Saturday, June 30, 2018

TV Review: School 2017

                                                           School 2017 Review
School 2017 like the other entries in the School franchise spends the series dealing with issues of a variety of students who are in the same class. Our main character in this series is Ra Eun ho a student who doesn't study well and has a tendency to get into trouble but is very good at drawing and is determined to achieve her dreams. At the school there is a mysterious figure called X who causes trouble for the school by playing pranks and revealing all the injustices that take place at school and one Eun ho stumbles upon X in the teacher's office and she ends up being accused of being X. Eun ho is tasked with the job of finding out who X is afterwards in order to clear her name but she ends up helping with X's plans instead since she believes he stands for justice.

Eun ho ends up developing a friendship with Hyun Tae woon who is the son of the Chairman of the school which allows him to get a way with things that other students wouldn't, he doesn't have good grades either and has a bit of rebellious attitude. At first Eun ho doesn't like Tae woon much but after she gets to know him better she learns that he isn't the person she assumed he was at first and the two of them end up becoming very close and partners in a way. After awhile Tae woon realizes that he has a crush on Eun ho so he confesses to her and while she takes awhile to realize her feelings she does accept his confession in the end.
Another character that receives a lot of focus in this series is Song Dae hwi who is the first ranked student in the class who comes from a poor background. Dae hwi feels like he has to spend a lot of time helping out Kim Hee chan a rich student that is ranked second in the class because he needs money in order to afford extra classes and counseling that are vital for getting into the top rated school that he needs to get into to succeed. Dae hwi spends a good part of the series feeling like he has to do things that he doesn't want to do for Hee chan because he believes that he needs him to succeed even though doing those things eat away at him. In the last part of the series Dae hwi is able to finally pull himself a way from Hee chan and to reconnect with an old friend and make new genuine friends which helps him to become a much happier person.

There is also a plot thread about how Tae woon and Dae hwi used to be very close friends but aren't anymore because of what happened surrounding the death of their best friend and how they didn't understand or approve of the other's actions around that time. This plot was clearly made to try and recapture the magic of Nam soon and Heung soo's relationship from School 2013 and while I really do enjoy the plot in this drama as well it still doesn't hold a candle to that relationship because there wasn't enough time devoted to Tae woon and Dae hwi's relationship and they just don't have the same amount of chemistry that Nam soon and Heung soo did. Even though it didn't compare to what came before it, I still did love the relationship and was happy to see the two reconcile and become friends again.

Another plot thread dealt with a quiet student named Seo Bo ra who feels like the deck is stacked against her so high that there isn't any point in fighting for herself when other students try to make them take the fall for her. Eun ho ends up reaching out to Bo ra and this helps her to find her voice again and to believe that she can fight for herself again now that she has a friend by her side.

Overall I really loved this series for all the different characters, stories and relationships that it had in it even the ones that I didn't mention in this review. There are so many things to love about this series that I think watching it is well worth your time. Please tell me your thoughts in the comment section below and what series in the School franchise is your favorite.

Friday, June 1, 2018

Book Review: Turtles All the Way Down

                                          Turtles All the Way Down Review
Turtles All the Way Down is about a high school student named Aza who suffers from some form of an anxiety disorder which keeps her stuck in her head most of the time worrying about all the different ways that she could catch C.diff which it's somewhat implied that this is what her father died of suddenly when she was younger. One day Aza ends up being convinced by her best friend Daisy that she should try to reconnect with her childhood friend Davis who's rich father had disappeared recently and the police are offering a hundred thousand dollar reward to anyone who has information on how to find him. Davis is happy to see Aza again even though he knows that she most likely is only talking to him again because of what happened to his father and Aza finds that she actually does like spending time with Davis even though she can't understand why he would like to spend time with someone who is as stuck in her own head as she is.

Aza ends up dating Davis for awhile and while it seems to work okay as long as they're just talking to each other she finds it hurt to enjoy holding his hand or kissing him even though part of her desires to do those things with him because all she can think about is how many germs are being spread through that action. In the second half of the novel Aza also ends up getting into a fight with her friend Daisy about how they can't really understand how the other sees the world but they end up making up and being a little more aware of how each other thinks about things. Things between Aza and Davis don't seem to work out because Aza can't really date someone in the normal way and she doesn't want Davis to date her and hope that someday she will get better.

Overall a I really enjoyed this book the characters really stood out and I was invested in them and the relationships that they formed with each other. I thought that the writing was good and really let us get to know what it's like to be stuck in Aza's head with her. Please tell me your thoughts on this book in the comment section below.

Thursday, May 31, 2018

TV Review: Just Between Lovers

                                                       Just Between Lovers
Just Between Lovers is about how Ha Moon soo and Lee Gang doo who are survivors from when a mall collapse thirteen years before the series started and how they are still dealing with the trauma that comes from what happened that day in different ways. Moon soo doesn't remember anything about the accident since she lost her memories of that time due to a head injury but since her younger sister who was also at the mall died that day she is suffering from a lot of guilt and her sister's death ended up destroying her parents marriage and damaging her relationships with her parents in different ways. Gang doo who was the last person to be rescued from the mall collapse is haunted by memories of what happened since he was the down there for nearly a week and spent several days with a dead body which is why he still suffers from nightmares and hears voices in his head that tells him he doesn't deserve to live well. Gong doo also received a pretty bad leg injury from having a piece of rebar stuck through his leg which well he can walk is something that still gives him trouble to this day.

Moon soo who works building small models for architect ends up being asked to work for the company that is rebuilding on the sight of the mall collapse which is something that she is understandable weary to be apart of considering what she went through there. Gang doo who hears about the construction makes sure that he works on the site and ends up destroying the memorial at the site which he gets found out for doing by the architect but he isn't arrested for since the architect thinks it would be a good idea to have someone like Gang doo around so that he doesn't over look something and that ends up causing another accident to happen in the future. Moon soo and Gang doo end up running into each other around this time and Gang doo ends up recognizing her from that day which makes him interested in her but she doesn't remember him at all and at first finds him to be rude but after awhile starts to see him as a good person.

As time goes on Moon soo and Gang doo end up spending more time together and learning more about each other and finding that they like each other and that being together is somewhat healing for them. When things first seem like they are going well in their developing relationship Gang doo starts to pull away from Moon soo because he doesn't actually believe that he deserves good things and thinks he'll ruin her in the end so once she figures out what he's doing she has to work hard to convince him otherwise.

Overall this series was really good it had a great character driven story about the leads overcoming their past traumas by falling in love and putting the past behind them. There were also a ton of great supporting characters in this series as well who all had their own storylines that I found myself caring about as well. This series also had some great performances by the leads as well which made the already great writing even better. Please tell me your thoughts about this series in the comment section below.

Book Review: Literally

                                                          Literally Review
Literally is about a girl named Annabelle Burns who has had a pretty perfect life so far but this starts to change after an author visits her creative writing class and the author tells her that she's writing Annabelle's life. Annabelle's life starts to get out of her control when her parents announce that they are getting splitting up and a new boy in Annabelle's class named Will seems like he's completely perfect for her and the two of them keeping getting thrown together in very contrived situation which makes Annabelle question just how real Will actually is.

Once Annabelle starts to suspect that her life is part of a YA novel she does her best to resist following along with the plot that the author has set up for her and makes her realize that she wants different things out of life than she thought she did. Annabelle starts to realize that she has feelings for her brother's annoying friend Elliot who is so not the kind of guy that Annabelle feels like she should fall for but since she wants to rebel against the author she feels drawn to him in a way she normally wouldn't be.

This book had a great premise to with the main character discovering that she is a fictional character but since Annabelle doesn't really spend a lot of time questioning whether or not she's really real and she really isn't treated all that badly by the author so it's just that the concept isn't dealt with as interesting as it could have been. The book ends up being about mostly about Annabelle getting to decide who she wants to date rather than really having the story address issues of agency over her life in general, I actually think that Will's character spends more time trying to break free of his character mold than Annabelle's does and that ends up making his character more interesting.

Overall this book was a light and fun read that had a really great premise behind it that could have been dealt with in a more interesting way. If anyone thinks that the premise of a character finding out they are fictional is an interesting one I would recommend watching the Korean drama W: Two Worlds which deals with the same concept but in a much more interesting and darker way than this book does. Please tell me your thoughts about this book in the comment section below.

TV Review: Shadowhunters: Iron Sisters(2.06)

                                       Shadowhunters: Iron Sisters(2.06)Review
  • I liked that the episode opened up with showing us who the iron sisters were and what they do before we meet them later on in the episode.
  • I like that Jace and Clary are trying to figure out were the rune she used last episode came from since they have no idea where it came from.
  • I don't understand why Jace thinks it's such a bad idea to tell Izzy about the rune that Clary created because there's no way she would tell the clave about it which is why I can understand not telling Alec since he might tell the Clave about it since it's legally what you should do.
  • I'm glad that Raphael agrees to wipe Simon's mom's memories about him being a vampire.
  • I like that Clary tells Izzy that she's sorry that she stabbed and I like that Izzy told her that she didn't need to say sorry since she saved her from a demon.
  • I like that Clary asks Izzy to join the mission to visit the iron sisters because she wants to be able to do something to defeat Valentine since he's the reason why her mom is dead.
  • I like that when Aldertree suggested that Izzy spies on Clary that she is firmly against but sadly she somewhat agrees that because she's craving more yin fen.
  • I like that Simon called Clary to tell her what happened at home and I like that Clary is still upset that he and Luke weren't allowed to come to Jocelyn's funeral. I like that when Clary was worrying about Luke still not showing up that Simon promised that he would find her.
  • I like that Magnus sends Alec a fire message that tells him he has an emergency in order to get Alec to come over because he knows Alec is hurting and is working around the clock to avoid his feelings. I like that Magnus suggests that they go on a date now because it's important to make time for the important things.
  • I like that Maia also wants to find Luke and that she reluctantly agrees that Simon and her can go look for Luke together.
  • I like that when Simon started rambling that Maia asks if he always talks this much that he tells her that he does only when he's nervous and she asked why he would be nervous that he says that it's his natural state.
  • I liked that when the iron sisters were doubting that Clary was really one their side since she's Valentine's daughter that she tells them that she wants to defeat him more than anyone since he killed her mother and experiment on her brother.
  • I like that when Magnus tells Alec that he's not much of a beer drinker that Alec tells him he's not much of a drinker at all.
  • I like that we get to see Alec and Magnus go on their first date together which was fun to watch.
  • I like how Simon and Maia tell each other about their awkward experiences with being a vampire and being a werewolf and bond over that.
  • I don't find it surprising at all that Alec has never been in a relationship before but I also understand why Magnus finds it surprising since he probably hasn't been someone's first relationship ever before.
  • I was glad that Clary was able to pass the test for being free demonic energy but I was sad that Izzy failed the test because of the yin fen which she didn't know was demonic.
  • I was glad that one of the sisters told Izzy how dangerous yin fen is and that is not something that will ever heal someone.
  • I liked that Alec told Magnus that he didn't date partially because he didn't want to feel like something was wrong with him and I like that Magnus tells Alec that there is nothing wrong with him or with being inexperienced.
  • I find it funny how when Magnus said that he had 17 exes which Alec thought it was no big deal then he thinks he means 17 hundred then 17 thousand which Alec clearly thinks is an unfathomable amount of exes.
  • I like that it turns out that Luke was the one that taught Maia how to control herself which is why she's so loyal to him.
  • I find it frightening that when wielded by an angelic being that the soul sword could wipe out the entire downworlder population.
  • I like that Clary trust the Iron sister who is Luke's sister with asking her about her new rune that she couldn't tell her much about.
  • I like that Simon is able to talk Luke down when he's in wolf form by talking about a memory of the two of them along with Clary and Jocelyn going camping.
  • I like that Alec and Magnus decide that they want to give their relationship a go regardless of how different they are or how many people they have or haven't been with.
  • I dislike that Aldertree basically blackmailed Jace to leave the institute but I like that he came to Magnus's when he needed a place to stay.
  • I like how Simon and Maia tell Luke that they need him to come back with them and I like that he agrees after Maia tells him to draw strength from his loved ones.
  • I dislike how Aldertree acts like he didn't do anything wrong when he gave Izzy yin fen which is clearly not true.
  • I dislike that Luke sister killed her fellow iron sister because it seems like she is loyal to Valentine.
Please tell me your thoughts on this episode.

Sunday, April 29, 2018

TV Review: Nightmare Teacher

                                                    Nightmare Teacher Review
Nightmare Teacher is about how when a new teacher comes in to teach a high school class and starts convincing students that clearly desperately want something to come down to the counseling office to have private sessions with him. The teacher ends up using supernatural means to give the students exactly what they want whether it be to get back old friends, have as many chances as they need to win a fight, everything they write to become reality, the ability to absorb more knowledge better and more quickly or be even more pretty, and then tells the students that they can keep getting what they want as long s they sign a contract with him. The students end up violating the contract somehow or want out of the contract and then they end up trapped in their own nightmares.

The class president Kang Ye rim along with her maybe boyfriend Seo Sang woo start to notice that something is happening in there class once they start noticing odd things happening with their classmates and that there are empty desks in their classrooms. Over the course of the series Ye rim becomes more and more sure that something is making her classmates disappear and it has something to do with the new teacher and the counseling office, since everyone's memories are erased each time someone fails to complete their contract it takes most of the series for her to figure out what is happening to her classmates.

Overall I really liked this series, I enjoyed how each two episodes were centered on one character that we get to know really well pretty quickly and I liked seeing how things ended up unraveling very quickly in the second half of their stories. I enjoyed the concept of the series that dealt with characters getting exactly what they want and then once they get it they figure out that they didn't actually want it and that something else was really more important. Please tell me your thoughts on this series as well.

TV Review: The 100: God Complex(4.08)

                                              The 100: God Complex(4.08)Review
  • I liked that while Raven, Abby and Jackson were all shown to not feel right about testing the nightblood while Clarke knows that they have to do it in order to find out if they can survive with it and I like that Emori and Murphy don't feel the need to questions the morals behind this decision at all since if it lets them survive that's all that matters in the end.
  • I was sad that it looks like the nightblood solution isn't going to work but since there's still ten days before the death wave comes I'm not surprised that they haven't found the solution yet.
  • I like that Jaha was shown giving a funeral for those who died from the black rain the day before.
  • I liked that when Bellamy saw that Jasper was leaving camp on his own without a med tent that he went with him because he knows how dangerous it is out there and is worried about Jasper dying even if Jasper doesn't share those concerns.
  • I like that it looks like there might be a different bunker that the doomsday cult had that Jaha is intent on finding that could save them all.
  • I like that since the mission to find the flame keeper in order to find the bunker requires thinkers rather than fighters that Kane and Jaha chose Monty to go on the mission.
  • I felt sad for Harper when she came to see that Monty was leaving for a mission and it was clear that she didn't see a way for either of them to survive the death wave so it's clear she doesn't like the idea of them spending anymore time apart.
  • I like that it looks like Abby might be able to find a way to use nightblood as a solution still but I dislike that they're going to have to find a new person to test it on.
  • I was really worried when it was revealed to everyone else that Emori lied about who the guy that they tested the nightblood was and I hate that they're thinking about testing it on her but I liked that Murphy tries to stop them from doing it to her but sadly all that does is getting him locked up along with her.
  • I like how Jasper tells Bellamy that it's pointless to feel guilty about every bad thin you've done in the past when in a couple of days their all going to be dead and that he thinks that they should spend their last days doing whatever the hell they want.
  • I like that Bellamy doesn't really get Jasper's point of view of nothing mattering because everyone's going to die because Bellamy is trying so desperately to make sure as many people as possible will survive while Jasper is welcoming death which I think is something that Bellamy now sees is the reason behind Jasper's behavior.
  • I like that Raven is against the idea of them testing nightblood again because she sees what happens when they fail to basically just be murder that is ultimately pointless.
  • I like that Luna is flat out refusing to let them use her blood to do anymore testing with nightblood because she doesn't want to be the cause of anyone's death again.
  • I liked that Raven points out that taking bone marrow from an unwilling Luna is similar to what Mount Weather used to do.
  • I liked that Kane pointed out to Indra that the radiation doesn't care which side your on so keep up the war now doesn't make much sense.
  • I like that Indra's daughter is able to lead them to the temple which is where they believe the bunker is.
  • I dislike how Indra kills all those guys when they could have gotten through without killing anyone but I understand the logic behind killing them since if there is a bunker there they wouldn't give it up if they were still alive. I like that Monty points out to Kane that their going to think the sky people were behind the killing since Indra used Monty's gun.
  • I like that Roan told Clarke that she was born to lead because she doesn't back away from things when it gets hard and I like that Clarke tells him that it's always hard, I like that Roan tells Clarke how they have to do this so that they'll know that they did everything they could to ensure that their people live.
  • I like that Jasper is able to convince Bellamy to join the party for a little bit and let someone else worry about saving the world for once.
  • I liked that when Emori told Murphy that he should pretend to be okay with what their doing to her so that he doesn't give them a reason to make him the next test subject, that Murphy tells her that he will kill Clarke if she lays a hand on Emori.
  • I like that Murphy begs everyone he comes in the room to take Emori away not to go through with the testing and I like that when he was begging Clarke that he told her that he loves Emori and then threatened to kill Clarke if Emori died.
  • I liked that Clarke ended up putting the nightblood in herself and then told everyone that they will be testing her.
  • I can't blame Abby for breaking the radiation machine because she had a vision that showed her that the nighblood wouldn't work so she couldn't let Clarke get inside it.
  • I like that Monty figured out that you had to burn the seal in order to turn it into a key so that they can open the bunker which is one that can save them all this time and I like that Indra order her army to hold the temple.
Please tell me your thoughts on this episode.

TV Review: Shadowhunters: Dust and Shadows(2.05)

                              Shadowhunters: Dust and Shadows(2.05)Review
  • I find it very concerning that Alec is dealing with the guilt his feeling for killing Jocelyn while possessed is by shooting his bow until his hands are covered in blood, this is something that seems like an indirect version of self harm to me.
  • I'm glad that Jace told Alec not to keep punishing himself for something that isn't his fault and no one blames him for what happened with Jocelyn which is something that is good for Alec to hear even if he doesn't believe that at the moment.
  • I find it interesting that Alec is also blaming himself for not being able to save Jace from Valentine or the City of Bones as well as for what happened with Jocelyn.
  • I like that Simon is doing his best to be there for Clary as she is dealing with the fact that her mother is dead and I liked that when Clary first suggested that she bring her mother back from the dead that he tells her that there are some things that you should just accept rather than try to fix.
  • I liked that when Magnus told Clary that he wouldn't bring Jocelyn back since it would involve dark magic which is very dangerous and unpredictable that he was still very sorry for her loss and told her that what she need to do was mourn her mother and accept the pain that comes with that and that one day it will get easier even though it will never be easy.
  • I felt bad for Magnus when he told Clary about how his mother killed himself when he was nine because she couldn't accept the fake that her child's father was a demon.
  • I liked that Clary told Simon that he should go back home to see his mom and to tell her that he loves her while he still has the chance to do so.
  • I'm glad that Jace was cleared of all the charges that were held against him but I'm sad that it looks like many shadowhunters in the institute still seems to see him as a traitor.
  • I like the way that Jace and Izzy tease each other while checking in with how their both doing since they both can come off as overly confident in themselves.
  • I like that Izzy apologized to Jace about selling him out to the Clave and I like that Jace wasn't made at her for that since in the end that deal ended up saving both Alec and his life, I honestly think that neither Jace nor Izzy would think any deal that keeps Alec alive could ever be a bad deal because he means the world to both of them.
  • I find it sad that Clary seems to be blaming herself a bit for her mother's death because she thinks that she would still be alive if she had agreed to go to Idris with her.
  • I like how when Clary tells Jace that she doesn't feel much of anything at the moment that Jace admits that he thinks that the whole emotions cloud judgment mentality may be unhealthy considering where it landed him.
  • I liked that when Clary asked Jace how he was feeling about Jocelyn's death since they think she's his mother too that Jace tells her he wishes that he had more time with her so that she could get to know him as something more than an experiment gone wrong.
  • I think it's a bad idea for Clary to go to Iris to bring her mother back from the dead since Magnus said he won't do it, it seems like that kind of magic is something that shouldn't be done at all.
  • I get why Clary thinks that Iris's idea of her owing her a favor at a later date doesn't sound like such a bad idea because Iris phrase it in a way where it sounds like she would ask for something completely reasonable and legal.
  • I liked that when Simon went back home and talked to his mom that he made sure to tell her that he appreciates her and that he wants to move back home.
  • I hate that Aldertree is punishing Jace for not letting him die instead of getting back the mortal sword.
  • I like that Magnus can tell right away that Alec isn't okay when he shows up even though Alec insists otherwise.
  • I like that Alec asks Magnus how he is doing after sending Camille to the Clave and I liked that when Magnus tells him that it was really hard for him that Alec told him it wasn't weird to hear him talk about it.
  • I liked that Magnus tells Alec that it wasn't his fault that a demon possessed him and that he will find a way to make things right with Clary even though it feels impossible right now.
  • I like that Jace tells Clary that her idea to bring Jocelyn back is a bad one since people who are brought back from the dead are usually not brought back right.
  • I really can't blame Simon's sister for thinking something is seriously wrong with him since he seems to be afraid of sunlight now and has real blood in his room.
  • I liked that during the scene where Jace and Izzy were training that there asking each other how Alec and Clary were doing and that they also asked each other how they were going.
  • I liked that when Jace notices that Izzy's wound isn't entirely healed that he tells her that she should go to medical to get it checked out so that it heals right.
  • I find it interesting that Izzy used to want to be an iron sister when she was younger until she found out that she would have to swore off boys which is why she wants to go on the mission to meet them so badly.
  • I really hate how Aldertree gives Izzy yin fen without explaining to her what it is and giving it to her at all since it's clear an addictive drug that could cause her serious harm in the future.
  • I'm glad that Alec told Clary how sorry he is for what happened with Jocelyn and that he would do anything to take it back.
  • I think that if Alec wasn't feeling so guilty about his role in Jocelyn's death he never would've agreed with Clary's plan to bring back her mom but it seems like feeling guilty completely destroys his judgment.
  • I like that Alec seems to be confused by the idea that Iris would assume that he's Clary's boyfriend because I guess he thinks it should be obvious that he's gay now that he's out.
  • I like that once they get to Iris's that Alec starts to notice that something is not right about the way that Iris's place but sadly he still feels like he owes it Clary to go along with her plan.
  • I think it makes sense that when Simon tells his mom that he's a vampire that she thinks that he's crazy because he really didn't offer her any proof that what he was saying was the truth.
  • I like that Alec ends up befriending the little warlock girl named Madize who he compliments on her gills.
  • I like that Clary decides to back out of the deal with Iris to bring her mom back when she notices the bird Iris brought back earlier came back wrong.
  • I think it's horrible that Iris expected that Clary would allow a demon to rape and give birth to a warlock.
  • I like that Alec tried to find and save Clary once he realized what was happening there even though he didn't end up being much help.
  • I like that Clary was somehow shown a new rune that allowed her to shoot sunlight out of her hand and for her to save herself and kill the demon.
  • I understand why Simon's mom is super freaked out when she finds out that Simon was telling the truth about being a vampire.
  • I felt bad for Clary when she finally realized that her mom was dead when she had to say her mom's name during rite of mourning and I liked that when she couldn't finish saying the name that Jace did it for her and that he held her as she cried.
Please tell me your thoughts on this episode.

Friday, April 27, 2018

TV Review: Timeless: The Darlington 500(2.02)

                                        Timeless: The Darlington 500(2.02)Review
  • I don't understand why Ritten house would want to kill a future Nascar driver in 1955 but I think it's especially cruel that they're willing to kill his pregnant wife as well as him.
  • I feel bad for Jiya that she is still having visions and that she seems to sometimes have to tell herself that something isn't real.
  • I like that when Lucy was reading over Nicolas Kean's manifesto and Wyatt called all that stuff crazy that Lucy pointed out that this is kind of crazy that her mother believes in.
  • I like that Wyatt asked Lucy what she went through when she was taken by Ritten house because he's worried about her and I liked that he told that they're all worried about her.
  • I liked that when Lucy didn't know anything of important significance happening on the date in the location that Ritten house traveled to she came up with the idea that they should ask Flynn for help because he know more about Ritten house than anyone else they know and he is willing to talk to Lucy.
  • I like that Flynn tried to use them needing his help as a way to get himself out of jail but I also understand why Agent Christopher is completely unwilling to make that deal.
  • I like that both Flynn and Lucy seem to know each other well enough to know what will hurt the most for them to hear because it's kind of interesting and surprising how well they know each other at this point. I also like that Lucy was able to get Flynn to tell her about the address he found on a Ritten house agent he killed for back than.
  • I found it a bit funny how Wyatt was the only one who knew who the guy that Ritten house was after was because he seems to be a big Nascar fan.
  • While I definitely don't like Nicolas I like that his desire to have things that he is used to by his side is making him too distracted to really give Ritten house the guidance that they thought they would get from him.
  • I like that Lucy, Wyatt and Rufus pretend to be reporters so that they can find out where Ryan Millerson will be so that they can stop the Ritten house agents from killing him.
  • I liked that Wyatt was so excited to see all the classic cars that are in great condition considering there only a few years old at this time in history and I like that Rufus and Lucy call him a nerd for acting that way.
  • I like that when they meet Wendell Scott who is an African American mechanic/racer that Wyatt is a big fan of that Wyatt gets so distracted by fanboying over him and asking questions about things he know he did instead of asking him the questions they need answered in order to protect Miller from Ritten house.
  • I find it sad how Wendall Scott does indeed end up winning a major nascar race in 1963 but they place him in third and while he does argue long enough to get the prize money he never gets the trophy or the glory of the win.
  • I was a bit surprised to learn that Wyatt used to run certain illegal substances across the border when he was a teenager as a way to make money and I like that Lucy and Rufus are also surprised by this fact.
  • I was sad to find out that Millerson turns out to be a Ritten house sleeper agent and that Ritten house plan actually seemed to account for Lucy, Wyatt and Rufus coming there to try and stop them and they use this knowledge to try and kill them.
  • I like that Wendell ended up saving Lucy, Wyatt and Rufus by throwing a fire extinguisher grenade in the tent and being their get away driver.
  • I like that Lucy comes up with the cover that Millerson and the other Ritten house agents are communist and that they work for the government tracking down people like, I like that excuse is both believable and pretty close to the truth.
  • I like that when they figure out Millerson must've been a sleeper agent that Wyatt has a hard time believing it since he grew up being a fan of his and I like that after realizing this they all feel very concerned about what else may have changed in history without them being aware.
  • I like that they figure that Ritten house's main plan is to blow up all the CEO's of the car companies who are all attending the Darlington 500 which could cripple economy at this point in time.
  • I agree with Agent Christopher that Mason going to be a speaker somewhere is a very bad idea but I understand why Mason wants to try and rebuild his reputation.
  • I like that Millerson seems to have some doubts about going through with his suicide mission because he likes the life that he created for himself in this time period.
  • I really can't blame Wendell for not being willing to get Lucy, Wyatt and Rufus back into the race because it could him ban from racing and he's not quite sure if he buys their story.
  • I like that Rufus tries to help Wendell fix up his car to convince him to help them since he's an engineer but it seems like cars and time machines are very different so he's not of much help.
  • I like that Wyatt actually ends up helping Wendell fix his car and I like that we learn that the reason Wyatt knows how to do this is because he father made him figure out how to fix it after his father broke his car while throwing Wyatt in the back of it and whipping around dangerously with it just to scare him.
  • I like how Wyatt and Wendell end up bonding over how their father's disappointed them in different ways with Wendell's father leaving the family and gambling while Wyatt's was abusive and he wished he would leave and when he didn't Wyatt decided to leave instead and stole his father's prized car with him when he did.
  • I like that when Wendell asked Rufus what kind of engineer he was since he doesn't seem to know much about cars that Rufus tells him that he works with different machines that involve time. I like that Rufus and Wendell bond about how for black people everything they want to accomplish is even harder for them.
  • I like that when Lucy and Wyatt were in the trunk that Lucy asked him if what he said about his father was true and I liked that she then started to open up a bit to him about how she's dealing with her mother turning out to be a terrible person. I like that Wyatt tells Lucy that there was a point when he did admired his father since he was his father and that he was angry for a long time with him but he did let go of those feelings eventually and I like that he tells Lucy that maybe it's for the best that she found out the truth about her mother so that she can face it head on.
  • I like that Lucy and Wyatt almost ended up kissing each other when they were stuck in the trunk together but sadly they were interrupted at the last second.
  • I liked that when Wyatt and Wendell were discussing the plan about how to get out with the car that neither Rufus or Lucy had any idea what they were talking about since they were using racer terms.
  • I was a little sad when Millerson died because he did at least clearly love his wife but not too sad because he was willing to sign up for a mission to kill so many people in the first place.
  • I liked that during the getaway chase from the cops that Rufus was very concerned about them hitting any bumps since the bomb had been armed while Wyatt on the other hand seemed to be having fun with the chase that is incredible dangerous.
  • I like that when Wendell asks Wyatt to race against him some time that Wyatt is very happy to be asked that but knows that he won't be able to do so.
  • I liked that when Rufus asks Wendell if he thinks they will ever give the prize to a black man that Wendell tells them that he knows they won't but he still wants to keep racing because he wants to prove to himself that he is the best.
  • I think that Agent Christopher stopping Mason from speaking at the conference was for the best but considering she had him fake arrested in order to stop him I understand why he's angry at her even though he really should have expected this to happen if he disobeyed her orders.
  • I think it's interesting that Jiya seems to be psychic since she saw Rufus having a burn on his arm before his arm got burnt.
  • I don't like that Nicolas made a painting about the new plans for Ritten house to get rid of the parts of humanity that he considers bad because no doubt his idea of bad doesn't match most people and would probably end up destroying humanity not saving it.
Please tell me your thoughts on this episode.

Movie Review: Love, Simon

                                                       Love, Simon Review
Love, Simon is about Simon Spier who is a high school senior who lives a fairly normal life with a normal family and friends and he has a pretty good life but he also has a secret which is that he is gay. While Simon doesn't think that the people in his life would react badly to him being gay he still doesn't feel like he is ready to come out yet. One day Simon starts talking to another guy that goes to his school who is also in the closet online  who goes by the name of Blue and the two of them end up developing feelings for each other which makes Simon considers coming out.

One day after Simon was emailing Blue when he was in the school library another student named Martin ends up seeing the emails and then decides to threatened to out Simon if he isn't able to get his friend Abby to like him. Through out the second half of the film Simon ends up having his friendships put at risks because he has to mess things up with them because he is being blackmailed by Martin. In the end Simon ends up being outed by Martin because Abby just doesn't like him and while no one really reacts badly to him being gay, Simon is still upset that he didn't get to decide when he came out.

Overall I really enjoyed the movie it had good characters and I enjoyed watching their stories unfold and the relationships they had together. I thought that the writing for the movie was good as well as the acting and the directing. Please tell me your thoughts on this movie in the comment section below.

TV Review: The 100: Gimme Shelter(4.07)

                                               The 100: Gimme Shelter(4.07)Review
  • I don't understand why Illian would want to help make sure Octavia survives since she tried to kill him last episode. I liked that when the black rain started coming down that Octavia decided to help Illian get out of the rain.
  • I liked how it was shown how dangerous the black rain could be when all the people by the ark all rushed inside to avoid it and then doused themselves with water to protect themselves.
  • I liked that Bellamy and Kane went out to go get the guy who had fallen during the mad the rush to get inside.
  • I like that Bellamy is worried about whether or not Octavia is okay since she's far away from camp but I'm glad that Kane stopped Bellamy from going out and finding her since it's far too dangerous to go out into the black rain.
  • I like that Clarke seems to be worried about Raven and her mom because she knows that both of them are working themselves too hard and she knows that there's something wrong with Raven's brain at them moment and suspects that her mom might not be okay as well.
  • I find it interesting that Abby and Jackson came up with the idea to use Luna's bone marrow to make night blood but they took that option off the table because the only way to test it was to expose the person that they injected the bone marrow into enough radiation to kill a person.
  • I find it sad how the guy that Harper feels guilty about not helping the guy that fell into the mud since he reached for her and she didn't help and now the only thing she can do to help him is make his death a peaceful one.
  • I like that Bellamy wants to go out into the rain to save a man and his son and I like that part of the reason he is so determined to do so is because the son was part of the original 100 but I also like that Kane is trying to talk him out of going because the mission is basically an unnecessary suicide mission.
  • I like that after Bellamy finds out that the suit he used to go out into the rain was useless that he made it to the rover and I like that he was still determined to complete his mission. I liked that Kane tried to talk Bellamy out of his mission and when that didn't work told him not to take an unnecessary risks.
  • I liked how Emori told Clarke that her people were lucky to have her since she would do anything to save her people and I liked how Clarke told her that she not just trying to save her own people but everyone.
  • I get why Emori would assume that the would use her as the one to test nightblood out on since she's an outsider and not someone they need but I really don't think that is what they would decide to do to test it.
  • I like that Murphy after Emori tells him what she heard about testing out nightblood that he decided to talk to Clarke about it to ensure that Emori wouldn't be the person they used.
  • I like that Clarke noticed that someone had broken into the house and that her and Murphy were able to get to Emori before the guy killed her.
  • I was sad to learn that Emori was sold to Basil the man that broke in to kill her when she was young and that he use to hurt her and her brother when she was young.
  • I really can't blame Emori for wanting to have her revenge by killing Basil for everything he did to her and her brother and everything he forced her to do in order to survive. Although I do understand why Clarke wants to prevent Emori from killing in revenge I also don't think this decision isn't one she should really have a say in.
  • I liked that when Emori just came in and started beating up Basil who Murphy had tied up earlier that he just took a step back and watched over her. I liked that when it looked like Clarke was going to step in that Murphy asked Clarke if she could just let Emori have this kill.
  • I liked that Clarke came up with the idea of using Basil to test out the nightblood with since no one really cares for him to live and his death could save them all.
  • I was sad that Bellamy couldn't make it to rescue the man and his son since the rover got stuck in the mud and I felt especially bad for him since he pretty much had to hear them die over the radio and you can just see he's blaming himself for their deaths even though it's not his fault at all.
  • I actually believe Octavia when she tells Illian that she doesn't feel anything after she kills people because that's what we've been shown in the past about her and I believe that the reason she didn't kill Illian had more to do with her feeling sad about Lincoln dying rather than not being able to commit cold blood murder.
  • I thought it was good of Illian to save Octavia from committing suicide by walking out into the rain but I really dislike how she pretty blackmailed him into have sex with her since she needed him to make her feel something else.
  • I like how Abby is worried about being a murderer for killing someone so that everyone else will have the chance to survive.
  • I like that Kane tells Abby that sometimes in order to survive they have to do things that are bad so that they can live long enough to find there humanity again.
  • I liked that when Bellamy was saying he was failure for not being able to save the man and his son as well as Octavia that Kane told him that neither of those things are his fault and that he tried his best therefore he has no reason to feel guilty.
  • I liked that Kane told Bellamy that maybe the reason that he can't save Octavia is because she doesn't want to be saved and I liked that he told Bellamy that his mother would be proud of the man he's become and that he is proud of him, I also think it's understandable that Bellamy's only reply was to say that Kane floated his mother.
  • I like that Illian is going back to his village, I like that Octavia threw away some of her daggers but I'm not thrilled about her going with Illian to his village.
  • I liked that when Bellamy came back and Kane told him that there still isn't any word from Octavia that Bellamy repeated back Kane's words about not being able to save someone who doesn't want to be saved.
  • I liked that when Emori revealed that the guy that broke in wasn't the guy that hurt her in the past but rather just someone other than her that they would use to test nightblood that Murphy was impressed and told her that's a survivor's move right there.
Please tell me your thoughts on this episode.

Wednesday, April 11, 2018

TV Review: Solomon's Perjury

                                                  Solomon's Perjury Review
Solomon's Perjury is about how after a student Lee So woo is found dead on school grounds after either falling or being pushed off the roof the school tries to cover up the his death as soon as possible in order to save the school reputation. A fellow classmate being found dead at school shortly after he was unjustly expelled by the school and a rushed investigation leaves the students with many questions that school doesn't just refuse to answer but refuses to ever allow the students even to ask them doesn't sit will with many students. Go Seo yeon who was one of the two students who found So woo's body and one of the many that witness him being beaten up by school bully Choi Woo hyuk which is an incident that led directly to So woo's expulsion, Seo yeon can wants answers to what led to So woo's death and she's one of the few people who was willing to stand up and asks the questions that they all had but no one was willing to truly ask.

Shortly after So woo's death Lee Joo ri, an unpopular girl who acts like a queen bee, writes a letter were she claims that she saw Woo hyuk along with two of his friends push So Woo off the roof on the night of his death. The majority of the school start to question whether So woo really committed suicide or if he was murdered since pretty much everyone believes Woo hyuk to be capable of such a thing. Seo yeon decides that the best way for them all to get the answers about what really happened to So woo would be hold a trial and she works hard to pull off the trial along with her friends and Han Ji hoon a mysterious boy from another school who decided to join their school trial as Woo hyuk defense counsel.

The trial has Seo yeon working as the prosecutor and Ji hoon as the defense attorney and it leads to many things that Seo yeon would never even guess being revealed as time goes on. Seo yeon has to deal with surprise after surprise during the trial and on top of that she not even confident that Joo ri's statement is even something that can be trusted and that's the only concrete evidence that she has. On the other hand Ji hoon is much more confident about Woo hyuk's innocence because it's clear to the audience that he knows much more about So woo's death than anyone else since they were best friends which is something he is keeping secret from the others, it becomes quite clear early on that Ji hoon as another a agenda for this trial and it's interesting watching it slowly become clear what it is.

I overall loved this series I thought that it had a really good plot and I thought that it's plot had a lot of intrigue to it which made the show very interesting to watch. This series is one that had pretty good characters that you become very interested in figuring out and invested in their emotional journey's as well. I really loved the tone that this series set with both the music and cinematography which were both really great. This series was really good and I would recommend checking this one out because it's a very underrated series. Please tell me your thoughts on this show in the comment section below.

Book Review: Heartless

                                                            Heartless Review
Heartless is a story that is set in Wonderland and is about the future Queen of Hearts who in this story is a young woman named Catherine Pinkerton. Catherine is a lady that has no desire to become queen and instead dreams of opening her own baker with her best friend and maid Mary Ann which is something that her parents especially her mother disapproves of since her mother wants her to become queen because of all the benefits it would have on the family's social standing. On the night of the ball Catherine ends up meeting and falling for Jest the court's new joker and from that day onwards Catherine can't get him out of her head.

As the story goes on Catherine dreams not only of opening her own baker but now she also dreams of being able to have a relationship with Jest but it seems that everyone around her including Jest who despite returning her affections, thinks it would be for the best if she marries the king. It is eventually revealed that Jest is actually from the kingdom of Chess and that he came to steal the Queen of Hearts, heart and he believes that Catherine's heart is the one that he's meant to take but finds that he can't bring himself to steal her heart because he has come to love her. Catherine despite having no interest in the king finds it impossible to say no to him when he asks to marry her so this leads to her and Jest deciding to run away to Chess together but things go terribly wrong before they can get there.

The Wonderland of this story is one that feels like Victorian times with a slight element of fantasy rather than a land of madness and impossibility that original Wonderland that was portrayed in Alice in Wonderland which was something that I found disappointing. Another thing that sadly fell short in this book was the attempts at language humor such as Margaret's always saying the wrong morals which is something that feel like could have been a lot of fun if it was done better although to be fair I find writing things such as this well to be very difficult. I probably would've been able to overlook the thing with the language humor if it wasn't for the fact that the second season of A Series of Unfortunate Events came out while I was reading this book and that series is much better at the way it plays with language, this also led to me comparing the series to this book in other ways as well such as how despite having more things limiting their agency the Baudelaires are a lot more proactive in their story than Catherine is in hers which is something that bothers me more the more I think about it.

Overall I thought the book was okay but I felt like it didn't quite capture the magic of Wonderland which is something that really disappointed me since that was a big selling point for this book. Please tell me your thoughts on this book in the comment section below.

TV Review: The End of the F***ing World Season 1

                                        The End of the F***ing World Season 1 Review
The End of the F***ing World is about two teenagers that end up impulsively running away from home together shortly after they start dating and things soon get out of hand. Alyssa has recently moved to town she has a habit of deliberately pissing people off and she doesn't really fit in and she doesn't trust really trust anyone that does which is why she decides that it would be a good idea to date James who clearly doesn't fit in. James believes that he is a psychopath and has killed plenty of animals already and thinks that he should kill a person soon and he thinks that Alyssa would be interesting to kill so he pretends to fall in love with her. Alyssa and James end up starting a strange and awkward relationship together both because their odd people and because neither of them has any idea what a real relationship looks like. Alyssa after being basically told by her dick of a step father that she should leave decides that since she already doesn't really like her life that she should change that by running away tells James that they should run away and steal his dad's car which James agrees to since he figures that he could always kill her later on.

Once they leave it becomes clear that there are a few problems with Alyssa's plan such as they don't have anywhere in particular that they are going and they have no money and they end up crashing the car very early as well. Early on Alyssa decides that they should break into a guys house in order to lay low after she blackmailed a guy and things end up going very badly when the home owner comes back and this leads to James and Alyssa being on the run from the cops for the rest of the series which makes the series a lot more nerve racking to watch since their really terrible at covering their tracks and the series was really good at make us care about them.

The thing that ended up surprising me the most about this show  was how well the show ended up developing the relationship between Alyssa and James because based off the premise and the trailer for the show I was expecting more of a dark comedy(which it is)than a love story which it is unapologetically a love story. I liked how the show was able to show how James went from thinking of Alyssa as someone he wanted to kill to someone he actually started to care about and that he was able to accept that he was capable of having feelings rather quickly and it surprisingly always felt natural.  I also like how it became clear when Alyssa started to see James as someone she did care about rather than some she could care about and I liked that the two of them as time went on became more honest with each other and more vulnerable with each other in a way that you never would've guessed they'd be capable of when you watched the first episode which makes their relationship feel more genuine.          

Overall I really loved this show the acting was fantastic, the writing was brilliant and the directing was quite beautiful as well. Another thing I really loved about the show was the soundtrack which seems to have been filled love ballads from the seventies which really fit really well with the show. This show is great and if you haven't watched it I really think that you should give it a chance because it will probably end up surprising you with how much you end up caring for the characters since they're the types of characters that are a bit difficult to like but by the end all you want is for things to turn out okay for them. Please tell me your thoughts about the series in the comment section below.                                                

TV Review: The 100: We Will Rise(4.06)

                                            The 100: We Will Rise(4.06)Review
  • I find it interesting that Jaha mentions that the black rain won't actually be black and that the way they'll know it's black rain is from the chaos and death it will cause and I like how Jasper refers to that as the usual for them.
  • I like how Jasper tells Jaha to just except that they're all going to die because he'll be much happier once he realize that and Jaha says they'll find a way some how.
  • I like that Kane won't let his people beat Illyan to death because he knows allowing themselves to devolve into chaos isn't going to make things any better for them.
  • I like that Raven is running simulation on getting to and from space before actually going their but I'm worried about if that mission can be successful since she keeps dying in all the simulations because they don't have enough fuel.
  • I like the comments that Murphy makes as he looks after Raven while she's doing the simulations even if they aren't very helpful.
  • I like that Nilyah is worried about Clarke since she never seems to sleep and tells her that she's doing a good job leading her people. I like that Clarke asks Nilyah stay because she wants to make sure she's there to get the nightblood once it's ready.
  • I liked that when Monty was listing all the bad news about the damage of the ship that Bellamy asked if there was any good news and then Kane said the only good news is that nobody died.
  • I like that Clarke, Bellamy and Roan and some of his guards are all going to the island to give Raven the fuel she needs to get the rocket to space.
  • I liked that Kane wanted to go with to the island because he wanted to see Abby before she went to space because he knows that so many things can go wrong on that mission and he wants to see her one last time. I like that Clarke convinces him that he has to stay behind because he is the chancellor and there has to be someone here to keep the peace for their people.
  • I was a bit confused and angered by how Octavia all of a sudden really, really hates Bellamy again to the point that she flat out tells him that if he wasn't her brother she would have killed him already because since this season started it seemed like things weren't that bad between them and I really hate that she says these things because there awful things to say and Bellamy doesn't deserve this especially since he was just telling her that he was so afraid that he had lost her and that she saved their people so really don't get were this hostility is coming from.
  • I'm not all that surprised that Raven lost it on Murphy but I was a little surprised at the level of intensity that she had with it, I liked that Luna stopped Raven from attacking Murphy and calmed her down.
  • I liked that Clarke noticed that Bellamy's mood had become worse and that she figured it was because Octavia still hasn't forgiven him, I also liked that when Clarke said it would just take time that Bellamy pointed out that they don't have much of that left.
  • I liked that when Clarke got out of the rover to help the wounded even though there on a very risky mission that could go wrong at any second and Roan asked what was going on that Bellamy said Clarke's just being Clarke.
  • I'm worried about how they are going to get the fuel across this river that wasn't there a while ago.
  • I like how Luna tells Murphy that she doesn't think that Raven hates him as much as he hates himself although he disagrees with that. I like that Luna tells him that he can find peace someday because she has and I like how he says peace is overrated because it's the fighters who survive.
  • I wasn't surprised that after Bellamy and Roan separated from Clarke and his guards that something happened to them and the cargo.
  • I liked that when Jasper was handing out moonshine to people in a room with a man who was ranting about how they should kill Illyan, Monty asked if it was a good idea and Jasper said of course it is.
  • I like how Monty was telling Jaha how he should step up and control the situation because he has the power to do so and they need to find a way to keep things from getting chaotic.
  • I like that Murphy and Luna were able to help Raven think outside the box by telling her things don't have to be perfect just survivable and that a controlled crash into water could work.
  • I liked that Roan said that both him and Bellamy are alike in that they only really care about their own people while Clarke is different and is trying to save everyone.
  • I liked that when Roan figured out that it was his own people who took the fuel and Clarke that he told Bellamy right away.
  • I liked that Monty went to Kane and told him about Illyan being unguarded and that they went there to protect him from the mob.
  • I like Kane wants to stop the people from descending into darkness by murdering Illyan but I get why Miller's dad doesn't see the point in ensuring his safety when it seems easier to just give their people what they want.
  • I'm not surprised that Octavia is willing to let the mob beat Illyan as much as they want as long she's the one that gets to kill him.
  • I like that Roan was willing to jump on to the other transport to ensure that they didn't loose a drop of the fuel.
  • I like that Bellamy made sure to drive up ahead so that he could get a killer shot at the guy that was forcing Clarke to drive by holding a knife to her throat.
  • I liked how it turned out Kane and Jaha were working together when Jaha sounded the alarm for black rain which made the mob run back inside rather than kill Illyan.
  • I liked that Monty tried to talk Octavia down but he is really wrong about Octavia not being a murderer because she has murder plenty of people but it's sweet that Monty thinks so well of her still.
  • I liked that Kane pointed out to Octavia that she is doing the exact same thing to Illyan that Pike did to Lincoln which stops her from going through with it but if she was really a better person than Pike would she have had to have it pointed out to her that they are acting the same way.
  • I like that Jaha let Illyan go in order to save their people from themselves by making sure that he isn't around to be killed.
  • I find it sad how Bellamy calls himself Pathetic for keeping going back for Octavia even though she hates him because that sounds a lot like a victim talking about their abuser and that it isn't what Octavia should be for him.
  • I like that Clarke tells Bellamy that he isn't pathetic for still caring about Octavia and I like that she believes that Octavia will see that Bellamy is worth forgiving like Clarke has always, although I disagree with Clarke's view on Octavia I like that she gives Bellamy some hope when he needs it.
  • I'm really worried about the fact that they lost an entire barrel worth of fuel but I'm not surprised that it happened.
Please tell me your thoughts on this episode.

Thursday, March 22, 2018

TV Review: Timeless: The War to End All Wars(2.01)

                                 Timeless: The War to End All Wars(2.01)Review
  • I think that it's a pretty bad sign that Rittenhouse has already sent some back to world war one by the time the season premiere starts.
  • I like that both Wyatt and Rufus thinks it's strange that Lucy isn't showing up for the trip to go back in time to save her sister because at least they know that something happened to Lucy even if they aren't sure as to what.
  • I was surprised that Rittenhouse was able to blow up Mason's lab so easily but I'm not surprised that they would something like this.
  • I was surprised to find out that Lucy's mother and other members of Rittenhouse kidnapped her but now that I think about it that isn't really something that should come as a shock to me.
  • I like that Wyatt wants nothing more than to find Lucy and that he refuses to believe that she's dead even though no one can find any trace of her anywhere.
  • I like that Agent Christopher is trying to keep the remaining members of their team safe from Rittenhouse by making sure they stay in there new base and I like that she tells Wyatt that the reason she locks them in is because she doesn't trust Wyatt not to go off on his own to look for Lucy and possibly get himself killed which he is planning to do.
  • I like that Rufus is worried about Jiya possibly having one of those headaches that she had at the end of last season again but I'm glad that she seems fine now.
  • I'm really worried about Lucy who is being forced to go along with her mom's and Rittenhouse's plan to rewrite history.
  • I like that Lucy is trying to found out everything she can about what Rittenhouse is doing because she wants to try and find a way to stop it.
  • I like that Jiya was able to figure out exactly what needed to be fixed in order to make sure that the time machine work again.
  • I liked that Agent Christopher wanted to go with to help with the mission of taking down Rittenhouse but I liked that Wyatt refused to let her go because he believes that Lucy is alive in the past and that they're going to bring her home.
  • I liked that Lucy tried to distract the man that came with the solider that Rittenhouse is trying to save but I disliked that Emma the other Rittenhouse person on the mission ended up shooting him and made Lucy be the one to kill him to prove loyalty to them.
  • I liked that Lucy was excited that she got to meet Marie Curie and her daughter but was terrified of her going to help them because she knows Rittenhouse tends to kill anyone that sees something they shouldn't in the past.
  • I like that Lucy was able to get away from her mother and other Rittenhouse people long enough to find a grenade that she was planning on destroying their time machine with and that she plans to kill the solider that Rittenhouse wants to save because it must be for a bad reason.
  • I loved how relieved Lucy was to see that Wyatt was still alive and that he was happy to see she was alive but since he never let himself believe that she was dead it was less of a shock for him to see her, I also liked the hug that they shared.
  • I liked that Lucy was relieved to see that Rufus was alive as well and that they also hugged.
  • I like that Lucy tells Wyatt and Rufus her plans and that she tells them to destroy Rittenhouse's time machine for her and I like that Wyatt was reluctant to let her leave.
  • I liked that when Rufus said that Wyatt was happy to see that Lucy was still alive that Wyatt said he was because they need their historian and I like that Rufus doesn't believe that's the reason at all.
  • I feel bad for Mason since he lost everything that he has ever worked for and he now doesn't know how to make himself useful anymore.
  • I'm worried about Jiya since she still seems to be having those headaches and that they seem to becoming more frequent.
  • I like that after finding out that Lucy is alive that Wyatt seems much happier and is more optimistic about the mission while Rufus thinks that really not that much has changed about their situation.
  • I was glad that Wyatt and Rufus found out about the Rittenhouse agent who has become a captain in WWI and how they realized that Rittenhouse must have sent him back along time ago to raise up the ranks this far.
  • I liked how when Rufus was telling Wyatt how he is still worried about the woman that he loved that he thought Wyatt would understand because he's been doing that for the past six weeks and I liked that when Wyatt was confused about that, that Rufus pointed out that Wyatt is in love with Lucy whether he admits it or not.
  • I liked how Lucy bonded with Marie Curie's daughter about how they both have mother's whose expectations are very hard for them to live up to.
  • I was afraid for Lucy when her mother caught her trying to kill the solider that they saved but I was glad that she didn't kill her but instead said that they needed to bring back the solider to present day now.
  • I find it worrisome that it seems like it's Rittenhouse's plan is to shape the world the way they want it be using time travel so that they don't need to take it over in the future.
  • I liked that when Marie Curie and her daughter discovered the time machine that Lucy literally stood in front of them to save them from being killed and I liked that her mother did end up agreeing with Lucy's judgment on this matter.
  • I disliked that Emma revealed that Lucy was planning on destroying the time machine while they were all inside it in order to stop Rittenhouse once and for all because it led to her mother considering to let Emma kill Lucy.
  • I liked that Wyatt showed up just in time to save Lucy from being shot by Emma but I was sad that they couldn't kill the solider that Rittenhouse saved.
  • I was sad for Lucy when she was told that no matter what she did she will never get her sister back since Rittenhouse went back in time to destroy any chance of that happening.
  • I felt so bad for Lucy when she had to admitted to Wyatt that she wasn't sure if her mother really would stop Emma from killing her and I liked that when she said she lost everything that Wyatt told her that she hasn't lost him and I liked that the two of them almost kissed.
  • I find it very worrying that Rittenhouse has sent a bunch of sleeper agents into the past in order to shape the world the way they want it to be.
  • I think it's a bad thing that Rittenhouse brought the solider who wrote how Rittenhouse can use time travel to take over the world to the present day but I think it might be a good thing that they didn't kill him since he is Lucy's great-grandfather.
  • I liked that Agent Christopher went to Flynn for help in figuring out what Rittenhouse is trying to do and I'm unsurprised to see that he's only willing to talk to Lucy.
Please tell me your thoughts on this episode.

Book Review: Isla and the Happily Ever After

                                              Isla and the Happily Ever After Review
Isla and the Happily Ever After is about a high school senior at a French American school in Paris named Isla who is shy and doesn't know what she wants to do with her life. Isla has had a crush on the artistic slacker Josh since she was a freshmen and when he starts paying attention to her she realizes that her feelings may not be so one sided. Isla and Josh get together fairly early on in the book and then Isla has to learn to balance her time between Josh, friends and school work but she tends to spend most of her time on Josh.

Isla and Josh's relationship starts to fall apart after Josh gets expelled from school early on in the school year which means that Isla and Josh are now in a long distance relationship and that he isn't allowed to talk to her for awhile. The distance and lack communication causes their relationship to become strained and it being strained leads Isla to believe that Josh doesn't really love her because she no longer believes that she is worth a guy loving because she doesn't know who she is.

The character of Isla feels like she becomes a different person in the second half of the book since in the beginning Isla just seemed like someone who was shy and a bit inexperienced but also someone that didn't doubt that she was worthy of being in a relationship despite not having her future planned out. In the second half of novel Isla become a character that thought that her relationship ending was a given so she decided to break her own heart rather than let Josh break it first, this mindset seemed too cynical and self sabotaging to fit with her characterization from the first half of the book.

Overall I thought that book was okay, it had a sweet couple that it's plot was centered around which made it easy to root for their happy ending even if I did think Isla's character changed rather abruptly halfway through the book. Another thing in the book that I didn't like was Anna and St. Clair suddenly getting engaged towards the end of the book because well I never liked those two together and it felt out of place and too soon for the characters to get engaged. Please tell your thoughts on this book in the comment section below.

TV Review: The Gifted: Got Your SiX(1.06)

                                         The Gifted: Got Your SiX(1.06)Review
  • I liked that we learned a bit of John's backstory about how he served in the military and that his father also served.
  • I'm not sure if it's a smart idea for them to sneak into the Federal building but I agree with what John says about how they need to start changing how they do things because Sentinel services already changed the game by turning other mutants against them.
  • I like that West a mutant boy that can create illusions seems to have a crush on Lauren.
  • I'm not surprised that Clarice was mad at John when she found out that he knew about what Sonya did with her memoires and decided not to tell her since they still needed her help.
  • I understand why Clarice left but I'm worried that her leaving might not be the thing that is safest for her.
  • I like that Caitlin finds the idea of them training the child mutants to use their powers to fight frightening but I understand what Lorna is saying about knowing how to fight being useful since a war is coming.
  • I'm not surprised by the fact that Andy volunteered himself to help out with the mission to break into the Federal building but I was a little surprised by how quickly Reed agrees to let him join in.
  • I like how Reed is using the time traveling to the mission as a way to reconnected with Andy since their relationship has been distant since long before he developed powers.
  • I thought it was interesting that Marcos was able to use his powers to blind someone from seeing what was in the back of the truck.
  • I find it interesting that the X-men chose John to lead the mutants and that they warned that a war was coming.
  • I really can't blame Reed for being a bit alarmed when Andy admitted that it felt good when he tore things apart because it's never a good thing to like destroying things and I think it makes sense that Reed worries that Andy might use is powers to hurt people considering what he just said.
  • I like that Caitlin wants to try and start up a school so that the mutant kids could have some kind of normalcy in their lives.
  • While I agree with Lorna that the kids need to learn how to fight, I don't think her training method of throwing hammers and saw blades at them is best way to do that since that could kill the kids if they don't react fast enough.
  • I liked that when Reed said that he felt like he blew it when talking to Andy about his powers that Marcos told him that he should keep talking to him about it because it's helpful to have someone to talk it about.
  • I liked that Reed and Marcos talked about what it meant to be a father and I liked that Reed told him that you don't have to be anything like your own father and that you start with the knowledge that nothing your kid does can make you love them less.
  • I dislike that Agent Turner is deciding to work with the scientist that even Sentinel services think goes too far when it comes mutants.
  • I like that Lauren talked to West about how she hid her powers for  a long time before they came here and that she told him how it felt like she was living a lie by hiding them. 
  • I like that Lorna, Lauren and West worked together to make sure that Macros, Reed and Andy were able to make it passed Sentinel services safely.
  • I find it worrisome that Sentinel services doesn't seem to be following the laws anymore when it comes to tracking down mutants.
  • I like that Reed told Andy that he's always been proud of him and tells him he can tell him anything.
  • I'm worried about what Carmen will ask Marcos to do this time and I'm sad that Marcos will have to go along with what she asks since she's blackmailing him.
Please tell me your thoughts on this episode.

Tuesday, March 13, 2018

TV Review: I'm Not a Robot

                                                     I'm Not a Robot Review
I'm not a Robot is about a man named Kim Min kyu who developed an allergy to humans shortly after his parents died and at the beginning of the series he gets a message from some scientist who tell him they have developed a robot that looks and should be able to act just like a real human. Min kyu decides to meet the scientist to check out their robot and after he sees how human-like the robot is and assures that it's really a robot he agrees to keep funding the scientists research if he the robot is able to brought over to his house for him to test out how well it works. Right before the scientists are suppose to bring their robot over to Min kyu's house one of the scientists end up damaging the report which leads to Hong Baek kyun, scientist that created the robot to go look for the woman he based the robot on, Jo Ji ah, his ex girlfriend. Ji ah is an inventor who seems to only manage to invent things that most people find useless which has led to her being in a lot of debt because she's always working on her inventions or starting up a new business to fund her inventions, since Ji ah really needs the money she ends up agreeing to pretend to be a robot when Min kyu does the test for it.

Ji ah is only really able to pull off pretending to be a robot because the scientists tell Min kyu that there is a function called friend mode after she first reacts in a way a robot wouldn't and they are all very surprised when he buys that excuse. Since Min kyu hasn't really had the chance to interact with people for the last fifteen years he ends up finding anytime Ji ah screws up acting like a robot to be delightful rather than suspicious and this ends up leading to him wanting to train the robot himself and since the robot is still going to take awhile to repair that means that Ji ah is going to have to continue to pretend to be a robot. As time goes on Min kyu and Ji ah end up actually developing a real friendship and Min kyu discovers that his allergy started to be cured when he was with Ji ah which only makes his affection for her grow even more.

 Soon enough it becomes clear to both Ji ah and Min kyu that they have romantic feelings for each other and since it seems pretty clear at first that the feelings are mutual they are both very happy about this until they remember their situations. Min kyu realizes that he can't be in love with a robot because a robot can't ever really love you back because their just doing what their programs tell them to and Ji ah realizes that Min kyu thinks that she's a robot and that there really isn't a good way to tell him that she's been deceiving him for as long as she has been. It ends up taking quite a long time for Min kyu to figure out that Ji ah is not a robot and for them to actually get together.

Overall I really loved this series, I really loved both our main characters and I loved watching them interact with each other and I found them be extremely cute together. I was surprised by how emotionally invested this show ended up getting me because I actually found myself crying more than once and I also really liked that the show made me understand why Ji ah couldn't just tell Min kyu that she's not a robot which made the middle angsty section of the show much more compelling to watch. I also thought that this show looked really beautiful there were so many scenes in this show that just looked and felt so dreamy and romantic and the music also helped add to this atmosphere. Please tell me your thoughts on this series.