understand why they're doing what they're doing while the people around her all numb from the drugs and never seem to learn from their mistakes, in this situation it feels like no one is better off in the end. This song's production reflects the song really well with being sad and haunting through out.

Book Review: Pretty Little Liars

                                                       Pretty Little Liars Review
Pretty Little Liars is about four former friends Spencer, Aria, Emily and Hanna whose friend Allison went missing years before the series began while the five girls were having a sleepover. Allison was someone the girls all admired but also someone who used the secrets that she knew about them in order to control the girls actions by holding them over the girls heads. The four remaining friends drifted apart soon after Allison went missing and became strangers to each other. Spencer spends her time being an overachiever because it's what's expected out of her and because of her need to be better than her sister Melissa who her parents clear love more than her. Aria had spent the few years living in Iceland and found who she truly wants to be someone who is adventurous and artsy. Emily has been working hard on the swim team and overall being the perfect daughter her parents expect her to be. Hanna has transformed herself and has become very pretty and popular along with a former unpopular girl named Mona who is now her best friend.

The girls were fine with living their lives as they have been for the last few years before they started getting messages from a mysterious person how calls themselves A Who not only knows their misdeeds that their currently doing but also knows things about their pasts that only Allison would know. The girls while spooked by the messages spends most the book just living their separate lives and just hoping that the messages will go away. During the book Spencer spends her time getting close with Melissa's boyfriend Wren, Aria starts and stops a relationship with Ezra who is her English teacher several times, Emily starts a journey of self discovery when she starts to fall for her new friend Maya and Hanna spends her time shoplifting and trying to convince her boyfriend who recently to a virginity pledge to have sex with her.

This is book pretty similar to the TV series which really just made me want to start re-watching the series and I find it interesting how this book ends at the same spot that the pilot did. So far I feel like the changes that the TV series made early on were for the better since I liked the characters a lot more from the start there and I liked how first episode had a much tighter timeline for the plot and I know it's because the show only had about 40 minutes to get the audience hooked while the book had as much time as it wanted to have to tell it's story but in this case less was more. Another thing that I didn't like about this book was how Spencer's parents acted like she was the bad guy for Wren and her kissing even though Wren is close to ten years older than Spencer who is a teenager so I feel like her parents should be more worried that she was being taken advantage of rather than acting like she was a home wrecker for ending a relationship that clearly wasn't going to last, I feel like this would have bothered me a little less if I read this when I was younger but it just feels really wrong reading it now.

This book was overall pretty good and it did a good job of establishing who the characters were as individuals before getting them all together at the end of the book and then deciding to put a spotlight on what the main plot of the series was going to be at the end of the book too. Overall while I enjoyed the book I couldn't help but compare it to the TV series which makes it a bit hard to judge it on it's own merits but does show that it's first book was a pretty well adapted for television. Please tell me your thoughts about this book or series as a whole.

Sunday, June 16, 2019

Book Review: Vampire Academy: Shadow Kiss

                                                         Shadow Kiss Review
This book is the third book in the Vampire Academy series and takes place a few weeks after the last book ended. Rose and the rest of the guardians are starting their field training by guarding their assigned Mori to follow around for the next few weeks in order to gain experience that they need in order to graduate. Rose assumes that she will be guarding Lissa since she's going to be Lissa's guardian after they graduate but she was instead assigned to Christian and her friend Eddie was assigned to Lissa which makes Rose angry but it's explained to her that the school wants her and Lissa to know what it's like to guard/be guarded by someone who you don't share a psychic link. Rose's field experience training was already off to a rough start but things get even worse when she starts seeing her friend Mason's ghost around campus which cause her to freeze up when she usually wouldn't.

At the start of this book Lissa also starts to use her spirit magic again which is something Rose worries about greatly since the last time Lissa was using it regularly it drove her crazy although this time it looks like it might be driving Rose crazy instead. This book also includes Victor the Mori from the first book who kidnapped Lissa and tried to make her agree to heal him over and over again finally being sentenced for his crimes which leads our characters to the royal court. The queen seems to be taking an interest in Lissa and thinks that she could have a career in politics if she spends her time with the right kind of people. On campus there is a group of  royal Mori who think that they are changing how their society work by using their magic on each other but are really just causing trouble.

This book also has Rose deal with how she will be giving up a lot of things in her life by being Lissa's guardian and having her actually think about whether or not it is worth it. I like that in this book Rose is thinking about all the things that she isn't really allowed since her life has to be devoted to Lissa rather than her only really feeling like she's missing out on a relationship with Dimitri because the Mori have to come first. I was also super happy that Rose and Dimitri's relationship finally started to work for me in this book even though I still don't love them, I'm glad that I at least care enough to want it to happen one day.

Overall I thought this book had a much better sense of plot than the first two books in the series and I thought that the characters were great as always. I really liked that this book once again had more focus on Rose and Lissa's relationship and Lissa and Christian's relationship which were my two favorite relationships in the first book that didn't have a lot of focus in second book. I liked that we got to see more of Adrian and I actually find his relationship with Rose more interesting than her relationship with Dimitri. I liked how this book expanded upon the mythology of this series as well. Overall this was a good read that I had a fun time reading, please tell me your thoughts on this book or series as a whole in the comment section below.

Movie Review: Then You Came

                                                        Then You Came Review
Then You Came is about a Calvin(Asa Butterfield)a nineteen year old hypochondriac who while at a cancer support group because his doctor recommend he went to get some perspective on his issue he meets Skye(Maisie Williams) a teenage girl who is full of life but is pretty close to dying of cancer that there is nothing she can do to get rid of. Skye ends up befriending Calvin almost by force and she recruits him to help her complete her unconventional bucket list and the two end up becoming friends over time. Skye ends up getting Calvin to come out of his shell and to actual enjoy his life rather than always fearing he's dying and Calvin is someone who is always there for Skye when she needs someone or just be with her whenever she's doing the next crazy thing on her list.

The movie also deals with Skye trying to find ways to make it a bit easier for her parents to deal with her passing before she dies because she knows that she only has so much time left and that her parents will be devastated by her passing no matter how much they try to appear strong for her. Another subplot in this movie has to do with Calvin having a crush on his co-worker Izzy(Nina Dobrev) who Skye helps him connected with who unfortunately believes that Calvin has cancer and since it takes him so long to clear this fact up it causes problems in their relationship before it even starts.

Overall I really loved this movie it was both a heartwarming and heartbreaking movie that centered around a friendship that I really enjoyed. Please tell me your thoughts on this movie in the comment section below.

Book Review: The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue

                                  The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue Review
The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue is about a teenage boy named Henry "Monty" Montague who is a son of a lord in the 1700s who is known to be a troublemaker because of his fondness for drinking, gambling and fooling around with both girls and boys. Monty is to spend the next couple months touring Europe with his best friend Percy(a biracial boy who is being raised by his well respected/wealthy relatives) who Monty is secretly in love with as well as his sister Felicity who wants to study medicine one day even though society discourages it. The touring is going to be last chance that Monty will be able to have freedom from his father and to spend time with Percy for quite sometime so Monty is seeing the tour as his last chance at happiness which leads to him being upset when his father hires someone to look after him on the tour.

After only a short while on tour Monty feels insulted by the former prime minister of France so while he's in his office he ends up stealing a box from him which ends up leading to dangerous people chasing after the group in order to get the box back. Monty, Percy and Felicity end up on their own for sometime and after discovering that the box was stolen and that it has a cure for all illnesses locked inside of it the group has to decide whether or not they should bring the box back to its rightful owner's. Monty after discovering that Percy is suffering from Epilepsy and is being forced into an asylum because of it decides that they have to bring the box back to its rightful owners because he's hoping that they will have a way to make Percy well again which would mean that he won't have to loose him in the near future.

This book is great it takes a lot of turns I wasn't expecting in its plot and it has really interesting characters who are all struggling to fit into the 1700s European expectations of them which makes them all the more interesting and outsiders in their own ways. I really loved seeing the characters grow over the course of the book and began to understand each other more as the story goes which leads to them becoming closer. I really loved how the characters grew to accept themselves more despite society's expectations of them by the end of the book. I really loved the relationship between Monty and Percy and was pleasantly surprised about how their relationship turned out in the end. Please tell me your thoughts on this book in the comment section below.

Wednesday, May 1, 2019

Top 10 Songs that Hit the Billboard Hot 100 in March 2019

1. Sucker- The Jonas Brothers: This song about appreciating their wives/Fiancee and how their suckers for them is just a really fun pop/rock song that I can't help but adore. This song is one that I just love to listen to over and over again which makes it one of my favorites.
2. Always Remember Us This Way- Lady Gaga: This song is from A Star is Born and while I haven't seen that movie I think this song is about choosing to look back on a relationship by remembering it in a positive way. I love Lady Gaga's passionate performance on this song and I love how this song shows off how incredible and powerful her voice is.
3. Last Hurrah-Bebe Rexha: This song is about someone who is trying to say goodbye to her vices yet again but since she's tried many times and is letting herself have one last weekend of partying it's unclear if she will be able to stop. I really love the lyrics I' ain't going to stop until I go too far last hurrah/ And it's okay maybe tomorrow I won't feel this pain and I'm done with the heartache/I'm done with the demons/Can't wait to be normal right after this weekend. Overall I really love how the production and singing on the Verses sound confessional while on the choruses it sounds more like a partying song which really fits this song.
4. Needy-Ariana Grande: This song about Ariana admitting that she can be too needy and how she both says sorry for being needy and how it must feel great to be needed. This song is one that feels both personal and relatable especially with the lyrics about how she's sorry if she's says sorry too much. The soft production works with this song and Ariana sounds great as usual.
5. Undrunk-Fletcher: This song is about how after getting drunk sometime after a break up a girl is thinking about her ex and she's missing him and she's regretting both that they broke up and how she's been dealing with the break up by having rebounds. This song is pretty detailed and personally which makes the song more interesting. The song's production works pretty well and compliments Fletcher's voice and during the verses the production works well with her voice to build up the emotions of the song until it hits the chorus.
6. Here With Me- Marshmello feat. CHVRCHES: This song seems to be about having this one person here with them makes things better which seems like a positive thing. This song is one I like mostly because I really love the lead singer of CHVRCHES voice and I find the production to be fun so I just keep coming back to this song even though I don't put a lot into why I like it.
7. Don't Call Me Up-Mabel: This song is about getting over a break up by going out to have a good time and telling the guy that she doesn't want to hear from him anymore. This song spins a break up as a positive thing and the song has a fun pop style and Mabel has a good voice which makes the song a good listen.
8. Look What God Gave Her- Thomas Rhett: This song is about how a guy finds this one girl really attractive even though she isn't really trying to be and it's a song that just sounds really fun with it's dance/electronic/pop style production and Thomas Rhett sounds great on this song as well.
9. Faucet Failure- Ski Mask The Slump God: This song is really strange and I'm slightly embarrassed by how much I like it. This is a rap song and I have no idea what it's about but I like that the production feels off kilter and the lyrics for this song are just so odd that you can't help but pay attention to them. Lyrics such as Who's this? He should be in cockpit, uh/ 'Cause I'm flyer than a fuckin' ostrich, uh/My wood, that bitch won't give me polish, uh/ and then there's also lyrics about how he is Faucet Failure because he's got drip and he also mentions Pokémon trainer shit. This song is a fun listen because it's strange and fun.
10. When the Party's Over- Billie Eilish: This song is a somber one that really allows Billie show off her voice and how good she is at conveying her emotions in her music. This song seems to be about how she can't keep someone from leaving her and while she can lie and says she likes it like this it's obvious that it's that is far from the truth of the matter.

Book Review: Don't I Know You?

                                                     Don't I Know You? Review
Don't I Know You is a book that is about three different loosely connected stories about three different characters in three different years that live in roughly the same area of New York City set between the seventies and eighties. The first story is about Steven a boy who is somewhere between the ages of seven and twelve(it's pretty hard to tell based off of the writing how old he is) who finds that his mother has been murdered and then he has to deal with the aftermath of that. The story only follows Steven's point of view for a week or two after his mother's death and there are no answers given about her murder.

The second of point of view we follow is set several years later and is about a young Chinese woman, Lilly who is working as a school teacher and is to be married to rich European businessman who owns a bunch of buildings. The story leads us to believe for a time that the man Lilly is engaged to may have killed Steven's mother but that turns out not to be true and pretty much nothing happens in her section of the story. The third section of the book is about Louise an elderly woman who suspects that her mentally challenged son may have killed Steven's mother and she is dying of cancer. This section of the book deals with Louise looking back on her life, worrying about what will happened to her son when she dies and Suspecting that he may be a killer. It turns out that her son isn't the one that killed Steven's mother in the end.

This book wasn't really good I felt like there was little to no plot and that the characters were so loosely connected to each other that it didn't really make sense why we need to read about them especially since in the end nothing was resolved. I felt like the book told me a lot of details about who the characters were but failed to established a true personality for any of them which  made this book really boring and kept me from caring about the characters. I also thought that the author is completely incapable of writing children since I could not tell what age Steven was because a lot of his behavior was similar to that of a small child but then it's mentioned that him and his friend smoked pot together, so no idea what age the writer was trying to portray. Overall I didn't like this book there wasn't a really a plot and the characters weren't engaging at all. Please tell me your thoughts on this book in the comment section below.

Thursday, April 4, 2019

TV Review: The Umbrella Academy Season 1

                                           The Umbrella Academy Season 1 Review
The Umbrella Academy is about how on October 1, 1989 43 woman who were not pregnant when they woke up that morning gave birth and how eccentric billionaire Reginald Hargreeves decided to buy as many of the children as he could in the end he got seven of them and six of them ended up having super powers. Reginald forced the children become child super heroes and ended up psychologically abusing all seven of the children through out their childhood in different ways which leads to them being messed up as adults. Vanya the only child not to show signs of having powers was isolated from her siblings and told by her father repeatedly that there was nothing special about her which has led to her having very low self esteem.

The Hargreeves siblings reunite for the first time in years as adults after their father dies at his funeral which is where the series story really starts in the current time. Quick overview of what the characters abilities are and where they currently are when the series begins Luther has super strength and has been living on the moon the last few years because his dad told him to. Diego has the ability to curve anything he throws so that it hits it's target he generally uses knives and is currently working as a vigilante. Allison can make someone do whatever she wants as long as she says the phrase I heard a rumor before it and is currently a famous actress whose personal life is falling apart due to her over using her power. Klaus has the ability to talk to the dead and he spends his time getting high and drunk in order to block out the sounds of the dead since he can't turn off his power in any other way. Five can teleport and time travel and he has been missing since they were all thirteen years old. Ben had inter-dimensional monsters beneath his skin and he died several years before the series and currently follows Klaus around and tries to convince him to make better decisions. Vanya has no powers and works as a violinist who lives are very lonely life and wrote a book about her childhood that led to her family being pretty angry with her.

The siblings reunite at the funeral and things don't start off well especially when Luther accuses his siblings of murdering their father which obviously upsets his siblings who hated their father but wouldn't kill him. On the day of the funeral Five comes back and although he looks thirteen he's actually been gone for forty-five years from his point of view and only looks young because he made some kind of miscalculation with time travel that he won't explain to his siblings and it turns out that he went to the future and that the apocalypse will happen eight days from now and he has come back to stop it although it takes him awhile to really tell his siblings what is going on. Even when the siblings find out the apocalypse they really don't do well with focusing on how to stop it because everyone is still to focus on their personal problems and their dysfunctional relationships with each other.

Overall I loved this series I think it did a great job at exploring the dysfunctional family dynamics that the siblings share while also showing that they care about each other despite that and I think all they characters were interesting and I enjoyed learning about them. I really love that all of the characters have such obvious flaws and that they all still have so much more room to grow in the future. I like that the characters were so focused on the personal that the plot mostly took a backseat for them and I like that in the end even the apocalypse was something that was caused by the family's personal issues in the end. This also had a really great soundtrack that I love that made an already great series even better. Please tell me your thoughts on this series in the comment section below.

Book Review: These Broken Stars

                                                       These Broken Stars Review
These Broken Stars is set in a far off future where people live on multiple planets that have been inhabitable for humans and there are space ships that are as big as cities that take the wealthy across the universe in a fairly short amount of time. Tarver is a solider that is from one of the less well off planets but is young and accomplished war hero so he was assigned to travel on Icarus a spaceliner that is one the biggest that holds 50,000 people on it. Tarver ends up meeting Lilac who is the daughter of one of the wealthiest and most powerful men in the universe whose company built the Icarus and is in charge of making most planet inhabitable, Lilac and Tarver connect right away but Lilac pretends that she hates him and looks down at him because her father is a tyrant who make sure that any guy that she gets close to ends up dead. The Icarus ends up crashing and Tarver and Lilac end up being the only two people who survive the crash and end up on an abandoned planet.

The planet being abandoned is something that Tarver finds suspicious from the start but he tries not to think about what that might mean and instead focuses on figuring out the best way to insure that both him and Lilac survive. Lilac believes that her father must know where they are and that them being rescued is a given which something that Tarver is unsure about since they have no way to contact anyone to tell them where they are or even send out a signal which leads to them finding a communication device to become a priority. After a few days of being on the planet Lilac starts to hear voices and after awhile it becomes clear that something is strange about this planet in the way that it's able to communicate with Lilac on some psychic level.

While on the planet and away from the rest of civilization Tarver and Lilac get to know each other better and start to admire each others strengths while relying on each other to survive. Once it becomes clear to both of them that they have just been pushing each other away to save face rather than actually disliking or looking down on each other in any real way the two realize that they do love on each other but are unsure if it is a good idea or not to act on those feelings.

Overall this was a good it had an interesting enough plot and the focus on just two characters for the majority of the story lead us to really get to know the two of them pretty well and allowed plenty of room for their relationship to grow. Please tell me your thoughts on this book in the comment section down below.

Thursday, March 28, 2019

Top 10 Songs that hit the Billboard Hot 100 in February 2019

1. Miss Me More- Kelsea Ballerini: This song is about how after a break up the singer realize that she misses the person she was before the relationship a lot more than the guy she was dating who sounds like a total dick(he made her give up her red lipstick, her high heels since she couldn't be taller than him, her friends and her music). The song being country I think worked really well since it had great production and the edge in her voice worked really well for this song.
2. Bad Idea- Ariana Grande: This song is about hooking up with someone to forget someone else while knowing it's a bad idea and going through with it anyway The production on this song works really well for the song it's a bit dark and tension filled which fits the mood of the song. The thing I don't like about the song is that it has a minute long outro which feels far too long to me and is probably the reason this song didn't last longer than it did on the hot 100 since I'm sure most people ended skipping past the outro.
3. Bury a Friend- Billie Eilish: This song is one that I'm not exactly sure what it's about but I think it as something to do with mental illness and it has some kind of metaphors about monsters in it as well it's a song that I find fascinating to think about since there are so many things this song can be about. This song and the music video for it has a clear horror vibe to it which I love, the production gives a creepy unsettling vibe through out the song with sound affects that sound like they belong in a horror movie not a pop song placed through out the song and there is also the lyrics that have violent imagery to them such as Step on the glass /Staple your tongue and her repeatedly saying I want to end me. This song is very different from any pop song I've ever heard before and I love it.
4. Make Up-Ariana Grande: This song which seems to be about a relationship that isn't entirely healthy since Ariana seems to delight in fucking with her partner's head just because she likes making up with him after. The production of this song might be the best on the entire album it as a playful and dreamy vibe to it that I really enjoyed.
5. Please M- Cardi B and Bruno Mars: This song is about Cardi B making Bruno Mars beg her to please him because while she may be very comfortable with her sexuality she does like it when guys work for it. I love Cardi B being so assertive about her sexuality and I was surprised at how good she sang on the song and Bruno sound amazing as he always done and he was giving the song is best, also the two seem to have great chemistry while working to together.
6. Fake Smile- Ariana Grande: This song is about how Ariana doesn't want to have to fake smiles for the press anymore since she's been through a lot recently and she isn't always going to be happy and doesn't want that to be expected of her anymore. While I really love the idea behind this song I feel like the production for this song really lets it down since I think this song is suppose to feel more angry rather than sad and irritated based of the lyrics but I feel like the production is too soft and quiet to really support that emotion. This song also reminds a lot of Fake Happy by Paramore which had the same basic idea behind it but had much better instrumentation that support the emotions behind the lyrics which makes it the better song.
7. Ghostin-Ariana Grande: This song is probably the most personal song on the album and if you know anything about Ariana's personal life you know exactly what this song is about and that makes this song all the more heartbreaking. This song is very honest and sad which can makes it a song that you aren't going to always want to listen to even though it's really good. Ariana sounds amazing and vulnerable on this song and the soft melancholy production works perfectly for this song.
8. Break Up with Your Girlfriend, I'm Bored- Ariana Grande: This song about Ariana wanting some guy she doesn't even really know to break up with his girlfriend since she's bored and decide that she wants him now shows a more haughty side to her and makes for a fun song about being an uglier version of yourself. I think that the production works great for this song as well.
9. I'm So Tired...-Lauv and Troye Sivan: This song is one where I think that singers sound really good on it but it really doesn't engage me as much I wish it did but it still sounds really nice but it can feel a bit boring and repetitive to listen to at times.
10. Rainbow-Kacey Musgraves: This song is a really beautiful sounding piano ballad that just sounds really nice.

Friday, March 1, 2019

Top 10 Songs that hit the Billboard Hot 100 in January 2019

1.Breathin-Ariana Grande: This song is one of my favorites because I feel like I can sense some of the anxiety that this song seems to be about and I like how during the chorus when she sings about how she has to keep on breathing it sounds like it gets a little harder as time goes on. This song also just sounds really pretty and it really shows off what a beautiful voice that Ariana Grande has.
2.Thank u, Next- Ariana Grande: This songs seems to be one of Ariana's most personal songs where she directly sings about her past relationships and how she sees all her failed relationships as something she has learned from and she's thankful that she had those relationships. Ariana's sounds great on this song and I like that you can hear quite a bit of emotion in her voice.
3. High Hopes-Panic! at the Disco: While this isn't my favorite Panic! at the Disco song in fact it's not even my favorite off of Pray for the Wicked, even so this song is still a really good one that I enjoy listening to. This song is a little generic with how it's just about having high hopes and succeeding on fulfilling your dreams which is less interesting than most Panic songs which are lyrically a lot more interesting. The song is a happy sounding one that has great instrumentation and vocal performances throughout and the song is filled with energy that makes you want to sing along to it whenever you hear it.
4.Without Me-Halsey: This song is about how after a relationship ends Halsey feels like her lover shouldn't be able to live without her so easily since she met him at his lowest and built him up only for the relationship to end after he turns his life around. I really like Halsey as a singer and like her more alternative pop style which she uses on most of her songs including this one.
5.Trip-Ella Mai: This is a really sweet R&B love song that just sounds really pretty it has good production and Ella Mai has a beautiful voice. This song it one that feels both romantic and relaxing which makes for an enjoyable listening experience.
6.Close to Me-Ellie Goulding and Diplo feat. Swae lee: This song is a love song about wanting be close to just one person and I enjoy that we get to hear a bit from both sides of the relationship. I really love Ellie Goulding's voice it sounds really beautiful and I think that production compliments it and I like the contrast that Swae Lee's voice provides on his verse which is something that took me awhile to warm up to.

7.Sweet but Psycho-Ava Max: This song is about a girl who is sweet but a psycho and it describes how she's a bit dangerous but that's kind of the appeal, for some reasons songs like this are ones that I just always end up catching my interest. I like how the songs sounds upbeat while describing a relationship with a girl that clearly isn't a lot of fun.
8.Love Lies-Khalid and Normani: This is a song about two lovers who are trying to figure out where they stand with each other and this song as a really great romantic atmosphere that really makes the song for me. One of my favorite things about this song is that it's a duet which really makes the song work for me.

9.Ruin My Life-Zara Larsson: This song is one that I find to be really catchy even if I do thing that it can be a repetitive which keeps me from completely loving this song. I kind of like how this song is about how she wants the object of her affection to ruin her life because she's just so into him.
10. Speechless-Dan + Shay: While I'm usually not that big of a fan of country music this was a song that just grew on me the more that I heard it because it was just so sweet. The song is about how this guy finds himself speechless while looking at the woman he's been in relationship with for years now and that concept combined with how love-struck the singer sounds really makes the song for me.