Friday, December 30, 2011

Book Review: The Kane Chronicles: The Red Pyramid

                                        The Kane Chronicles: The Red Pyramid: Review
This book is by Rick Riordan who also wrote the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series which also love. The story is about a brother and sister named Carter and Sadie Kane after their father vanishes they learn that he released a group of gods from ancient Egypt and that they come from a long line of magicians. The book is about their journey to save both their father and the world from a god of chaos named Set. The Kane siblings also have to run from the other magicians because they have the gods inside of them.

I liked both of the main characters and I liked that the book was told from both of their point of view. I ended up liking Carter more as a character but I enjoyed Sadie's narration more probably due to the fact she's a bit snakier. I liked Carter because he was smart and seemed kind of shy and I liked how he became braver and more sure of himself as the book went on. I loved Sadie because she seemed so sure of herself especially from the outside but as the book goes on we learn she has a lot more venerable than she originally appeared and I liked that we got to peal back her layers. I also really liked the character Bast the cat goddess who's a major badass and a joy to read about there's also more to her then meets the eyes. I also like the character Zia and her relationship with carter.

I overall loved the book and I liked all of the mythology we were able to get in just one book. I also like that there were a few references to the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series. I really want to read the second book to see what happens next. Please tell me your thoughts about the book.

Tuesday, December 27, 2011

Top 10 Books I Read in 2011

1. The Last Olympian: The last book of the Percy Jackson and the Olympians is my second favorite in the series and this book is action packed but still takes the time to focus on all the characters. I thought it was a great end to a great series and I really liked all the backstory we got in this book.
2. Heist Society: I loved this book about a group of young con artist and I loved all the characters in this book and the way they interacted with each other.
3. The Lying Game: This book is a great mystery book that involves a set twins and the story is about one of them trying to figure out who murdered the other one, I loved this book but I disliked the TV show.
4. Cross My Heart Hope to Spy: The second book of the Gallagher girls is even better than the first book and I continue to love the four main girls and the spy training. I also loved that that there is a spy school for boys I especially loved Zach and his relationship with Cammie.
5. The Secret Circle series: I loved this whole series but I especially loved the characters Faye and Diana and that they were opposites and had this sort of power struggle. I also loved the relationship between Cassie and Nick and basically the whole plot of the series.
6. I am Here:It's a manga but I loved this series so much because I related to the main character a lot and I thought the story was good.
7. Identical: I loved this twisted story which was told in poetry and I loved how the whole family seemed like really developed characters.
8. Shiver: I loved this love story and I especially loved the character Sam who is very sweet and very damaged.
9. The Summoning: I loved this book because once it gets going there's a lot of twists that make you want to read as much as you can as fast you can of it.
10. The Red Pyramid: I loved this book and how it combinded the Eygptian gods and magicains with today's world and I liked both of the main characters.

I will also be doing end of the year lists for my favorite TV shows, Male and Female characters, and Episodes.

Saturday, December 17, 2011

TV Review:Once Upon a Time: The Price of Gold(1.04)

                                         Once Upon a Time: The Price of Gold(1.04) Review
  • In this episode in fairytale world Cinderella makes a deal with Rumplestiltskin after he kills her fairy god mother in order to escape her current life. After marrying Prince Thomas she learns his price was her first born.
  • I liked the relationship between Cinderella and Prince Thomas as well as their Storybrooke contortparts Ashley and Shawn.
  • I loved seeing Snow White and Prince James at Cinderella's wedding. I especailly loved Cinderella and Snow White Danceing together.
  • I liked seeing that it was because of the plan for Cinderella to keep her baby that led to Rumplestiltskin capture.
  • I also liked Cinderella's contortpart Ashley who is detrimined to raise her baby despite being young.
  • I continue to like the relatiopnship between Emma and Henry, I was glad when Emma decided to stay in town and take the job Graham offered her earlier in the episode.
  • I like Rumplestilskin/Mr.Gold as a villain.
  • I like that for once their was a happy ending in Storybrooke but I was sad about the sad ending of Cinderella's story in fairytale world.
  • I was very dissapointed that Graham is sleeping with Regina.
Please tell me your thoughts on the episode.

TV Review: Grimm: Let Your Hair Down(1.07)

                                                 Grimm: Let Your Hair Down(1.07)Review
  • In this episode a drug dealer is killed by a girl who is and blutbad who has been missing since she was seven years old.
  • I liked how much Monroe decotrated for christmas.
  • I thought that the idea of this episode was interesting with the girl being scared and confused when she first transformed because she was adopted.
  • I liked Hank and Wu also working on the case and I like how both the storylines ended up tying together in the end.
Please tell me your thoughts on the episode.

Tuesday, December 13, 2011

Top 5 Books I'd Give as Gifts

1. Fruits Basket:I would love to give this series as a gift because it's my favorite series of anything and I wish more people would read even though it's a manga series.
2. Perks of Being a Wallflower: Is my favorite book and I love the way that Charlie thinks and I wish more people were like him.
3.The Book Theif: Is an incredible book and I think most people would enjoy it.
4.The Percy Jackson and the Olypmians series: It's one of my favorite series and I think most people would end up enjoying the series and I wish I knew someone in real life that has read these books.
5.Reading in the Dark: I love this book and I would give it as a gift because I want to talk to someone about this book.

Sunday, December 11, 2011

Movie Review: Hugo

                                                                 Hugo Review
The movie Hugo is about a young boy in 1930s Paris that lives in a train station and fixes it's clocks while he works on fixing a robot that he believes might hold a message for his deceased father. Along the way he befriends Isabel a girl who lives with her god parents. Later on in the film they learn that Georges Melies Isabel's god father was one of the best filmakers before the war but after he lost everything because of change in peoples taste.

The film is wonderful and you end up feeling for all of the characters and being invested in all of the subplots. I loved Hugo(played by Asa Butterfield who I know from playing Mordred in the BBC Merlin series) he had a talent for fixing machines and he also had a tendency to try and fix people as well due to the loneliness he felt since his father died. I loved Isabel(played by Chloe Mortez) and her love of books and desire for adventure. I loved the friendship between these two characters as well. I loved Georges Melies(played by Ben Kingsley) the former filmaker who has lost his passion once his films were destroyed. I also greatly enjoyed the station Inspector(played by Sacha Baron Cohen) who is harsh on orphans probably due to being treated that way himself after his own parents died and his leg is in a brace which he seems terribly self conscious about, I also enjoyed his crush on the girl who sells flowers.

Overall felt that the film was brillant it was able to break my heart and warm my heart many times through out. I thought that the acting was great by everyone but I feel I have to give special mention to Asa Butterfield who was able to say everything with just a look and he made it seem like he was never acting at all. I also loved the directing by Martin Scorsese the film was also visually brillant. I loved the film and would love for you to tell me your thoughts on it.

TV Review:Once Upon a Time: Snow Falls(1.03)

                                               Once Upon a Time: Snow Falls(1.03)Review
  • I loved seeing how Snow White and Prince charming first met with her robbing from him and how he first finds her in order to get his jewels back.
  • I loved the relationship between Snow White and Prince Charming I liked that by the end of the episode they have both saved each others lives.
  • I liked that Prince Charming was actually a nickname Snow White gave him and I liked learning that his really name is James.
  • I enjoyed seeing the sword fights combinded with a little knife throwing and arrow shooting in this episode.
  • I liked that the John Doe who is Prince Charming woke up from his coma because Mary Margret read their story to him.
  • I'm both happy and sad that Mary Margret sort of started to believe in the fairytale stuff only to learn that the John Doe who's real name is David is already married.
  • I suspect that Regina may have paid the wife to pretend to be that and I agree with Emma that the story doesn't quite add up.
  • I loved that Henry continuies to try to convince everyone of the fairytales being real no matter how impropably it seems.
  • I liked seeinf David Anders in this episode because I loved him in Heroes and Vampire Diaries.
Please tell me your thoughts on the episode.

TV Review: Grimm: The Three Bad Wolves(1.06)

                                      Grimm:The Three Bad Wolves(1.06)Review
  • In this episode a pair of blutbad brothers house are blown up and they share a bit of history with Monroe.
  • I really enjoyed learning more about Monroe's past.
  • I kind of loved the character Hap because he was such a nice trusting guy and I was sad when he died.
  • I had a love hate relationship when it came to Angelina the sister of the blurbad brothers becuase I have a tendency to like the reckless wild violent girls but I disliked her because she caused just about everything bad that happened in this episode.
Please tell me your thoughts on the episode.

Saturday, December 10, 2011

TV Review: Grimm: Danse Macabre(1.05)

                                                Grimm:Danse Macabre(1.05)Review
  • In this episode a music teacher at a private school is muled to death by rats and a pair of rat llike creatures are suspected.
  • I was really freaked out by the music teachers corspe.
  • I really liked that in this episode the fairytale creature wasn't the one who committed the crime although he did attempt to get revenge but that was understandable.
  • I liked that this epsiode once again highlighted that Nick wouldn't harm one of the creatures as long as they did nothing wrong.
  • I liked the awkward talk Monroe had with Roddy.
  • I really liked the voilin music that played through out the episode.
  • I'm worried for Hank since Adalind asked him to dinner but it appears she hasn't done anything as of yet.
  • I like that it seems like Juliet is going to find out about the whole Grimm thing soon because of how scared the repair man is of Nick for no apparent reasons.
Please tell me your thoughts on the episode.

Tuesday, December 6, 2011

Top 5 Books from my Childhood

1. A Series of Unfortunate Events: I had the first nine books read to me when I was younger and I loved them then and I still do but I still haven't read books 10-13 but I want to. I liked them because they were kind of dark, had a tendency to use large words, the main characters were smart, the narrator would break the forth wall and tell you not to read these books, and I loved that in the second book there was a page with just the word ever on it over and over again.
2.Harry Potter series: I loved these books because they are magical and tell a good story, I feel like there isn't anything new I can say about these books.
3. My Side of the Mountain:My dad read this book to me when I was younger and I really liked it even though it was set in the book, I just found it interesting.
4. Fairy tales: When I was little I loved reading fairy tales mostly the ones about princesses and they were usually the Disney version.
5. If You Give a Pig a Pancake, If You Give a Mouse a Muffin, and If You Give a Mouse a Cookie: I remembered really like this books when I was little because I found them funny.

Monday, December 5, 2011

TV Review: Revenge:Suspicion(1.09)

                                                   Revenge:Suspicion(1.09)Review
  • I liked that Emily planeted Frank's phone in the Grayson's yard so that they would turn on each other.
  • I liked that Emily's mentor on revenge was Japanese and I was impressed by her being able to speak Japanese.
  • In this episode I felt that Victioria was a creepy bitch with her treatment of Lydia and I felt really bad for Lydia. I was glad that by the end of the episode Victoria basically lost everyone she cares about because of her behavior.
  • I disliked the real Emily for telling Jack she was Amanda and I'm a bit worried about Jack.
  • I liked that Nolan mainpulated Tyler into doing anything he wants and that he's in control of the situation but lets Tyler thinks he has the upper hand.
  • I'm a bit worried about Ashley turning on Emily with giving information about her to Victoria but I'm sure Emily can easily handle her.
Please tell me your thoughts on the episode.

Sunday, December 4, 2011

TV Review: Once Upon a Time: The Thing You Love Most(1.02)

                                    Once Upon a Time:The Thing You Love Most(1.02)Review
  • I really enjoyed watching the Evil Queen descending further and further into darkness and that she warned by many people including fellow evil people that she was crossing a line that no one should ever cross but none of this seemed to matter to her.
  • I'm really interested to see how the relationship between the Evil Queen/Regina and Rumplestiltskin/Mr.Gold is going to work since he has a bit of control over her and I'm unsure of which side he's on.
  • I really liked the relationship that is developing between Emma and Henry and I also liked the way that Emma came to terms with everyone being a fairytale character.
  • I liked the rivalry between Emma and Regina and I think that Regina is an incredibly cruel person.
  • I also liked the relationships Emma has with Mary Margaret and the Sheriff.
  • I really liked the apple tree being important to Regina and her giving the apples because of how it reminded me of Snow White.
Please tell me your thoughts on the episode.

TV Review: Ringer: The Poor Kids Do It Everday(1.06)

                                   Ringer: The Poor Kids Do It Everday(1.06)Review
In this episode Bridget discovers that Gemma and that Henry has cleaned up the crime scene thinking it was her doing. Also in this episode the dective almost finds Malcom but doesn't because he gave away the information on Bridget shortly before they found him. The best parts of this episode dealt with Juliet's first day at her public high school in this episode she proves to be great in a bitchy sort of way and she seems to be developing a sweet relationship with her cute teacher.

I'm very curious as to who killed Gemma and wheather or not she's really dead. I overall felt the epsiode was okay but I'm still wishing this show was a lot better then it is. Please tell me your thoughts episode in the comment section below.

TV Review: Revenge:Treachery(1.08)

                                                     Revenge:Treachery(1.08)Review
  • In this episode deals with the aftermath of Frank's murder and Lydia waking up from her coma. I thought that Emily handle both situations brilliantly and I felt that Victoria did a good job at trying trigger Lydia's memory while still keeping her in the dark about what really happened.
  • I liked the odd les yay like friendship between Emily and real Emily but I'm not sure if Emily really cares for her or she's just using her.
  • I liked the relationship between Declan and Charlotte. I kind of love Charlotte's character in general and I felt bad for her in the scene were her dad told her he was moving out.
  • I kind of hate Tyler and Ashley but at the same time I felt a little bit bad for them in this episode.
  • I loved that Nolan figured out that real Emily killed Frank.
  • I liked that Daniel confronted Victoria about her cruel behavior and I just generally think that Daniel is a great guy.
  • I'm worried about what kind of trouble real Emily's going to cause since she decided not to go to Paris. I'm also unsure about how I feel about her relationship with Jack and her character in general .
Please tell me your thoughts on the episode.

Saturday, December 3, 2011

TV Review: Once Upon a Time: Pilot(1.01)

                                            Once Upon a Time:Pilot(1.01)Review
  • I really liked the story of how Storybrooke came to be with the Evil Queen putting a curse on the kingdom after Snow White and Prince Charming got their happy ending.
  • I loved the way the fairytale world/past looked and I liked trying to find out who each person was in the current Storybrooke.
  • I loved seeing a sword fight although I'm sad that Prince Charming died because of it.
  • I thought that Rumpelstiltskin was very creepy and I'm worried about what he's going to due with the knowledge of Emma's name.
  • I thought that Emma was a really good character and I like that she is the chosen one but doesn't know it.
  • I loved Henry for being the only one who knows that the fairytales and that he went to find Emma since he knew she was the only one that could end the curse. I also like that he's a little kid but he's knows more then everyone else.
  • Overall I really enjoyed this episode and I think it's a good start to a new series.
Please tell me your thoughts on the episode.

Thursday, December 1, 2011

Book Review: Heist Society:Uncommon Criminals

                                              Heist Society:Uncommon Criminals Review
Uncommon Criminals is the second book in the Heist Society series which is by Ally Carter who also wrote the Gallagher series. At the beginning of this book Kat had become a thief that only steals pieces that were already stolen then she returns them to their rightful owner. Kat is tasked with stealing the Cleopatra emerald but soon after she steals the emerald she learns that she was conned and now she has to find a way to steal it back.

I continue to love this series and I especially love the characters, Kat remains a great main character who's clever and ratable but I'm sad to say that I didn't feel she had as many moments to shine in this one as she did in the last one. Hale continues to be my favorite character although I'm having a little trouble pin pointing why that is, I loved Gabrielle as well I loved that she was around for pretty much the whole book. I also love Simon and I'm glad that we got to see more of him in this book and I love the Bagshaws as well for awhile I feared these two wouldn't make an appearance but to my relief they did. I like Nick as well but I was a little surprised to see him in this one and for some reason I don't expect to see him in the next one. I love how this whole group works together.

I thought that Maggie made a good villain and I liked that she had a past with Uncle Eddie because it allowed us to learn about his past in an organic way. I also liked that there was focus on Kat getting cocky at the beginning only to have her to find out that she was conned because it showed that no matter how good she is she still not perfect. I also liked that Kat and Hale's relationship progressed without them getting together and I like how everyone thinks of them as a couple already. Overall I loved this book and I can't wait for the next book but I have to because it's not out yet. Please tell me your thoughts on this book in the comment section.

Tuesday, November 29, 2011

Top 10 books I want to read this winter

1. Perfect: This book is by Ellen Hopkins who wrote Impulse and Identical two books which I loved but I  still haven't got a chance to buy this book so I still really want to read it.
2. Never Have I Ever:I loved the Lying Game and I really want to read this book but I haven't had the chance to yet.
3. Don't Judge A Girl By Her Cover: This is the third book in the Gallagher Girls series and I really want to read since I loved the first two books as well as Heist Society and Uncommon Criminals which I'm currently reading which are also by Ally Carter.
4. The Awakening: I loved the summoning and I really want to read this book to see what happens next but I haven't been able to read it yet.
5. The Lost Hero: I loved the Percy Jackson series and since this is set in the same universe I really want to read this book as well.
6. Anna Dressed in Blood: I want to read this book because it looks and sounds interesting but sadly I haven't been able to buy it yet.
7. Tricks: Another Ellen Hopkins book I've been wanting to read for awhile now.
8. Thirteen Reasons Why: I've wanted to read this book for years now but I'm still not able to sadly.
9.Paranormalcy: This book sounds really good but I haven't been able to read it yet.
10.Linger:I loved Shiver and I would really like to read the next book in the series.

I'm  sorry that most of the books were on my to be read in fall list but I haven't been able to buy a lot of books lately.

Thursday, November 24, 2011

TV Review: The Fades(1.05)

                                                             The Fades(1.05)Review
  • In this episode the fades are everywhere and can't be told apart from living people. I really liked the horror movie like atmosphere this episode had.
  • I really liked the relationship between John and Natalie in this episode and Natalie's character in general I'm sad that she's gone for good.
  • I'm not surprised that turning Sarah into a fade isn't going to turn out well.
  • I liked that in this episode pretty much everyone now knows something weird is going on and I'm glad they were told to leave town.
  • I liked the scene were Paul talks to his old therapist and I liked how he talked about his fear changing.
  • In liked the scene towards the end of the episode between Mac and Anna.
  • I find it interesting that Paul is the only that can kill the fades but I like that he doesn't want to just kill everyone but instead find a way to reopen accession.
  • I'm worried about Mac being kidnapped by Neil.
  • I really like John as a villain because he's very calm, creepy and intelligent and I like that he has a clear motive. I also like how John compared himself with Paul.
  • This episode or the one before it is my favorite so far.
Please tell me your thoughts on the episode.

Wednesday, November 23, 2011

Book Review: Wings

                                                                  Wings Review
Wings is about a girl named Laural who discovers she's a fairy after moving to a new town. The story mostly deals with Laural coming to terms with her true nature but in the last part of the book it deals with her having to make sure her parents don't sell their old home because the land is very important to fairies which is the reason why she was sent to live with humans.

I found the character of Laural to be rather boring other than being a fairy there's not really anything interesting about her. I really liked the character David who is Laural's human love interest he's really sweet and into science, I just love him. Tamini Laural's fairy love interest I kind of liked him but he was pretty much a jerk to David just because he knew about Laural being a fairy and I thought he act really immature in the parts where they interact which is especially noticeable since David was perfectly nice to him. I also really liked the character Charlotte she's a human friend of Laural's and she's really nice and bubbly.

I overall really enjoyed the book but I'm not sure I'll read the rest of the series since Laural seems to favor Tamini over David and since I feel the opposite way I'm guessing the next book would just frustrate me. Please tell me your thoughts on the book.

Saturday, November 19, 2011

TV Review:Grimm:Lonelyhearts(1.04)

                                                 Grimm:Lonelyhearts(1.04)Review
  • In this episode there's a bluebeard who draws women to him and he has been raping and kinapping them for some time now.
  • I thought that the bluebeard was very creepy and made a good bad guy but I also think he ran a really nice bed and breakfast.
  • I enjoyed that in this episode we saw alot of Nick's and Hank's relationship in this episode.
  • I liked the scene between Nick and his girlfriend Juliet they're very sweet.
  • I found it funny that Monroe was sort of enchanted by the bluebeard in the bar.
  • I found it interesting that a ripper who was somehow related to the one that appeared in the first episode came into town seeking revenge and I wonder what Nick's boss really is and if there's a reason he hasn't tried to kill Nick yet.
Please tell me your thoughts on the episode.

Tuesday, November 15, 2011

Top 8 books I haven't read that are on my bookshelf

1.Fargile Eternity: I hear that this book focuses more on the relationship between Asilin, Keenan and Seth which I would be fine with as long as they don't make it a love triangle which from what I hear it did become a love triangle which disapoints me because I loved the relationship between Keenan and donia.
2.Here After: I got this book as a gift a long time ago and I have no idea what's it's about.
3.Girl, Interrupted: I've been meaning to read this book for the longest time but I've been putting it off because I fear it will be dense and I'm not really in the mood for dense.
4.The Phantom of the Opera: I here great things about this but I'm not sure if people are talking about the play, the movie or the book. I tried to read this three years ago but I found it really boring. 
5. Starcrossed: This was a gift but I'll probably read it because I've heard good things about it.
6.Criss Cross: I've got this book as a gift a really long time ago and I don't know what it's about.
7.Chassing Windmills:I got it as a gift.
8. Gone With the Wind: I want to read this book since I liked the movie but it scares me a bit since it's almost 1,000 pages long.

Sunday, November 13, 2011

TV Review:The Fades(1.04)

                                                            The Fades(1.04)Review
  • I thought it was really sad how Paul had to just watch everyone and I was mad when Neil refused to tell Mac that Paul said it wasn't his fault.
  • I was really intrigued by John and find him to be very scary with the whole eating human flesh even when he's in human form and that he's immortal.
  • I was angry when I found out that the angelics refused to help rebuild the acsenion ladder even though the fades begged them to.
  • I feel bad for the fades not only not being able to touch the rest of the world but also having to age as well.
  • I understood why Paul would lead John to the angelics but it didn't surprise me that things end really badly.
  • I really liked the friendship between mac and Paul in this episode because it was easy to tell how much the two of them really cared for each other.
  • I'm glad that in the end Paul didn't die and I liked that Anna was willing to take part in the spell even though that's not what ended up saving him in the end.
  • I felt that all the acting was really good in this episode.
  • I felt that this is the best episode so far.
Please tell me your thoughts on the episode.

TV Review: Revenge:Charade(1.07)

                                                          Revenge:Charade(1.07)Review
  • This episode deals with the Grayson's strained marriage and by the end of the episode it seems like the relationship may be permantly damaged.
  • In this episode Frank discovers that Emily Thorne and Amanda Clarke switch identies when he finds the real Emily working as a stripper.
  • It's revealed that Tyler is a former rich boy who's now working a con in order to regain his wealth by using the Graysons. I was only slightly surprised when Tyler and Nolan started kissing, also I enjoyed Nolan having his own scheme.
  • I was happy that Emily confirmed that Daneil isn't a target especially because he continues to be a sweet decent guy.
  • I was kind of surprised by Ashley saying that she is only looking out for herself but that does make her Tyler more suit for each other.
  • I'm happy that Frank is out of the picture and I liked the real Emily for killing.
  • I'm curious about what's going to happen now that Lydia has woken up.
Please tell me your thoughts on the episode.

Saturday, November 12, 2011

TV Review: Secret Circle:Balcoin(1.09)

                                                 Secret Circle:Balcoin(1.09)Review
  • I enjoyed Faye and Adam working together and I liked that the circle found out about Jake being a witch hunter.
  • I liked Melissa's cousin Holden and his relationships with both Melissa and Diana.
  • I thought that it was nice that Cassie went to Diana for help on researching her family line since I miss the friendship those two had in the book.
  • I liked seeing scenes between Melissa and Diana.
  • For some reason I still ship Cassie and Jake and I'm glad that he really cared about her but I still don't like him.
  • I was surprised to learn that Cassie's ancestors became literal monsters due to their dark magic.
  • I'm worried about Jane and I'm curious about what the spell Charles put on her is actually doing.
  • I wonder who the second child of Blackwell in the circle is.
Please tell me your thoughts on the episode.

TV Review: Revenge:Intrigue(1.06)

                                                          Revenge:Intrigue(1.06)Review
  • In this episode Emily sets out to have the Graysons destroy Frank using the tape Nolan got last week.
  • Through out the whole episode I found Frank to be extremely creepy and I'm worried about him learning Emily's secret.
  • In this episode I really liked Jack and Emily, I'm sad that Emily turned him down but I understood her reasoning.
  • I continue to dislike Tyler and I think he may not be who he says is and I hope that Emily takes care of him soon.
  • I liked that Charolette and Declan got together in this episode.
  • I'm sad that it seems like Emily and Nolan won't be working together anymore since I really like it when the two of them ineract.
Please tell me your thoughts on the episode.

Friday, November 11, 2011

TV Review: Grimm:Beeware(1.03)

                                                         Grimm:Beeware(1.03)Review
  • In this episode there is a bee creature that are attacking lawyers who are also known as hexon beast using flash mobs.
  • I liked that Nick investigates the case first  and through that learns that it's related to the fairytale creatures rather then assume it is. I also like that Nick does research to help solve the case.
  • In the scenes in Melissa's house I agreed with Monroe's comments that it felt like a horror movie.
  • I was glad to learn that the blonde women who tried to kill Marie in the first episode is a hexon beast named Adline Shade. I also just realized that she's working with Nick's boss.
  • It came as a surprise to me that the bee creatures were trying to protect Nick by killing the hexon beasts and I'm really curious about who will be coming after Nick now.
  • I enjoyed seeing Nick feel conflicted about doing his job and doing his duty as a Grimm, I'm guessing this will be a theme through out the season.
  • I think that this episode is my favorite so far.
Please tell me your thoughts on the episode.

Top 8 Books outside of my comfort zone

1.Catch 22: I dislike war movies so I figure I would dislike this book but I'm happy to report that I was wrong and I loved this book I found it extremely funny and the characters were interesting.
2.Reading in the Dark: I don't usually read historical fiction and this was surely historical fiction and I loved the story of this dsyfunctional family.
3.The Glass Castle: I don't usally read non-fiction but I kind of loved this book.
4.Vampire Knight: This book was the first manga I've ever read and I loved and I now own over 100 volumes of manga but I've stopped reading Vampire Knight because I only care about one plotline.
5.Impulse: I'm not really a fan of poetry but I loved this book and I also love Identical which is written by the same author.
6.Slaughter House Five: Another war book I enjoyed it but not as much as Catch 22.
7.Heart of Darkness: I'm not interested in the topic of this book and I hated how it ended up being more about the setting then the plot or characters.
8.Brave New World:I don't usually read books that involve a lot of sex but I loved this book probably because it didn't really describe the act and it was dsystopian.

Thursday, November 10, 2011

TV Review: Vampire Diaries:Homecoming(3.09)

                                              Vampire Diaries:Homecoming(3.09)Review


  • I really enjoyed seeing Stefan, Damon and Elena working together, I didn't realize I missed their dynmic until this episode.
  • I loved Rebecca in this episode, I liked how she told her father that he's the one that ruined their family and I felt bad for when she admitted she never been to a school dance before, I'm sad that she's dead now and hopes she comes back soon.
  • I liked that Damon saying Elena is like Katherine is considered a compliment to him, to me it proves he still loves Katherine.
  • I'm so happy that Katherine's still alive and She was great in this episode as usual, I knew it was her and not Elena since her first conversation with Klaus.
  • I'm kind of sad that Caroline and Tyler broke up but I understand why they did.
  • I thought that the plan they had with Micheal was actually really good and I'm a little dissapointed that it didn't work since a I'm pretty much sick of Klaus.
  • The scene with Klaus and his father made me feel sympathy for him.
  • I was surprised that Klaus somehow made it so that Damon would die if he did and I was even more surprised that Katherine cared for him enough to convince Stefan to interfer with the plan to kill Klaus. This made me so happy because Damon and Katherine is my favorite couple and it proved she kind of loves him and Stefan and Damon is my favorite realationship of the show.
  • I'm glad that Stefan has his humanity turned back on and I'm curious about what he's going to do with the originals in the coffins, I hope he brings Elijah back.
  • I was sad not see Jeremy or Alaric in this episode.

Please tell me your thoughts on the episode.

Saturday, November 5, 2011

TV Review: The Fades(1.03)

                                                             The Fades(1.03)Review
  • I thought it was really weird that Paul grew wings when he was mastrubating.
  • I was sad that everyone forgot Mac's birthday but I'm glad Paul tried to make up for it the next day.
  • I felt bad for Paul when his sister was insulting him and I was weirded out that he was able to zip her mouth shut some how, I thought it was weird that his sister only reaction was to call him a freak.
  • I found it interesting that there's alot more angelics then we orignally thought there were and it's interesting that their all gathering together now.
  • It was interesting to see that Paul is now able to get vision while he's awake and they give him seizures.
  • I'm a little worry that Paul may die and I really hope doesn't.
  • I'm interested in the man from Paul's vision who awoke from that sack thing at the end of the episode. Also I was happy to see Joe Dempise in something again I know him from playing Chris on Skins and Will from that one episode of Merlin.
Please tell me your thoughts on the episode.

TV Review: Secret Circle:Beneath(1.08)

                                                Secret Circle:Beneath(1.08)Review
  • I was glad to learn that Dawn and Charles are back to trying to get their magic back and I'm glad they have a crystal again.
  • I found it interesting that Faye's Grandfather's magic was able to lead them to his body.
  • I'm glad that the circle is taking the threat of the witch hunters seriously. I also loved that Adam doesn't trust Jake because it's true that he's untrstworthy.
  • For some reason I kind of like the idea of Cassie and Jake even though I hate Jake.
  • I really enjoyed seeing Charles being all badass again and I like his reasons for disliking Jane. I'm also curious how controling Jane's memory is going to work out.
  • I still really like Adam and Diana and I hope they get back together someday.
  • I thought that Phoebe Tonkin did a great job in the scenes when Faye was out in the rain and when she told her Mom that her Grandfather died.
  • I was sad that Melissa wasn't in this episode.
Please tell me your thoughts on the episode.

Book Review: Wicked Lovely

                                                       Wicked Lovely Review

The book Wicked Lovely is about a girl named Aislinn who can see fairies and most of the fairies she sees are pretty violent so she does her best to stay away from them. But a fairy named Keenan believes that Aislinn is the one who’s destined to rule by his side as the summer queen. Aislinn has no interest in him and would rather be with Seth an older guy with a lot of piercing and Keenan is still love with Donia who became the winter girl after failing the test to become the summer queen.

I really liked the characters of Keenan and Donia, theior two characters I think that were put in tough positions but are doing the best they can to cope with it, also I love them as a couple. I’m okay with Aislinn in this book but she didn’t strike me as anything special. I think Seth is just there to be a perfect boyfriend to Aislinn which bothers me a bit and I think those two make a boring couple. I overall enjoyed the book and I found learning about fairy royalty to be very interesting. Please tell me your thoughts on the book.

TV Review:Grimm:Bears Will be Bears(1.02)

                                              Grimm:Bears Will be Bears(1.02)Review      
  • In this episode the case is based off of Goldie Locks and the Three Bears, I thought that the show did a good job of updating the story.
  • I liked that the story with the people who we're trying to kill Marie last episode is on going and I believe it was confirmed that they were called reapers.
  • I continue to love Nick as a character and I'm glad that he used his profiling skills again. I also found his relationship between him and Juliet to be sweet.
  • I think it's interesting that Nick seems to have dreams that can tell him more about the case.
  • I liked that Monroe complains about helping Nick but he does it none the less.
  • I liked that Nick's goal isn't to kill the fairytale creatures but to stop them from hurting anyone.
  • I was sad that Marie died but she was badass til the end.
Please tell me your thoughts on the episode.

Friday, November 4, 2011

TV Review: Vampire Diaries:Ordinary People(3.08)

                                 Vampire Diaries:Ordinary People(3.08)Review                        
·         I enjoyed learning about the originals and how they came to be. It was interesting to learn that the original witch was part of the original family but she didn’t turn because one can’t be a vampire and a witch at the same time.
·         I really enjoyed seeing the relationship between Rebecca and Klaus, also I kind of love human Klaus and this episode helped me understand his character more.
·         I loved seeing Elijah again and I hope we see him in present day again soon and I liked the scene were Klaus, Rebecca and Elijah joined together.
·         I loved Rebecca in this episode and I felt like this episode gave her a lot more depth.
·         I loved that Damon and Stefan were together for basically the whole episode because before this episode I was really disappointed with the lack of scenes between those two. Also for  some reason their scenes kind of reminded me of History Repeating.
·         I find Michal to be really creepy and I’m not sure they made the right choice in waking him up. But I loved that he was able to make Stefan show some emotion.
·         I loved the scene were Damon and Stefan tell each other their humanity is showing and I loved that Damon seemed to be more upset by this then Stefan.
·         I also loved that at the end of the episode Elena told Damon that Stefan loves him more then he loves her. I really hope that by the end of the series it’s proven that Damon and Stefan love each other more then anyone else.
·         I was disappointed that Caroline and Jeremy weren’t in this episode.
Please tell me your thoughts on the episode.

Thursday, November 3, 2011

Book Review:1984

                                                                 1984 Review
The book 1984 is about a dystopian society were everyone is equal but this means that most of the citizens are poor. In this society the leader known as Big Brother makes sure that the citizens not even have a thought of disloyalty and if a person does they are erased. The main character of the book Winston is sure that the history has been altered but there’s no proof of this and through out the book Winston begins to dislike Big Brother more and more which leads him to try to join a rebellion known as the Brotherhood.

In the end Winston is taken by the thought police and he is tortured and re-educated to love Big Brother and forget the errors in logic that concern the past. I overall enjoyed this book, especially the last part that involved the torture and the thought police. I also thought it was really different that the book ended up with Big Brother winning. Please tell me your thoughts on the book.

Tuesday, November 1, 2011

Top 10 Books I Had Strong Feelings About

1. Perks of being a Wallflower: I absolutely loved this book and I couldn’t help but feel for Charlie and adore the way he sees the world.

2. The Iliad: I completely hated this book and all of the characters. The characters were horrible people and the plot didn’t really make much sense.

3. The Odyssey: I hated this book and the characters even more then I did with The Iliad.

4. Heart of Darkness: I hated this book because it focused far to much on the setting and had horrible format. I also hated that everything was a metaphor, seriously this book made me question whether or not the word the meant the.

5. The Book Thief: this book first made me love all the major characters and then breaks my heart when kills almost all of them off towards the end.

6. The Lying Game: I felt intrigued through out the whole book and it was nearly impossible to put down.

7. Hunger Games: Honestly this book disappointed me while I enjoyed it, I never felt it went far enough and it just ended up seeming like a less interesting version of Battle Royale.

8.Catch 22: This book made me feel conflicted because on one hand it’s really funny but on the other hand very serious things are happening and people are dying but I laughed so much while I reading this book.

9.Gallagher Girls: This series overall just makes me happy, I mean there are of course moments of sadness and other feelings but overall it makes me happy.

10. Heist Society: This book makes me feel pretty much the same as the Gallagher Girls series but I think I may enjoy this book even more.

Monday, October 31, 2011

TV Review:The Fades(1.02)

                                                                           The Fades(1.02)Review
  • I really enjoyed Mac giving a recap at the beginning of the episode.
  • I found it really disturbing that the fades eat people alive in order to be able to touch.
  • I was glad to see Paul struggle with trying to say goodbye and in the end I like that he choose to try and live two separate lives.
  • I continue to love the random conversations and the friendship between Paul and Mac.
  • I liked that we got to learn more about Mac and his home life.
  • I find it interesting that Paul seems to be able to heal things at certain times and I wonder what makes him so special.
  • I also continue to like relationship between Paul and Jay.
  • I felt bad for Sara having to watch her husband with someone else but I wonder if she's going to be important to the overall plot.
  • I was worried about Neil towards the end of the episode but it appears he has lived through the attack.
Please tell me your thoughts on this episode.

TV Review: Revenge:Guilt(1.05)

                                                         Revenge:Guilt(1.05)Review
  • In this episode Lydia comes back to reclaim her place but in the end she’s tricked, scorned and killed for her efforts.
  • I was worried that Lydia would find exposed Emily’s true identity and I’m glad that my worries were unfounded.
  • I’m glad that Daniel found out about Tyler’s lies and that he doesn’t want to be like his parents. I'm also happy that Emily and Daniel made up.
  • I’m glad that Charolette still hasn’t forgiven Victoria about what she said about her yet.
  • I liked that Nolan takes the promises he made to Amanda’s dad seriously about looking after her and I was glad that it was confirmed he’s most definitely against murder which makes me wonder is Emily against it or not.
  • I’m also curious about weather Frank’s way of dealing with things was suppose to be murder but I wonder what else he could have possibly meant and I wonder how the Graysons would feel if they saw Nolan’s tape.
Please tell me your thoughts on the episode.

Sunday, October 30, 2011

TV Review: Revenge:Duplicity(1.04)

                                                     Revenge:Duplicity(1.04)Review

  • In this episode Emily destroys a therapist named Michelle Banks and I have to say I probably hate her the most so far.
  • In this episode Daniel’s friend Tyler screws up Daniel’s relationship with Emily and manipulates him into drinking again. I really dislike Tyler.
  • I enjoyed the scenes between Emily and Jack and I wouldn’t mind the two of them getting together, also I find it kind of funny that Nolan seems to ship them.
  • I thought that Charolette and Declan were sweet in the scenes they shared with each other.
  • I felt really bad for Charolette in the scene were the video revealed that Victoria wish she never had a second child and I really dislike Victoria for that scene and the one were she makes sure Amanda would be put in a mental hospital for the rest of her childhood.
  • I also liked how Emily seems to be trying to frame Victoria as the person who's destroying everyones lives now.
Please tell me your thoughts on the episode.

TV Review:Secret Circle:Masked(1.07)

                                                                                Secret Circle:Masked(1.07)Review
  • I think that Jake is an evil psycho because of the glee he took in murdering the shopkeeper Mr.Wilson and he didn’t seem to care much about his brother’s death.
  • I’m glad that the show is showing that Melissa is still mourning Nick and I’m glad she told Jake off for not being around.
  • I liked seeing more of Adam’s dad in this episode.
  • For some odd reason this episode made me ship Adam and Diana even more and I really hope they can end up together in the end.
  • I think that the show is going to have Cassie’s dad be the same person he was in the book which I think would make things interesting.
  • I was surprised that Luke was a witch hunter and I was surprised with Cassie having some sort of dark magic in her and her killing him.
  • I disliked Faye going after Jake again but it seems like she’s going to stop doing that after this episode.
  • I enjoyed the scene with Faye and Melissa making the bats come alive.
  • The scene towards the end of the episode were Adam basically tells Diana that she’s his everything made me cry.
  • I’m curious about who stole the crystal at the end of the episode.
Please tell me your thoughts on the episode.

Friday, October 28, 2011

TV Review: Grimm:Pilot(1.01)

                                                                                     Grimm:Pilot(1.01)Review
  • I really liked how the show was able to balance the cop part and the fairytales are really parts of the plot.
  • I think that Nick is a really good main character, I loved how well he was able to profile that girl at the beginning, that he wishes to only be married once, and I liked that he was really determined to solve the case. I also liked that even though he’s having a hard time expecting things that his main goal is to still save the little girl.
  • I liked all the allusions to Little Red Riding Hood through out the episode and I’m glad that it never really seemed forced.
  • I really liked Nick’s aunt Marie and I’m glad that she woke up from her coma at the end of the episode.
  • I liked Nick’s partner Hank and I liked the relationship those two had with each other.
  • I liked the character Monroe I found him to be funny and quite knowledgeable.
  • I thought that the man that was the big bad wolf was very creepy and I’m so glad that the little girl was saved at the end of the episode.
  • I found it interesting that the blonde women whose some sort of creature is a lawyer who hopes to become a senior partner, I wonder if this is a reference to Angel. I’m also glad that she and the guy at the end seem like their going to be the main villains of the series or season.
Please tell me your thoughts on the episode.

Thursday, October 27, 2011

TV Review: Vampire Diaries:Ghost World(3.07)

                                        Vampire Diaries: Ghost World(3.07)Review
  • I loved this episode and it’s my favorite of the season so far.
  • I loved all the Jeremy and Anna interaction. I loved that they kissed, I was happy to learn that despite everything they still love each other and I almost cried when they let each other go.
  • I was sad that Anna had to leave but I was happy that she was able to find her mother and I hope that their able to find peace.
  • I really enjoyed seeing all the past characters come back and I was interested in the roles they played in each characters life.
  • I loved seeing Lexi again and I wish she could have stayed. I loved all her scenes and I loved seeing another side of her relationship with Stefan.
  • I liked that this episode had Elena not giving up on Stefan but at the same time she said she won’t wait forever. I also liked that this episode confirmed that Stefan can be reached.
  • I was so happy that Grams came back explained to Bonnie what the price was for bring Jeremy back and I’m glad that she was able to help Bonnie set things right.
  • I actually liked Bonnie quite a bit in this episode and I felt bad for her when she found out about Jeremy and Anna. I thought she did the right thing in the end when she broke up with Jeremy and I enjoyed seeing more her and Caroline’s friendship.
  • I really liked that Mason came back to help with finding a weapon that can kill Klaus and I liked that this episode confirmed that despite his flaws he really did care for Tyler. I also enjoy that what he wanted was redemption.
  • I liked the scene towards the end were it seems that Damon and Alaric repaired their friendship at least a little bit.
  • I’m intrigued by whatever it is they found in the cellar at the end of the episode.
Please tell me your thoughts on the episode.

Saturday, October 22, 2011

TV Review: Ringer:A Whole New Kind of Bitch(1.05)

                                       Ringer:A Whole New Kind of Bitch(1.05)Review

In this episode Bridget tries to convince Gemma to keep her secret and Gemma tries to get Bridget to trigger the infidelity clause in the pre nub. Also in this episode Andrew’s daughter Juliet is back and still has a drug problem and hates Sioban. Elsewhere Malcom is still being torture for information but he’s still not saying anything and it looks like he may have been killed for his silence. At the end of the episode we see a lot of blood in Henry’s apartment and I wouldn’t be surprised if he had killed Gemma.

I overall really liked the plot involving Juliet, I like how she parallels Bridget in some ways and it gave us a little more information on Sioban and Andrew’s past. I sort of liked and sort disliked the parts with Gemma but I could understand why she acted the way she did. Please tell me your thoughts on the episode.

Friday, October 21, 2011

TV Review: The Fades(1.01)

                                                                  The Fades(1.01)Review
  • I found the whole idea of the show to be really interesting especially the part were the fades are just dead people who didn’t ascend but there neither good nor bad just dead. I’m interested in finding out what the creatures that attack at the began and end of the episode is and why it’s different then the other fades.
  • I really liked the friendship between Paul and Mac. I enjoy there conversations like when Mac keeps talking about Paul’s problems in movie terms and when Paul talks about who he wants to write his life story.
  • I really liked the character of Paul and I liked the way he came to terms with seeing the dead and possibly the future. I also felt really bad for him in the scene with his therapist when says he just wants to not see things.
  • I liked the scene between Paul and his sister’s friend were they talk about being different.
  • For some reason I like Paul’s sister who comes off as a dumb bitch but maybe that’s why I find her entertaining also she’s played by Lilly Loveless who I know from Skins.
  • I liked that there’s already a group of people with the sight who are fighting the fades and I’m glad that the one guy seems like he’s going to be a mentor for Paul.
  • I’m curious as to why Sara was unable to cross over and I wonder what kind of role she’s going to play since she’s already dead.
Please tell me your thoughts.

TV Review: Revenge:Betrayal(1.03)

                                                      Revenge:Betrayal(1.03)Review
  • In this episode Emily destroys senator Kingsly and Victoria may have unwilling helped with destroying his career but Emily made sure that his whole life was ruined.
  • I can’t help but like Daniel because he clearly regrets what he’s done in the past and he has changed and he wants make amends. I wouldn’t blame Emily if she really fell for him.
  • I was surprised that Victoria tried to save Emily’s father when she found evidence that proved his innocence.
  • For some reason I love every single scene between Emily and Nolan, I think it’s because he’s the only person she’s honest with.
  • I liked that Declan decide not send Charolette the prove of her boyfriend cheating on her.
  • I was sad that Jack lost his father and I really like the connection he has with Emily.
Please tell me your thoughts on the episode.

TV Review: The Secret Circle:Wake(1.06)

                                               The Secret Circle:Wake(1.06)Review
  • I loved that Charles remind remorseful through out the episode.
  • I knew Jake was bad news and I’m not surprised that he’s a witch hunter. Also I think the lead witch hunter is played by the same guy who plays Alison’s dad on Teen Wolf.
  • I for some reason I really liked that Adam hated Jake so much, I think that it’s because Adam’s reason for hating is because he took advantage of his dad.
  • I’m glad that Melissa mourned throughout the episode.
  • My heart completely broke Diana during and after she broke up with Adam. Weirdly cried more for Diana being alone then I did when Nick died.
  • I don’t get why they made it seem Faye may still like Jake but I like to think that she swore off guys after her relationship with him.
  • I overall really liked this episode and I think it's the best one since Bound.

TV Review:Vampire Diaries:Smells Like Teen Spirit(3.06)

                                       Vampire Diaries:Smells Like Teen Spirit(3.06)Review
  • I loved Elena so much in this episode. I think she was really strong, determined and I thought she was really funny when she was pretending to be drunk.
  • I’m so happy that Rebecca was in this episode and I continue to love her.
  • I liked Vicki and Matt’s relationship but I’m glad that he made her go back over to the other side when he realized that she was going to kill Elena.
  • For some odd reason this episode made me ship Stefan and Elena even more. I loved that even though he lost his humanity he still saved her.
  • I’m worried about Tyler and his attachment to Klaus. I’m also worried about his character regressing and that causing problems in his relationship with Caroline.
  • I loved that Anna and Jeremy can’t stop thinking about each other and loved them holding hands at the end.
  • I find it terrifying that Michael only feeds on vampire’s blood and I really really hope Katherine isn’t dead.
  • I’m curious how Mason came back but I can understand why he wants to get his revenge against Damon.
Please tell me your thoughts on the episode.

Tuesday, October 18, 2011

Top 7 Books I read because of the Title or the Cover


1.I’d Tell You I Love You but then I’d Have to Kill You and Cross My Heart Hope to Spy: I love both of these titles and their the reason I started the series and I’m glad I did.
2.Wicked Lovely: I love these covers and their the reason I’ve started the series, I’ve only read the first two books so far but I love all the covers.

3.The Summoning: The cover is also what made me read the book.

4.Entwined: I haven’t read or bought this book but I want to because I think the cover is gorgeous.





5.Tsubasa Reservoir Chronicle: I love the cover of this series which is why I read the series and I’m really glad I did. The artwork’s gorgeous but it’s by Clamp so I should’ve been expecting that.

6.The Legend of Princess Sakura: The artwork is gorgeous and there isn’t even much of a plot summery on the back cover.


7.Gentlemen’s Alliance +: Really like the artwork.