Friday, December 30, 2011

Book Review: The Kane Chronicles: The Red Pyramid

                                        The Kane Chronicles: The Red Pyramid: Review
This book is by Rick Riordan who also wrote the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series which also love. The story is about a brother and sister named Carter and Sadie Kane after their father vanishes they learn that he released a group of gods from ancient Egypt and that they come from a long line of magicians. The book is about their journey to save both their father and the world from a god of chaos named Set. The Kane siblings also have to run from the other magicians because they have the gods inside of them.

I liked both of the main characters and I liked that the book was told from both of their point of view. I ended up liking Carter more as a character but I enjoyed Sadie's narration more probably due to the fact she's a bit snakier. I liked Carter because he was smart and seemed kind of shy and I liked how he became braver and more sure of himself as the book went on. I loved Sadie because she seemed so sure of herself especially from the outside but as the book goes on we learn she has a lot more venerable than she originally appeared and I liked that we got to peal back her layers. I also really liked the character Bast the cat goddess who's a major badass and a joy to read about there's also more to her then meets the eyes. I also like the character Zia and her relationship with carter.

I overall loved the book and I liked all of the mythology we were able to get in just one book. I also like that there were a few references to the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series. I really want to read the second book to see what happens next. Please tell me your thoughts about the book.

Tuesday, December 27, 2011

Top 10 Books I Read in 2011

1. The Last Olympian: The last book of the Percy Jackson and the Olympians is my second favorite in the series and this book is action packed but still takes the time to focus on all the characters. I thought it was a great end to a great series and I really liked all the backstory we got in this book.
2. Heist Society: I loved this book about a group of young con artist and I loved all the characters in this book and the way they interacted with each other.
3. The Lying Game: This book is a great mystery book that involves a set twins and the story is about one of them trying to figure out who murdered the other one, I loved this book but I disliked the TV show.
4. Cross My Heart Hope to Spy: The second book of the Gallagher girls is even better than the first book and I continue to love the four main girls and the spy training. I also loved that that there is a spy school for boys I especially loved Zach and his relationship with Cammie.
5. The Secret Circle series: I loved this whole series but I especially loved the characters Faye and Diana and that they were opposites and had this sort of power struggle. I also loved the relationship between Cassie and Nick and basically the whole plot of the series.
6. I am Here:It's a manga but I loved this series so much because I related to the main character a lot and I thought the story was good.
7. Identical: I loved this twisted story which was told in poetry and I loved how the whole family seemed like really developed characters.
8. Shiver: I loved this love story and I especially loved the character Sam who is very sweet and very damaged.
9. The Summoning: I loved this book because once it gets going there's a lot of twists that make you want to read as much as you can as fast you can of it.
10. The Red Pyramid: I loved this book and how it combinded the Eygptian gods and magicains with today's world and I liked both of the main characters.

I will also be doing end of the year lists for my favorite TV shows, Male and Female characters, and Episodes.

Saturday, December 17, 2011

TV Review:Once Upon a Time: The Price of Gold(1.04)

                                         Once Upon a Time: The Price of Gold(1.04) Review
  • In this episode in fairytale world Cinderella makes a deal with Rumplestiltskin after he kills her fairy god mother in order to escape her current life. After marrying Prince Thomas she learns his price was her first born.
  • I liked the relationship between Cinderella and Prince Thomas as well as their Storybrooke contortparts Ashley and Shawn.
  • I loved seeing Snow White and Prince James at Cinderella's wedding. I especailly loved Cinderella and Snow White Danceing together.
  • I liked seeing that it was because of the plan for Cinderella to keep her baby that led to Rumplestiltskin capture.
  • I also liked Cinderella's contortpart Ashley who is detrimined to raise her baby despite being young.
  • I continue to like the relatiopnship between Emma and Henry, I was glad when Emma decided to stay in town and take the job Graham offered her earlier in the episode.
  • I like Rumplestilskin/Mr.Gold as a villain.
  • I like that for once their was a happy ending in Storybrooke but I was sad about the sad ending of Cinderella's story in fairytale world.
  • I was very dissapointed that Graham is sleeping with Regina.
Please tell me your thoughts on the episode.

TV Review: Grimm: Let Your Hair Down(1.07)

                                                 Grimm: Let Your Hair Down(1.07)Review
  • In this episode a drug dealer is killed by a girl who is and blutbad who has been missing since she was seven years old.
  • I liked how much Monroe decotrated for christmas.
  • I thought that the idea of this episode was interesting with the girl being scared and confused when she first transformed because she was adopted.
  • I liked Hank and Wu also working on the case and I like how both the storylines ended up tying together in the end.
Please tell me your thoughts on the episode.

Tuesday, December 13, 2011

Top 5 Books I'd Give as Gifts

1. Fruits Basket:I would love to give this series as a gift because it's my favorite series of anything and I wish more people would read even though it's a manga series.
2. Perks of Being a Wallflower: Is my favorite book and I love the way that Charlie thinks and I wish more people were like him.
3.The Book Theif: Is an incredible book and I think most people would enjoy it.
4.The Percy Jackson and the Olypmians series: It's one of my favorite series and I think most people would end up enjoying the series and I wish I knew someone in real life that has read these books.
5.Reading in the Dark: I love this book and I would give it as a gift because I want to talk to someone about this book.

Sunday, December 11, 2011

Movie Review: Hugo

                                                                 Hugo Review
The movie Hugo is about a young boy in 1930s Paris that lives in a train station and fixes it's clocks while he works on fixing a robot that he believes might hold a message for his deceased father. Along the way he befriends Isabel a girl who lives with her god parents. Later on in the film they learn that Georges Melies Isabel's god father was one of the best filmakers before the war but after he lost everything because of change in peoples taste.

The film is wonderful and you end up feeling for all of the characters and being invested in all of the subplots. I loved Hugo(played by Asa Butterfield who I know from playing Mordred in the BBC Merlin series) he had a talent for fixing machines and he also had a tendency to try and fix people as well due to the loneliness he felt since his father died. I loved Isabel(played by Chloe Mortez) and her love of books and desire for adventure. I loved the friendship between these two characters as well. I loved Georges Melies(played by Ben Kingsley) the former filmaker who has lost his passion once his films were destroyed. I also greatly enjoyed the station Inspector(played by Sacha Baron Cohen) who is harsh on orphans probably due to being treated that way himself after his own parents died and his leg is in a brace which he seems terribly self conscious about, I also enjoyed his crush on the girl who sells flowers.

Overall felt that the film was brillant it was able to break my heart and warm my heart many times through out. I thought that the acting was great by everyone but I feel I have to give special mention to Asa Butterfield who was able to say everything with just a look and he made it seem like he was never acting at all. I also loved the directing by Martin Scorsese the film was also visually brillant. I loved the film and would love for you to tell me your thoughts on it.

TV Review:Once Upon a Time: Snow Falls(1.03)

                                               Once Upon a Time: Snow Falls(1.03)Review
  • I loved seeing how Snow White and Prince charming first met with her robbing from him and how he first finds her in order to get his jewels back.
  • I loved the relationship between Snow White and Prince Charming I liked that by the end of the episode they have both saved each others lives.
  • I liked that Prince Charming was actually a nickname Snow White gave him and I liked learning that his really name is James.
  • I enjoyed seeing the sword fights combinded with a little knife throwing and arrow shooting in this episode.
  • I liked that the John Doe who is Prince Charming woke up from his coma because Mary Margret read their story to him.
  • I'm both happy and sad that Mary Margret sort of started to believe in the fairytale stuff only to learn that the John Doe who's real name is David is already married.
  • I suspect that Regina may have paid the wife to pretend to be that and I agree with Emma that the story doesn't quite add up.
  • I loved that Henry continuies to try to convince everyone of the fairytales being real no matter how impropably it seems.
  • I liked seeinf David Anders in this episode because I loved him in Heroes and Vampire Diaries.
Please tell me your thoughts on the episode.

TV Review: Grimm: The Three Bad Wolves(1.06)

                                      Grimm:The Three Bad Wolves(1.06)Review
  • In this episode a pair of blutbad brothers house are blown up and they share a bit of history with Monroe.
  • I really enjoyed learning more about Monroe's past.
  • I kind of loved the character Hap because he was such a nice trusting guy and I was sad when he died.
  • I had a love hate relationship when it came to Angelina the sister of the blurbad brothers becuase I have a tendency to like the reckless wild violent girls but I disliked her because she caused just about everything bad that happened in this episode.
Please tell me your thoughts on the episode.

Saturday, December 10, 2011

TV Review: Grimm: Danse Macabre(1.05)

                                                Grimm:Danse Macabre(1.05)Review
  • In this episode a music teacher at a private school is muled to death by rats and a pair of rat llike creatures are suspected.
  • I was really freaked out by the music teachers corspe.
  • I really liked that in this episode the fairytale creature wasn't the one who committed the crime although he did attempt to get revenge but that was understandable.
  • I liked that this epsiode once again highlighted that Nick wouldn't harm one of the creatures as long as they did nothing wrong.
  • I liked the awkward talk Monroe had with Roddy.
  • I really liked the voilin music that played through out the episode.
  • I'm worried for Hank since Adalind asked him to dinner but it appears she hasn't done anything as of yet.
  • I like that it seems like Juliet is going to find out about the whole Grimm thing soon because of how scared the repair man is of Nick for no apparent reasons.
Please tell me your thoughts on the episode.

Tuesday, December 6, 2011

Top 5 Books from my Childhood

1. A Series of Unfortunate Events: I had the first nine books read to me when I was younger and I loved them then and I still do but I still haven't read books 10-13 but I want to. I liked them because they were kind of dark, had a tendency to use large words, the main characters were smart, the narrator would break the forth wall and tell you not to read these books, and I loved that in the second book there was a page with just the word ever on it over and over again.
2.Harry Potter series: I loved these books because they are magical and tell a good story, I feel like there isn't anything new I can say about these books.
3. My Side of the Mountain:My dad read this book to me when I was younger and I really liked it even though it was set in the book, I just found it interesting.
4. Fairy tales: When I was little I loved reading fairy tales mostly the ones about princesses and they were usually the Disney version.
5. If You Give a Pig a Pancake, If You Give a Mouse a Muffin, and If You Give a Mouse a Cookie: I remembered really like this books when I was little because I found them funny.

Monday, December 5, 2011

TV Review: Revenge:Suspicion(1.09)

  • I liked that Emily planeted Frank's phone in the Grayson's yard so that they would turn on each other.
  • I liked that Emily's mentor on revenge was Japanese and I was impressed by her being able to speak Japanese.
  • In this episode I felt that Victioria was a creepy bitch with her treatment of Lydia and I felt really bad for Lydia. I was glad that by the end of the episode Victoria basically lost everyone she cares about because of her behavior.
  • I disliked the real Emily for telling Jack she was Amanda and I'm a bit worried about Jack.
  • I liked that Nolan mainpulated Tyler into doing anything he wants and that he's in control of the situation but lets Tyler thinks he has the upper hand.
  • I'm a bit worried about Ashley turning on Emily with giving information about her to Victoria but I'm sure Emily can easily handle her.
Please tell me your thoughts on the episode.

Sunday, December 4, 2011

TV Review: Once Upon a Time: The Thing You Love Most(1.02)

                                    Once Upon a Time:The Thing You Love Most(1.02)Review
  • I really enjoyed watching the Evil Queen descending further and further into darkness and that she warned by many people including fellow evil people that she was crossing a line that no one should ever cross but none of this seemed to matter to her.
  • I'm really interested to see how the relationship between the Evil Queen/Regina and Rumplestiltskin/Mr.Gold is going to work since he has a bit of control over her and I'm unsure of which side he's on.
  • I really liked the relationship that is developing between Emma and Henry and I also liked the way that Emma came to terms with everyone being a fairytale character.
  • I liked the rivalry between Emma and Regina and I think that Regina is an incredibly cruel person.
  • I also liked the relationships Emma has with Mary Margaret and the Sheriff.
  • I really liked the apple tree being important to Regina and her giving the apples because of how it reminded me of Snow White.
Please tell me your thoughts on the episode.

TV Review: Ringer: The Poor Kids Do It Everday(1.06)

                                   Ringer: The Poor Kids Do It Everday(1.06)Review
In this episode Bridget discovers that Gemma and that Henry has cleaned up the crime scene thinking it was her doing. Also in this episode the dective almost finds Malcom but doesn't because he gave away the information on Bridget shortly before they found him. The best parts of this episode dealt with Juliet's first day at her public high school in this episode she proves to be great in a bitchy sort of way and she seems to be developing a sweet relationship with her cute teacher.

I'm very curious as to who killed Gemma and wheather or not she's really dead. I overall felt the epsiode was okay but I'm still wishing this show was a lot better then it is. Please tell me your thoughts episode in the comment section below.

TV Review: Revenge:Treachery(1.08)

  • In this episode deals with the aftermath of Frank's murder and Lydia waking up from her coma. I thought that Emily handle both situations brilliantly and I felt that Victoria did a good job at trying trigger Lydia's memory while still keeping her in the dark about what really happened.
  • I liked the odd les yay like friendship between Emily and real Emily but I'm not sure if Emily really cares for her or she's just using her.
  • I liked the relationship between Declan and Charlotte. I kind of love Charlotte's character in general and I felt bad for her in the scene were her dad told her he was moving out.
  • I kind of hate Tyler and Ashley but at the same time I felt a little bit bad for them in this episode.
  • I loved that Nolan figured out that real Emily killed Frank.
  • I liked that Daniel confronted Victoria about her cruel behavior and I just generally think that Daniel is a great guy.
  • I'm worried about what kind of trouble real Emily's going to cause since she decided not to go to Paris. I'm also unsure about how I feel about her relationship with Jack and her character in general .
Please tell me your thoughts on the episode.

Saturday, December 3, 2011

TV Review: Once Upon a Time: Pilot(1.01)

                                            Once Upon a Time:Pilot(1.01)Review
  • I really liked the story of how Storybrooke came to be with the Evil Queen putting a curse on the kingdom after Snow White and Prince Charming got their happy ending.
  • I loved the way the fairytale world/past looked and I liked trying to find out who each person was in the current Storybrooke.
  • I loved seeing a sword fight although I'm sad that Prince Charming died because of it.
  • I thought that Rumpelstiltskin was very creepy and I'm worried about what he's going to due with the knowledge of Emma's name.
  • I thought that Emma was a really good character and I like that she is the chosen one but doesn't know it.
  • I loved Henry for being the only one who knows that the fairytales and that he went to find Emma since he knew she was the only one that could end the curse. I also like that he's a little kid but he's knows more then everyone else.
  • Overall I really enjoyed this episode and I think it's a good start to a new series.
Please tell me your thoughts on the episode.

Thursday, December 1, 2011

Book Review: Heist Society:Uncommon Criminals

                                              Heist Society:Uncommon Criminals Review
Uncommon Criminals is the second book in the Heist Society series which is by Ally Carter who also wrote the Gallagher series. At the beginning of this book Kat had become a thief that only steals pieces that were already stolen then she returns them to their rightful owner. Kat is tasked with stealing the Cleopatra emerald but soon after she steals the emerald she learns that she was conned and now she has to find a way to steal it back.

I continue to love this series and I especially love the characters, Kat remains a great main character who's clever and ratable but I'm sad to say that I didn't feel she had as many moments to shine in this one as she did in the last one. Hale continues to be my favorite character although I'm having a little trouble pin pointing why that is, I loved Gabrielle as well I loved that she was around for pretty much the whole book. I also love Simon and I'm glad that we got to see more of him in this book and I love the Bagshaws as well for awhile I feared these two wouldn't make an appearance but to my relief they did. I like Nick as well but I was a little surprised to see him in this one and for some reason I don't expect to see him in the next one. I love how this whole group works together.

I thought that Maggie made a good villain and I liked that she had a past with Uncle Eddie because it allowed us to learn about his past in an organic way. I also liked that there was focus on Kat getting cocky at the beginning only to have her to find out that she was conned because it showed that no matter how good she is she still not perfect. I also liked that Kat and Hale's relationship progressed without them getting together and I like how everyone thinks of them as a couple already. Overall I loved this book and I can't wait for the next book but I have to because it's not out yet. Please tell me your thoughts on this book in the comment section.