Tuesday, April 30, 2013

Top 10 words/topics that make me pick up a book

1. Mental Illnesses: I'm just really interested in mental illness and I like to read(or watch) stories where characters deal with mental illness and I like seeing how it affects their lives and ways of thinking. So if I hear about a book where someone is struggling with a mental illness it goes on my to be read list.
2. Witches: I love magic and my favorite kind of magic is witchcraft so therefore if I find a book about witches I want to read it. I love the idea of witches because of magic and that the characters are girls. My favorite books I've read about witches are Secret Circle and Hex Hall which both also have great female friendships which I also love.
3. Suicide: This may seem like an odd thing to put on this list but I'm just really interested in reading stories about the subject plus there's a lot of ways to handle this subject matter. There's the stories that lead up to it, the ones where someone attempts it but then are forced into recovery(those are my favorite), and the ones that deal with life after someone kills themselves. My favorite books dealing with this subject matter are Impulse and Thirteen Reasons Why.
4. Con-Artists: I just really love reading about con-artists I find what they do to be very interesting and I like the whole life style they lead. Favorite con-artist stories are Heist Society and White Collar.
5. Cutting:  Cutting or really self harm in general is something that I'm very interested in for personal reasons so I like to read stories in which portray cutting(or self harm) in a non-stereotypical way.
6. Bio-tech dystopian: We all know that dystopians are really popular in YA lit right now but sadly I have not been able to find many that deal with bio-tech which to me means it's about some kind of technology that messes with peoples brains. My favorite stories like this are Dollhouse and Uglies but mostly Dollhouse.
7. Complicated family situations: I'm really interested in how families interacted with each other in fiction and like seeing how the way in which someone was raised end up making them into the person they are at the present time. My favorite stories like this are Fruits Basket and Reading in the Dark.
8. Medieval political drama: I really love stories that deal with medieval politics because it's just so interesting because they often settle matters of state by chopping off their enemies head which is a lot more interesting than modern day political scandals. Favorite book like this A Song of Ice and Fire series.
9. Realistically Shy characters: I'm really shy so I like stories in which there are characters in which I can actually relate which for me is a super rare thing therefore I'm extremely attached to the few I do relate to. Stories I like that has this type of character The Glass Menagerie and I am here.
10. Retelling of Alice in Wonderland: I really love the story of Alice in Wonderland therefore I love reading all the retellings of that story and I also love that quite a few of the retellings deal with mentally unstable people. My favorites of this kind of stories are The Looking Glass Wars and Pandora Hearts.

Saturday, April 27, 2013

Movie Review: The Host

                                                              The Host Review
The Host is about how a race of aliens called souls who have taken over earth by inhabiting human bodies but there is of course a human resistance. One of the last humans to survive is a girl named Melanie who fights back against a new soul named Wanderer who has been placed in her body. Through accessing Melanie's memories Wanderer starts to feel for Melanie and the people she loves Melanie's little brother Jamie and her boyfriend Jared, which leads to Melanie/Wanderer to looking for the safe haven that Melanie was going to go to before she was captured.

Once Wanderer/Melanie arrive to the safe haven the humans that living there are of course very distrustful of her but they don't kill her because Melanie's Uncle Jeb how runs the safe haven doesn't want her killed. In time Wanderer is somewhat accept by the human once it's clear that she doesn't mean them any harm and she reveals to several people such as Jamie and Jared that Melanie is still alive inside her head. Wanderer also develops a relationship with a man named Ian who falls in love with her despite the fact she's a soul.

I overall thought that this movie was pretty good. I really love the story characters and relationships but I felt that sometimes the lines seemed a little awkward but I found it to be an overall good movie. Please tell me your thoughts on this movie.

TV Review: Vampire Diaries: Pictures of You(4.19)

                                    Vampire Diaries: Pictures of You(4.19)Review
  • I felt really sad for Bonnie in the opening scene where she dreamed of visiting Jeremy's grave and mentions the last time they talked and how they didn't get to say goodbye to each other. I liked that in her dream Jeremy came to warn Bonnie that she needed to wake up and I like to think it was the real Jeremy and not Silas that entered her dream.
  • I like how Stefan said that he would be okay with just keeping his distance from Elena for as long as possible and that he still really wants to leave town and be free of the whole triangle situation as soon as Elena is somewhat back to normal.
  • I loved that Elijah after hearing both Rebekah's and Klaus's reasons for wanting the cure that he decided that Rebekah was the one that deserved it. I also kind of liked that Elijah wanted to give Rebekah a test to make sure that this is what she really wanted by having her not use any of her vampire abilities through out the day.
  • I liked how it was mentioned in this episode that Elena is staying with Rebekah because no one else can stand Elena at the moment.
  • I love that Caroline was trying to make the most out of her prom even though whole bunch of horrible things have happened recently and I like how she happy to just go with friends. I also love that Caroline isn't willing to forgive Elena trying to kill her.
  • I think it was very petty and mean of Elena to steal Caroline's prom dress and I hated that she implied that she wore the dress pretty than Caroline did but I love that Caroline is super pissed off at Elena for being a bitch to her. On a side note I loved all of the girls dresses.
  • I really enjoyed seeing how Stefan and Damon's actions towards Elena while picking her up for prom differ, I like how Stefan didn't really present himself as her date and though he offered her a corsage when she ignored it and he didn't bring it up again. On the other hand I hate how Damon forced a corsage on Elena after she told him that he wasn't allowed to put one on her.
  • I really loved how Elena called Damon creepy in this episode, that she didn't like it when he called himself her date or her boyfriend and that the only reason she said she loved him was because of the sire bond, I believe that all these things are true and I'm glad that Elena was finally to voice these things to Damon.
  • I liked how Bonnie and Matt tried to be kind to Elena but since Elena was dead set on being mean to anyone that cared about her well being that Bonnie kind of gave up on Elena.
  • I liked the dance that Bonnie and Silas Jeremy shared although I did feel bad for her once she realized that it was really Silas but I like that she refused to help him.
  • I felt really bad for Rebekah when Matt told her he thinks she would make a horrible human because Rebekah really values his opinion and it would be nice if just one person actually thought she deserved this chance or that she has even the potential to be good.
  • I really loved the dance scene between Stefan and Elena also I think there was a few places where it looks like Elena felt something towards Stefan.
  • I think it sad that no one has any fate in Rebekah and that she wouldn't just resort to threatening and compelling people to get what she wants.
  • I really enjoyed the dance scene between Stefan and Caroline where they talk about how hard it is to get over someone you love and fall for someone new.
  • I feel bad for Rebekah having to be in position where she has to use her vampire abilities in order to be a good person despite her promise not to use them but I think her saving April was the right thing to do.
  • I loved the dance scene between Caroline and Tyler, I loved that he came back for her on this night because this is a night that she values so much and he knows that. Also I just love these two being able to take a moment and just be happy with each other.
  • I liked how Silas as Stefan  while talking to Damon basically told him that Stefan had a really relationship with Elena and Damon had a one night stand that was the result of the sire bond. I also liked that once Damon discovered that he was Silas he asked where Stefan was.
  • I really hate how Elena tried to kill Bonnie twice within in this episode but I'm glad that Bonnie was more than able to take care of her.
  • I felt really bad for Rebekah with how Klaus treated her at the end of the episode and how he always seems to delight in her pain.
  • I'm curious about how Silas having the cure will change things and quite honestly I hope that Bonnie does lower the wall because there's a lot of characters I would love to see again.
Please tell me your thoughts on this episode.

Friday, April 26, 2013

Fangirl Friday 36

Fangirl five Friday is a weekly meme host Nancy Drew is my Homegirl and what it's meme that has you list the top five things you've been fangirling about this week.

1. Game of Thrones: This weeks episode of Game of Thrones was fantastic I really loved this episode. My favorite part of the episode was Daenerys's scenes, I loved how she made it seem like she was just going to trade her dragon for the slave army but as soon as she had the wipe in her hand she revealed not only did that she speaks valaryian therefore she knew exactly what the slave master thought of her but than she commanded her new army to kill every man that owned a slave or helped keep this system of slavery alive in some way and was able to keep her dragon as well. I loved that after she had killed all the slave masters that she decided to free her army but due to her earlier actions she was able to convince them to want to fight for her rather than to be her slaves which I think is much better. I completely loved Daenerys's scenes this week and it is probably one of my favorite moments of the entire series so far. I also continue to love how Margery is able to perfectly manipulate Joffery to due whatever she wishes him to do with him being completely unaware of the fact that she's playing him. I also really loved seeing how in this episode it is clear that Cersei is very fearful of the Tryells especially Margery because she can see her taking away everything she holds dear and I love that she knows that Tryells mean to take away the power that she has and she knows that they are mostly likely a threat to her family especially since Margery is the one who has the people's love and while Cersei can see all the things she cares about slipping away from her there's nothing she can really due to prevent that. I really loved the Margery and Sansa scene I really enjoy their relationship and I love the idea that Sansa could marry Loras and be able to be safe in the High garden but I have feeling that this plan is much too good Sansa to possibly be one that will work out in the future. I continue to love Ollena Tryell she a great character and I especially loved her scene with Varys. I think that Arya's storyline is one that has the potential to be very interesting and I'm looking forward to seeing more of her and the brotherhood without banners. I also loved the brief scene we got with Bran this episode I like that it seems like Jojen is helping him out a bit with his abilities and that he maybe close to remembering how he fell at the end of first episode of the series.
2. Doctor Who: I watched the two latest episodes of Doctor Who this week and I enjoyed both of them but I loved the second one more than the first. The first one was set on a sinking submarine and I mainly enjoyed Clara being massively adorably and the Doctor being well the Doctor. The second one was a ghost story which I loved. I loved how there was this girl that was an empathy and that it was explained that people like her often lived lonely lives due to their abilities and I loved the relationship she had with the former spy those two were really sweet together. I also loved how this episode showed that Clara is a bit more cautious and  scared of her adventures with the Doctor and I loved how she worried a bit about what the TARDIS thought of her. I also liked how the Doctor went to the empathy in order to figure out what was so special about Clara but she wasn't able to sense anything different about Clara than any ordinary girl.
3. Elementary: This weeks episode was great it dealt with a blackmailing plot as well as Sherlock reaching his one year mark of being clean. I really loved this episode the case was very interesting and took quite a few turns and I loved seeing more of Alfredo in this episode as well. I also loved the scene were Sherlock tells Joan that he actual relapsed the day after he entered rehab, I love this because he felt that he needed to tell Joan this before anyone else and because this means that even though he knew during the rest of his stay at the rehab center away to get out he didn't leave to get another fix.

Tuesday, April 23, 2013

Top 10 Books I thought I'd like more or less than I did

1. Anna and the French Kiss: I thought that I would love Anna and the French Kiss because everyone else loved it, I've never read a negative review on this book and it sound like a sweet romance novel. While I like the writing style of the book and it is a sweet romance overall I just couldn't force myself to love this book mostly because I didn't like St.Clair for two reasons. One St.Clair didn't feel like a real person half the time especially with how he was a French a American with a British accent which just doesn't seem like a realistic mix and it was obvious that he had this background in order to make girls swoon. The second reason I don't St.Clair is because he led his girlfriend Ellie on for months even though he knew for most of the novel that he'd rather be with Anna which is just plain cruel in my opinion.
2. Wings: I really wished I could love this book because I love the idea of fairies but I still haven't found a fairy series that I love yet. A big reason I couldn't love this book is because the characters just seemed a bit lifeless which is never a good thing.
3. The Hunger Games: I do like this book because it does of interesting plot and characters but I'm really sad that I didn't love this book as much as everyone else.

1. Catch-22: I really didn't think that I'd like this book at all since it's about war and I've hated every single war movie I've ever seen. I love this book because it's the funniest book I've ever read it has this sense of humor that is rather dark and it deals a lot with absurdities. I also have quite a bit of love for a lot of the characters as well.
2. Reading in the Dark: This is a book that I just started reading one day because I was bored and I honestly had no real expectations for it but in the end it turned out to be one of my favorite books of all time.
3. Fruits Basket: I remember when I first read what this series was about and I remember think that it sounded stupid but since it was one of the best selling mangas in the world I decided to give it a chance. In the end I discovered that Fruits Basket is my favorite series of all time and has brilliant character and relationship developments. So now I recommend everyone to read Fruits Basket even if they don't read manga because it would be a shame to miss this brilliant series.
4. Game of Thrones: I knew that I would like this book but I never thought that I would have been able to read it in only a month but some how I did which surprised me due to it's length.
5. Slaughter House Five: Another war book that surprised me, I don't like it as much as Catch-22 but I was still pleasantly surprised by this book.
6. The Giver: I always thought I wouldn't like this book because of the cover but after I had to read it for school I discovered I loved this book because I found the world and characters interesting.
7. Extras: Extras is the fourth and final book of the Uglies series and almost everyone says it's not as good as the first three, I would have to disagree with that statement since it is my favorite book of the series.

Thursday, April 18, 2013

Anime Review: Chihayafuru: Now the Flower Blooms(1.01)

                                Chihayafuru: Now the Flower Blooms(1.01) Review
This episode is about how a high school girl named Chihaya Ayase is trying to start a club in which people play a game called Karuta which is this type of game that involves memorizing poetry and matching up the poems. Unfortunately for Chihaya pretty much all of the high school students are uninterested in Karuta and think of it as a childish game that Chihaya should give up on now that she's in high school. Chihaya is excited when she finds out that her childhood friend Taichi who she used to play Karuta goes to the same high school as she does, the two of them catch up with each other and tease each other a bit, also it's implied that Taichi does a lot better in school than Chihaya does. During their time together Chihaya learns that Taichi doesn't have any interest in playing Karuta which causes Chihaya to think about her other childhood friend Wataya.

Then Chihaya starts thinking about her childhood in which she use to have short hair and boys teased her by saying that she looks like a boy and she was interested in helping her sister to achieve her dream of becoming a top model. It's also mentioned that Chihaya has a tendency to blurt out what she's thinking without putting much thought into her words. During this time period Chihaya first meets Wataya who is a new transfer student that the other kids tease because he has a strange accent and he's poor. Chihaya decides to befriend Wataya despite his unpopularity and he ends up showing her how wonderful competitive Karuta is and he tells her his dream is to become the best Karuta player in Japan.

I overall I really enjoyed this episode, the animation was great and I thought that there was quite a bit of character background given considering it's only the first episode. Please tell me your thoughts on this episode.

Wednesday, April 17, 2013

TV Review: Hannibal: Pilot(1.01)

                                                     Hannibal: Pilot(1.01)Review
  • I really love the character of Will Graham a criminal profiler who has a gift with how he's able to imagine himself in just about any person's point of view and he's able to empathize with them. I love that for all his brilliance he isn't unaffected by things such as death and that he has trouble socializing with others and it doesn't seem that he's completely secure in himself.
  • I love that Graham is emotionally effected by what he is able to imagine as far as the whole being able to see how and why most killers kill. I also like how upset he was by not being able to understand what kind of psychopath the killer was since it didn't quite fit any profile.
  • I really love the contrast between the characters of Graham and Hannibal Lecter because they both seem to have similar skill sets with how they can get into killers heads but they handle those abilities very differently while it frightens Graham it doesn't seem to even phase Lecter and it's also worth noting that Lecter seems more comfortable in social situations and more secure with himself than Graham seems to be.
  • I find it very disturbing that Lecter killed someone in a similar way to the killer in this week's episode in order to get Graham to see how the two killers styles differ and I found it pretty disturbing that Lecter eats human flesh but I wasn't really all that surprised by it. I also liked how Graham seemed to be much more upset by Lecter's kill the original killers victim because it was so wrong.
  • I found it odd that Lecter was willing to warn the killer that he has been caught and I wonder what exactly was his goal in giving this warning, I'm guessing it might have something to do with emotionally breaking Graham in some way.
  • I really enjoyed the contrast between Graham and Lecter with how they handled finding the injured members of the killers family with Graham wanting to save them and being very emotional and Lecter just being all calm and mostly staying in the background. I also liked seeing that Graham was very emotionally effected by the experience and it was no big deal for Lecter.
Please tell me your thoughts on the episode.

TV Review: Grimm: One Angry Fuchsbau(2.17)

                                       Grimm: One Angry Fuchsbau(2.17)Review
  • I found the lawyer who was able to influence everyone in the court room in order to agree with everything he said was pretty interesting and frightening.
  • I like that Juliette is starting to get her memories back but I feel bad for her since there coming back in a very confusing overwhelming way.
  • I really enjoyed how Nick, Monroe, Rosalee and Hank all worked together to research how to stop the lawyer from influencing the jury because I just really enjoy this group dynamic.
  • I was glad that the scheme to stop the lawyer's abilities to work ended up working but for quite awhile I was worried the guy was going to get away with it.
  • I'm glad that it's mentioned that Nick and Hank aren't really sure if they can trust Captain Renard or not and I like that it's implied that Renard is keeping even more secrets like his brother suggested and I'm excited to see what will happen when Renard's brother comes to Portland.

Friday, April 12, 2013

Fangirl Friday 35

Fangirl five Friday is a weekly meme host Nancy Drew is my Homegirl and what it's meme that has you list the top five things you've been fangirling about this week.

1. Game of Thrones: This week's Game of Thrones episode was great once again. I loved the scene between Sansa and Shae where they discuss what Littlefinger wants with Sansa and I loved how Shae said that if Littlefinger tries to touch Sansa that she would make sure that he stops. I loved the scenes between Sansa, Margery, and Olenna Tryell I love how bold Olenna is and I love that she was able to make Sansa tell her the truth about Joffrey even though Sansa is still clearly terrified of what could happen to her if anyone found out that she spoke ill of the king. I loved the scene between Margery and Joffrey where Margery plays him so well and I love how she has him so perfectly entranced in her and I love how in the scene with the cross bow she's practically threatening to kill him and he hasn't clue of what she's up to. I loved all of the stuff with Bran, I loved his dreams that seem to be telling him a bit of the future as well as the past and I loved how it was mention that he can get into animals heads. I loved the introduction of the Reeds, I love how Jojen has this aura of wisdom and calmness and I love how Meera is the one that uses the weapons and I love that she protects her brother and not the other way around, I thought the introduction of both characters was great and I can't wait see more of them and this storyline in general. I really love the relationship that seems to be developing between Bran and Jojen I love how Jojen has similar abilities to Bran's but has much more knowledge about them. I'm also very interested in Arya's storyline because it has just been revealed to some people that she is in fact Arya of house Stark which will lead to some interesting conflicts in episodes to come I'm sure.

2. Psych: This week's episode of Psych was fantastic it was very funny and had a lot of good character and relationship moments. I loved how in this episode was about getting ready for Lassiter's wedding which he decided to only plan two days ahead of time and there's also a guy who use to work for a mob boss that they capture several times through out the episode. I also really enjoyed Juliet and Chief Vick going to Marlow's bachelorette party and I loved that Buzz showed up as a stripper which as surprising and hilarious. I loved all the mishaps that occur throughout this episode and as far as tv weddings go this one was one of the most exciting ones. I kind of loved at the end of the episode that Juliet finally figured out that Shawn isn't actually psychic because this is one of the things I've been wanting someone to find out since the beginning of the show and I also liked how Shawn sort of tried to justify the lying because it's not something we see him do often. Anyways great episode can't wait until the next one.

3. Doctor Who: A new episode of Doctor Who aired this week and it was great. I really loved how we learned a bit about Clara's backstory with the story of how her parents met and her mother's death, I also like how these things become important to the story with the most important leaf in existence towards the end of the episode. I loved how when Clara saw that the little girl Mary was scared that she went to find her and that she helped her. I also loved how the Doctor made Mary realize that just because everyone says she was suppose to die to save everyone she doesn't have to sacrifice herself to a monster if she doesn't really want to.

TV Review: The Bates Motel:Trust Me(1.04)

                                                The Bates Motel:Trust Me(1.04)Review
  • I liked how Dylan saw that Norman snuck into Officer Shelby's house that he made sure that Norman wouldn't get caught in there.
  • I found it interesting that both Dylan and Norman tells Norma that they think that Officer Shelby is untrustworthy.
  • I felt really bad for Bradley this episode since her dad died but I really enjoyed her scenes with Norman in this week's episode I really enjoyed the bond they had.
  • From the scenes between Norma and Officer Shelby I'm thinking that Norma enjoys their time together a bit more than I originally that she did.
  • I find it odd that Norma doesn't find the fact that Norman hallucinates and goes into a trance often to be something that is of concern.
  • I continue to be frustrated that Norma won't just tell the cops the truth considering it's obvious that they know she killed Keith Summers and she had a fairly good reason to do it so I think she'd be better off just tell them the truth.
  • I liked that Norma broke down about what happened the night that she killed Keith Summers in this episode.
  • I loved the scene where Norman tells Dylan about how Norma killed Keith Summers and how he's been scared of them getting caught ever since that night. The relationship between Norman and Dylan is the one that I'm most interested in on the show so far I like how their not really close but Dylan still worries about Norman and Norman feels like Dylan is the only one he can confide in when it comes to their mom.
  • I loved how Dylan convinced Norman that he should go over to Bradley's because he deserves to have at least one night of being a normal seventeen year old.
  • I'm curious about what exactly where the police able to find that has given the confirmation they need in order to arrest Norma.
Please tell me your thoughts on this episode.

Monday, April 8, 2013

Top 10 Books I Read Before I was a Blogger

1. The Perks of Being a Wallflower: This is my favorite book of all time it's just written so beautifully because the main character Charlie who I love just has this beautiful way of thinking that is so different from anything else I've ever read. The story of this book of how Charlie an awkward freshmen gets through his year is both heartwarming and heartbreaking and I would recommend this book to anyone and everyone.
2. Impulse: This is the first book of Ellen Hopkins I've ever read and it's also my favorite, this book of course tells it story through poetry just like all her other books. This is the story of three teens recovering from their suicide attempts, I love all three of the characters and I love how we see all of their stories from their point of view and I think that all the characters have great depth so it was easy to care about them.
3. The Book Thief: This is a book that is heartbreaking and wonderfully written. The story makes you care about the characters even though the narrator death tells you very early on that almost all of them will be dead by the story.
4. Reading in the Dark: This is a book that I have read many times because it just grabbed me, it's about a young boy who grows up and learns more and more of his family's dark secrets which actually leads him to feeling more distant from his family as time goes on. I love this story of a messed up family and I just love seeing how being everyone's secret keeper begins to weigh on him and how knowing his mother's secret pretty much destroy any kind of positive relationship they could ever have.
5. The Glass Menagerie: This is another story of a screwed up family but it's in an entirely different way. The mother tends to be over dramatic and can be too pushy to her children, the son Tom wants to runaway from his family like his father did years ago and the daughter Laura can barely function at all when it comes to communicating to people do to extreme shyness. I love this play mostly because I've never related to a character more than I related to Laura Wingfield.
6. Percy Jackson and the Olympians series: This is my favorite book series of all time, it has great characters and I love the different relationships that developed between them. I also love that there's quite a bit of action in each book and that each book moves it's own plot and the overall plot of series along at the same time. I also love the great sense of humor that the series has.
7. The Looking Glass Wars: This is great series and a great way to retell the story of Alice in Wonderland. I love the characters and the world of Wonderland and I just love the series overall.
8. A Series of Unfortunate Events: I love that this book has a dark sense of humor, that it values a character being smart and that the author regularly tells you to stop reading the books because this is a sad story, I find this series different from anything else I've ever read and I think that's a good thing.
9. Uglies series: This was my first dystopian series and it's still one of my favorites it had a good plot and an interesting world. I also have always found the relationship between Tally and Shay to be fascinating.
10. Alice in Wonderland: I love this book because Alice is a great character with her odd thoughts and the world of wonderland is crazy in the best way possible. I also love the sense of humor the book has.

Sunday, April 7, 2013

TV Review: Grimm: Nameless(2.16)

                                                    Grimm: Nameless(2.16)Review
  • I really liked that even though the killer was a Wesson that wasn't the most interesting thing about him, I liked how the killer was much more like a real serial killer who left strange clues for the police such as title pages and Sudoku puzzles and then taunted them with the question of what is his name.
  • I liked how when Juliette returned to the house at the beginning of the episode that she asked if any spirits would like to talk to her, I just found that moment kind of funny in a way.
  • I liked how Wu was able to be a pretty big help in this episode because he has knowledge of the fantasy books the killer used and Sudoku puzzles and the whole solving puzzles like things.
  • I liked the scene when Monroe gave Rosalee one of his favorite clocks because it was really sweet.
  • I liked how Juliette went to Rosalee and Monroe in order to find help in uncovering her memories of Nick. I also liked that Rosalee was completely willing to help while Monroe had a bit of a problem due to his loyalty to Nick.
  • I thought that the killer being motivated to commit the murder because the programmers took credit for his work was interesting because it's a completely realistic motive and I found it interesting that he would rather die than loose the 'game'.
  • I'm hoping that Juliette is able to recover her memories in the upcoming memories and find out about all the Grimm and Wesson stuff instead of her leaving town.

Friday, April 5, 2013

Fangirl Friday 34

Fangirl five Friday is a weekly meme host Nancy Drew is my Homegirl and what it's meme that has you list the top five things you've been fangirling about this week.

1. Game of Thrones: Game of Thrones season 3 premiered this week and I really enjoyed the episode although it didn't feel like a lot happened in it which is okay because it was enough to just see my favorite characters again. I really loved everything involving Margaery, I loved seeing her offer kindness to the common children and how by her showing this kindness she was actually able to get some of the common people to like her which I thought was amazing since she used kindness in order to win the people over and it worked better than anything the Lannisters have done since Joffery became king. I also loved seeing Cersei barely concealed hate for Margaery in their scenes together and I loved how Margaery's kindness and smile never faltered, I just really love Margaery I have since her first scene but this week's episode increased my love for her by a lot. I really loved Sansa's scene where she was playing a game in which she would make up stories of where the ships were going and I loved that her answer to Shae's question about why would she make up story when she knows the truth was "The truth is always terrible or boring." I love this quote so much because it shows that even through all the things that Sansa has been through she still the girl we met in the first book in a lot of ways which I think is great because that means that her being held prisoner hasn't completely broken her spirit. I also enjoyed Sansa scene with Littlefinger when she tells him that she wants to leave king's landing and I love how she used what he said about her being a bad liar against him in this episode. I also really liked the exchange between Shae and Ros where they talked about how far they have come from where they started and how Shae said that she always looks out for Sansa, I just really love the relationship between Sansa and Shae in the show. I also loved all of the stuff with Danearys with how she actually has managed to get herself a ship and that she is now looking for an army for herself. I was also very interested in how Ser Barristan has come to join her Queen's guard and I'm interested to how she'll respond to his request.

2. Doctor Who: Doctor Who also returned this week and we finally met the version of Clara Oswald that will be traveling with the Doctor. I really loved this episode it had a really interesting concept with the whole wi-fi stealing people's souls and I really loved seeing how the Doctor and Clara interacted. I enjoyed seeing how the Doctor introduced her to the taradis and how he does things, I liked how Clara called the taradis a snog box and she was surprised that the doctor didn't really have a plan beyond finding the bad guys. I really enjoyed this episode and I'm looking forward to the next one.
3. Psych: There was an another new episode of Psych this week and it was an another great one. In this episode Shawn investigates the death of a circus performer and most of this takes place while he his helping Gus look after his girlfriend's son Max which causes problems for Gus because Max keeps seeing things that a kid shouldn't see. There also a bit of a brief break up of sorts between Shawn and Gus but things are back to normal by the end of the episode. Lassiter also as his girlfriend released from jail in this episode and because of her parole officer they have a few problems being together so Juliet tries to help them out. I overall loved this week's episode it was funny and had good character and relationship moments in it.

4. Degrassi: If you follow my blog you may have noticed that I haven't posted much this week and that would be because I have been watching Degrassi obsessively this week I watched most of season 11 and about half of season 12. Well I'm still really enjoying this show which should be fairly obvious considering how much of it I have watched this week. I enjoyed the whole plot with Holly J finding out that she was adopted and how she had to convince her bio-mom to donate one of her kidneys for her but I didn't like how the show somehow made Holly J look bad for wanting her bio-mom to help her out without paying her 20,000 dollars especially since it's illegal to buy organs. I just don't get why the show made it seem like it was wrong for Holly J to be mad at someone for holding an organ transplant that she needs or she'll die in the near future hostage but I'm glad that Holly J was able to get the organ when Fiona bought her bio-mom's old prom dress for 20,000 and I love that Fiona was so willing to buy it for her. I found the plot line were Anya was doing cocaine regularly to be pretty weird considering that it seemed more like the symptoms of binge drinking then cocaine and when her mom found out about it she seemed to take it far too well considering how dangerous cocaine can be. I really enjoyed Bianca stroyline in season 11 where she was doing things she didn't want to in order to protect Drew even though they weren't even dating at the time and I liked how in the second half of season 11 she was working on getting her life together and being a better person than she was before because of these storylines I really started to love Bianca has a character in way that I thought I never would and I also really enjoy her and Drew as a couple. I also ended up really liking Katie as a character after it started to be revealed that she not as in control or perfect and she pretends to by, I felt really bad for her in the election episode when Marisol treat her badly overall and told people about how Katie use to be bulimic and when Drew broke up with her and got with Bianca right afterwards, I also really love the relationship that developed between her and Jake. I also really love Jake as a character he's just seem like such a nice guy and he takes almost everything really calmly which isn't something that you really see on the show ever, I also like his whole plot about building a garden with Katie. I really loved watching the relationship between Fiona and Imogen from a nice friendship to a romantic relationship, I adore both characters and I love them together. I also have really enjoyed watching Clare and Eli get back together in season 12 and I love their relationship in season 12 even more than I did in season10. I love the character Cam he's such a great new character he's sweet, shy and awkward but he's also really sad and lonely all he wants to do is find happiness which he does with Maya and their relationship is really cute. I'm really loving the show and while I'm sure there's more I could say about it, I think I've said enough for now.
5. The Bates Motel: This week's episode of Bates Motel was a good one and it really dealt a lot more with Norman's character and the possibility of a mental disorder which I found fascinating because those types of things always intrigues me. I'm really loving this show so far and I can't wait to see what happens next.